The League of Ireland thread

[quote=ā€œnorth county corncrakeā€]had the misfortune of seeing cork play kerry a few times at the bigotdome quite recently & they were woeful

know 2 lads that dealt with him on a professional level & they said he was a dickwad[/quote]

He is an ignorant prick on the sideline too. Thinks heā€™s above everyone else.

[quote=ā€œnorth county corncrakeā€]had the misfortune of seeing cork play kerry a few times at the bigotdome quite recently & they were woeful

know 2 lads that dealt with him on a professional level & they said he was a dickwad[/quote]

Who said good managers have to be nice people?

He got Cork to 5 All Ireland finals in 6 years in the late 80ā€™s / early 90ā€™s and won 2 of them. Fairly shite manager alright. Cork footballers would be a crowd of mullockers at the best of times and he managed to get more out of them than anyone else was.

scum like sr fans are exactly the type who have made the likes of ryanair what it is, these yobs and their scummy parents and grandparents just like them were never outside the pale till low cost airlines became big players.
these folk think leaving Dublin means strictly going to the airport for the yearly sunburned belly piss up with their kids and their parents. 3generations of scanger grilling beside a Spanish pool.
its strange oleary would attempt to ostracise them, but the point he made was spot on regardless.

A marketing genius maybe. Would strongly agree with NCC. His recent decision making has been awful. The oil gamble and the initial investment of Aer Lingus has lost millions. If the current merge doesnt happen quickly I would think he could be in big trouble with the shareholders and no amount of bullshit will cover that. Ball is firmly in Aer Lingus court. They have already won the first Union battle with SIPTU with the fear of a Ryanair takeover sending the Reds ducking for cover. The next few months could get very painful for him.

[quote=ā€œnorth county corncrakeā€]

He got thrown out of teaching for a reasonā€¦

[quote=ā€œMacā€]Who said good managers have to be nice people?

He got Cork to 5 All Ireland finals in 6 years in the late 80ā€™s / early 90ā€™s and won 2 of them. Fairly shite manager alright. Cork footballers would be a crowd of mullockers at the best of times and he managed to get more out of them than anyone else was.[/quote]

Wouldnt necesserily agree with you Mac. I think he outstayed his welcome big time in Cork. Between the eighties and Couhnihan taking over he was in charge, or a close disciple (Larry Tompkins) was so his imprint is all over Cork football for 20 years.

he won two out of six, but they were tow years in a row with an outstanding team.

His devotion to Nemo knows no bounds but when you see Nemo fellas comiong off the bench for a run in the AI final (yes you Alan Cronin) who baely make the nemo team you knwo there is something wrong.

It is harsh of course to say he is a shit manager but on balance I am not a fan.

His personality is not relevant to his managerial capabilities obviosuly. If it was he wouldnt have made 6 AI thats for sure.

[quote=ā€œHBV*ā€]scum like sr fans are exactly the type who have made the likes of ryanair what it is, these yobs and their scummy parents and grandparents just like them were never outside the pale till low cost airlines became big players.
these folk think leaving Dublin means strictly going to the airport for the yearly sunburned belly piss up with their kids and their parents. 3generations of scanger grilling beside a Spanish pool.
its strange oleary would attempt to ostracise them, but the point he made was spot on regardless.[/quote]

Ryanair doesnt really do the package trips to fungarola that NCC and the lads enjoy. More city breaks for yuppies I would have thought!

did anyone see him on the late late a few weeks back? The man was sick looking. His cheeks were sunk, his jacket looked too big, a shadow of the man he was a year ago.

[quote=ā€œdancarterā€]Wouldnt necesserily agree with you Mac. I think he outstayed his welcome big time in Cork. Between the eighties and Couhnihan taking over he was in charge, or a close disciple (Larry Tompkins) was so his imprint is all over Cork football for 20 years.

he won two out of six, but they were tow years in a row with an outstanding team.

His devotion to Nemo knows no bounds but when you see Nemo fellas comiong off the bench for a run in the AI final (yes you Alan Cronin) who baely make the nemo team you knwo there is something wrong.

