The north/really good looking fellas

A serious line-up here. I met Mellon a few times. He’d sour the air of a sweet factory. I also spent a few months working in Washington D.C. just after 9/11 with Stevie Stewart. Gentleman of the highest order.

Anyone hear mick clifford and his outrage on newstalk this morning? Equating Terence Mcswiney with Bobby Sands is an outrage apparently!!

He’s not really qualified to be giving opinions on that or most matters that he does. A failed attempt at emulating the gimp that is Paul Williams is the best compliment I can give him today.

I worked with StevieS
Plasterer originally

Which Mellon- Tommy,Pearse,Sean,Stevie?

Worked for paddy Bogside with Stevie
:blush:some line up there aswell
Shipquay st

Fair fucks to paddy
Employed all republicans
Especially those recently released,
He was a bit serious too though,
His son Kieran and nephew scalper Doherty were another few​:blush::blush:
Some craic
He kept me in work for a few years when there really wasn’t any
Bate up some company to employ a few of us
Foyle co op
( heritage centre)

Sean McCallion ( rip) - brickie-was another good man
Ex prisoner also
Know him?
He was with us in that gang working for paddy

Tommy.

That’s right. His shoulder was in ribbons by the time I met him. He loved a bit of lawn bowls.

:blush::blush::blush:knew it
Old Tommy was better ( co board man)
Another ex prisoner
Stevie was a friend
As was Sean
Pearse was a club mate

Sean and Stevie for me were the best
Stevie Mellon- only hurling referee in Ireland :ireland: with one eye

Stevie got a great send off
As his ex comrade said at his oration
“ he never took the soup”

steviemellonfuneral

Tommy carrying Stevie’s coffin.

Stevies son Thomas Ashe

The very man.

His dad was a pure gentleman,
His uncle Sean is the reason why hurling in the city survived and is now flourishing,
A family of teachers and plumbers😊

From memory and local folklore
Think Tommy senior tunnelled out of the city jail one time- great family over all
But yeah the younger Tommy is a dry balls.

Despite all this in our club Na Magha politics wasn’t allowed,
And certainly sectarianism was never present despite them cunts harassing us at each n every time we crossed craigavon bridge to play matches etc
( one one bridge in my day)

Serious outfit. Tommy II, if I remember right worked for the Inner City Trust on Shipquay St and got Stevie Stewart and a mate of his called Gryff whose surname I can’t remember but I’m fairly certain he was locked up for a considerate spell a handy number managing 23 of us who were fairly young at the time and from mixed backgrounds to help build and renovate projects for Habitat for Humanity in the greater washington area. Money pumped in by the brits and the yanks after the peace process. We were made up of a mix from Donegal and Derry. Mellon II even took a trip out to officiate the progress at one point. Mad stuff. I nearly got sent home for threatening to kneecap one of the participants and got a serious talking to from Stevie. God rest him if he’s in the ground. A great fella.

Peter Griffin
Now working in Foyeside sc
That’s where I worked also
Heritage library
Inner city trust etc
Moved on to shitty enterprise Ulster
Then back to paddy😊
North and west housing
Magazine st
Where Derry gave me painting skills
Did a stint in the schools a few years coaching hurling fulll time,
Aswell as bouncing in the 720- years
Village inn
And the embassy-years

So Derry was in general great for me ,
Got the bullet from the embassy after being caught doing security at a Bloody Sunday march for the iIRSP

But look alls fair in love and war​:blush::blush::blush::blush:

:blush::blush::blush::blush::blush:big Lawtence with ye?

( 18 years inside)
Lovely guy and made a great life for himself via Paddy Bogside who put him and others to education

Doesn’t ring a bell. Derry’s a great town, with great people. Long may it prosper.

Still shite 4 work

Some things never change.

It was Raymond Griffin. Just recently passed.

That’s Peter’s brother

And married to bogsides daughter
(Peters also known as Grif)