It is harsh of course to say he is a shit manager but on balance I am not a fan.

His personality is not relevant to his managerial capabilities obviosuly. If it was he wouldnt have made 6 AI thats for sure.[/quote]

Iā€™d agree that heā€™s a bit of a cunt dan and while Iā€™ve never met him or had any direct contact with him everyone seems to say it about him. I met his daughter/grand-daughter/niece before - she was in college with a mate of mine in UCD. She seemed sound enough and was a decent looking bird too.

I donā€™t know as much about Cork football as you but his record does stand up there. Theres some stat that he has direct involvement in at least half of their All Ireland wins. It was a mistake bringing him back in this decade as he was too old school but I still think he managed to get a lot out of a bunch of average players particularly in 1990. Whatever he did with Tony Nation meant that he had Bernard Flynn in his pocket which was the winning of the game.

Was he involved in recuiting Tomkins and Fahy in?

People from NCCā€™s neck of the woods go to Marbella or ā€œThe Portā€ as they like to call it.

More city breaks for yuppies I would have thought![/QUOTE]

You obviously havent been on a ryanair flight then.
its basically a bus in the air. they will ahve standing room on them eventually.
some of the rednecks on the forum are quite right about the swamplife that inhabit ryanairs flights but i wouldnt necessarily see Rovers fans as being the sole providers of bums on seats.
when Munster- aka ā€œcannot beat a 4th strength all blacks rabbleā€ fans travel abroad in the european cup do they not use ryanair. the hang sanwiches and the tae gets sold out awfull fasht i hear.
as for the bohs fan laughing at Rovers profile in the national media.
mehā€¦we won fuck all this year, youse won the double and yet your as famous as roy keanes cat. jog on .

[quote=ā€œMacā€]

I donā€™t know as much about Cork football as you but his record does stand up there. Theres some stat that he has direct involvement in at least half of their All Ireland wins. It was a mistake bringing him back in this decade as he was too old school but I still think he managed to get a lot out of a bunch of average players particularly in 1990. Whatever he did with Tony Nation meant that he had Bernard Flynn in his pocket which was the winning of the game.

Was he involved in recuiting Tomkins and Fahy in?[/quote]

Tomikins was in NY and played football with some Cork lads over, he had a falling out with Kildare and it was opportunistic to ask. I remember being down in Union Hall and asking locals down there why he came over and more to the point why he played for Castlehaven (whcih is in the middle of nowhere 1 1/2 hrs from the city) and they were very evasive about it!!

Think Fahy was based in Collins Barracks or something and it was an obvious thing for him to do.

Fahy played fro Nemo so id guess BM had somoething to do with it, As Tomkins went west id say Billy wasnt involved in that, but they are just guesses

Itā€™ll be a different generation of Rovers fans by then :slight_smile:

Sorry now Mac, but an average bunch of players??? Your talking through your hole. All Billy really did was to get players to believe that they were better than Kerry, and then in turn Meath. That was a brilliant Cork team, but we could have them all the time if the structures and attitude was different.

Iā€™m talking now from a football fan/coach/player point of view, not just hyperlobe, but Cork on any given year have some of the best footballers in the country. Even Kerry people with a knowledge of Cork GAA agree with that. Mentally Cork Football has for the most part been very weak, particulary in relation to Kerry. Billy was a great motivator and got Cork players (and the people) to believe that we were always at least as good as Kerry every year. People outside Munster or people who didnā€™t have a period of time in College in Cork wouldnā€™t see it, but there is mulitudes of talent in Cork, mullockers we certainly arenā€™t, a lack of mullockers may be the problem.

I suppose you think that Meath team were average as well??? You sound like one of these clowns who says its a bad year for football when Kerry donā€™t win it.

[quote=ā€œcaoimhaoinā€]Sorry now Mac, but an average bunch of players??? Your talking through your hole. All Billy really did was to get players to believe that they were better than Kerry, and then in turn Meath. That was a brilliant Cork team, but we could have them all the time if the structures and attitude was different.

Iā€™m talking now from a football fan/coach/player point of view, not just hyperlobe, but Cork on any given year have some of the best footballers in the country. Even Kerry people with a knowledge of Cork GAA agree with that. Mentally Cork Football has for the most part been very weak, particulary in relation to Kerry. Billy was a great motivator and got Cork players (and the people) to believe that we were always at least as good as Kerry every year. People outside Munster or people who didnā€™t have a period of time in College in Cork wouldnā€™t see it, but there is mulitudes of talent in Cork, mullockers we certainly arenā€™t, a lack of mullockers may be the problem.

I suppose you think that Meath team were average as well??? You sound like one of these clowns who says its a bad year for football when Kerry donā€™t win it.[/quote]

Harsh lad, very harsh. That was one of the best ever Meath teams which makes Corks achievement all the better. I just think a team that contains the likes of Nation, Slocum, Coffey, Barry, Teddy Mac and bringing the likes of Oā€™Driscoll and Hayes off the bench to win an All Ireland is a fair achievement. These lads may have been fit men but I wouldnt class them as footballers. Maybe thats what we disagree on.

Bring it forward to the last few years - Ger Spillane can barely kick a ball but wins an All Star. There would be similarities with some of the lads whoā€™ve played for Wexford over the years. Nicky Lambert gave Ciaran Whelan a lesson but heā€™d be a club standard footballer. Cork have had a succession of lads that I wouldnt class as footballers but the gameplan Billy played allowed them to overcome this.

2008 was one of the best years for football in a long time and Kerry didnt win it. The world doesnt revolve around the kingdom.

I am totally agreeing with you on the Kingdom. But to put Teddy Mac, Dave Barry and Mick Slocum in as average footballers shows either an ailing memory or you donā€™t know football, and to be fair going from earlier threads/posts you seem to have a clue, so iā€™ll put it down to memory and the fact i would have seen both alot. Your right about paddy Hayes and Nation though. Tony Nation is the ultimate token Nemo player from either of Billys reigns, even worse than Alan Cronin.

The whole point is that Billy did what very few people could have done, change the mindset of the Cork Footballers. He also had a very talented bunch, but so did Larry in 99 and it could be argued Cork have had numerous teams as talented if not more so than that 1990 team. Even this year iā€™ve gone to a few of the trials for the McGrath Cup team, the talent is probably above most other places in the country, and on a par with Tyrone, Kerry and Dublin, if not ahead. What remains to be seen though os can Counihan make them believe enough.
Thats any managers job in Cork. Billy is one of the few to do it.
I have personal experience on the field and on the sideline. He deliberately avoids shaking hands in defeat, but heā€™ll be first up if Nemo beat you. That says it all to me. I donā€™t know him professionally.

[quote=ā€œMacā€]Harsh lad, very harsh. That was one of the best ever Meath teams which makes Corks achievement all the better. I just think a team that contains the likes of Nation, Slocum, Coffey, Barry, Teddy Mac and bringing the likes of Oā€™Driscoll and Hayes off the bench to win an All Ireland is a fair achievement. These lads may have been fit men but I wouldnt class them as footballers. Maybe thats what we disagree on.

Nicky Lambert gave Ciaran Whelan a lesson but heā€™d be a club standard footballer.[/quote]

Dave Barry was a class footballerā€¦the way he and Dinny Allen could read eachothers moves was great to watchā€¦they linked up brilliantlyā€¦
Billy Morgan iā€™d imagine is a very intense character who lives and breathes nemo and Cork footballā€¦Iā€™d say he has his ideas and nobody tells him differentā€¦
always had great respect for the way he always told his backs to play football as opposed to pulling jerseysā€¦cost them dearly in the wide open spaces of Croke Park unfortunatelyā€¦
Nicky lambert was all fired up one day against the Dublin ā€˜bad boyā€™ and got the better of himā€¦so whatā€¦Maybe Whelan had a bad day against Lambertā€¦or even wasnā€™t interestedā€¦the point is Whelan was around before lambert and is around after lambertā€¦

[quote=ā€œcaoimhaoinā€]I am totally agreeing with you on the Kingdom. But to put Teddy Mac, Dave Barry and Mick Slocum in as average footballers shows either an ailing memory or you donā€™t know football, and to be fair going from earlier threads/posts you seem to have a clue, so iā€™ll put it down to memory and the fact i would have seen both alot. Your right about paddy Hayes and Nation though. Tony Nation is the ultimate token Nemo player from either of Billys reigns, even worse than Alan Cronin.

The whole point is that Billy did what very few people could have done, change the mindset of the Cork Footballers. He also had a very talented bunch, but so did Larry in 99 and it could be argued Cork have had numerous teams as talented if not more so than that 1990 team. Even this year iā€™ve gone to a few of the trials for the McGrath Cup team, the talent is probably above most other places in the country, and on a par with Tyrone, Kerry and Dublin, if not ahead. What remains to be seen though os can Counihan make them believe enough.
Thats any managers job in Cork. Billy is one of the few to do it.
I have personal experience on the field and on the sideline. He deliberately avoids shaking hands in defeat, but heā€™ll be first up if Nemo beat you. That says it all to me. I donā€™t know him professionally.[/quote]

At the root of it all we agree heā€™s a good manager and a cunt. This all started off by NCC saying he was a crap manager which I think is bollix.

A lot of what Iā€™m saying is based on the 1990 season as I was brought up watching it as my Da is a Corkman. Teddy struck me as a fine athlete but not a footballer. Thought he was a much better hurler. Dave Barry, again a good athlete and soccer player but I didnt think he was a good footballer. Cork seemed to have a game plan based on isolating the corner forwards and letting them run riot. Maybe Barry and Teddy suffered from this trying to draw Reilly and Oā€™Connell up the field to leave space behind them for McGrath and McCarthy.

just to keep youse all up to dateā€¦

An Open Letter to Michael Oā€™Leary
Press Release Issued : 18 Dec 2008
18/12/2008

Dear Michael

We sincerely hope you are more up to date on matters at Aer Lingus in particular and the airline industry in general than you are about Shamrock Rovers.

Youā€™ve probably been so busy working all these years that you hadnā€™t noticed the six championships, four FAI Cups and three doubles weā€™ve won since the 1980s.

Still Irelandā€™s most successful football club, the Hoops are no longer homeless as weā€™ll be playing in the spanking new Tallaght Stadium from next season. You canā€™t miss the place itā€™s across from the Square, right in the centre of Tallaght, and just off the M50.

And weā€™re offering great deals on seats. Season tickets for our home games for the entire 2009 campaign start at just 200. Return Ryanair flights to Manchester Unitedā€™s next home game would cost a lot more!

Anyway, thanks for the thought. You may not always be right, but weā€™ll always be Shamrock Rovers - Irelandā€™s greatest football club and now residents of Tallaght.

Yours sincerely

The Board of Shamrock Rovers FC

[quote=ā€œjosepi73ā€]just to keep youse all up to dateā€¦

Press Release Issued : 18 Dec 2008
18/12/2008

Dear Michael

We sincerely hope you are more up to date on matters at Aer Lingus in particular and the airline industry in general than you are about Shamrock Rovers.

Youā€™ve probably been so busy working all these years that you hadnā€™t noticed the six championships, four FAI Cups and three doubles weā€™ve won since the 1980s.

Still Irelandā€™s most successful football club, the Hoops are no longer homeless as weā€™ll be playing in the spanking new Tallaght Stadium from next season. You canā€™t miss the place ā€“ itā€™s across from the Square, right in the centre of Tallaght, and just off the M50.

And weā€™re offering great deals on seats. Season tickets for our home games for the entire 2009 campaign start at just ā‚¬200. Return Ryanair flights to Manchester Unitedā€™s next home game would cost a lot more!

Anyway, thanks for the thought. You may not always be right, but weā€™ll always be Shamrock Rovers - Irelandā€™s greatest football club and now residents of Tallaght.

Yours sincerely

The Board of Shamrock Rovers FC[/quote]

How many times have rovers won the league since 1987?