Jealous that David Matthews is a more renowned name and gets bigger roles than you in the S&C field.
Youâre the one claiming otherwise. I think you need only look at the number of players who had to go under the knife directly after the 2015 season along with Paul Galvinâs comments regards OâNeill.
Ffs. I couldnât give a fuck about profile. More power to him, he is making a living. Its more than S&C he does, but on that part its a dishonest living. He got lucky, JBM read an article in the echo and DM made 120k off Cork. He opened a shop on the back of it. He took his chance to set himself up.
Does not mean he is any good though.
The whole thing is the joke of the S&C field ffs.
Galvin is clueless, and the managers brother in law.
Can you not connect the dots???
Are you that emotionally-intelectually retarded?
Is the âS&C fieldâ you and your dog, Kev?
And what about the injuries?
Sure you think everyone is a spoofer.
Matthews has a new high profile job in athletics Ireland in Dublin . He is a consultant to four GAA teams. Coaches two current Irish international athletes. His Irish records are over 20 years old and Mark English has failed to beat them.
He is doing fine post Cork. Are Cork doing fine post him and JBM. I like Kieran Kingston and hope he does well but whatever is said about JBM there was one boss when he was there. I suspect KK always seeks a consensus and falls between stools.
Largely caused by Fitzmaurices âgo hard or go homeâ approach to early season training.
He never opened a shop that I know of.
When I hear that I wonder about all the other Chinese whispers you hear.
Rubbish about the 1 boss thing in JBM era. But i agree about KK.
DM getting a high profile job does not make him a good S&C Coach though. Being a consultant to teams is also an indicator of âŚwhat? I consult with numerous teams and managers. Loads of people do. It means f-all unless you are deliverying value though.
What whispers. The majority of my ridicule is based on what i actually saw. And the injury lists everywhere he goes.
He never opened a shop.
He must also have had something to be accepted as an outsider in Cork. And last 4 years.
Anyway I am not going over this again.
He wasnât accepted. Members of each management team left and in some fashion because of him JBM over valued his training (confirmation bias no doubt) and fell out with knowledgable people who suggested he was moved on. JBM is an extremely stubborn person, anyone in the Barrs would verify that.
Its written about all the time now how he left them in a sorry state. Its just accepted. I know to a large degree what strength training they did his entire time. Its laughable. One search of a program i got thru a player showed up as a mens health program. Now thats either ignorence or laziness. Wither way its wrong. I also know for an absolute fact they stopped strength training for vast periods of time.
Thought DM was only there for 3 years btw. And i was under the impression he owned or was involved with an athletics shop.
Whats hos role with Athletics Ireland?
The hurlers werenât in Cork when JBM was there or now. I said this at the time as well. I knew Tipp would hammer Cork in 2015 and none of ye would believe me
Well done
Was there from 2012. He is with Athletics high performance unit in the sports campus now. If you asked him he would tell you that you have to make compromises in a back room team - lots of things you want to do/ structure but outside a Dublin set up not possible. I pushed them to get a sports psychologist in but they wouldnât. I gave them some material before 2014 Munster final which they used but then didnât use more material for semi final.
KK was really into that side of things. Do they have a psychologist now.
You look for bang for buck. The 2013 team was designed to run opposition teams into the ground. Worked to a point but lads mentally found it hard so they switched it around the next year. He has been approached by a few other county teams - may well go back in a couple of years to a team when his kid is older - heâs still very close and loyal to JBM and a good few of the players.
I dipped in and out of it - it was great fun. By and large a great group of lads who were maybe a bit too nice - to themselves and to other people.
Not realising/being educated enough that running is fundamentally underpinned by strength is the obvious issue. Not to mention running teams into the ground is not just about endurance not is it about simply finishing well. Efficiency of movement is critical.
Of course you have to make compromises, thats a given.
And what about the 14 & 15 teams. What were they designed for?
There is a clear misunderstanding of skill develooment in Cork hurling (not his fault obviously) that runs very deep and is central to the woes.
No i do not believe they have a Psychologist.
Ah he would know that now. Any half baked athlete spends a lot of time in gym. You wonât see much bigger high Rep squats than a middle distance runner.
I donât.
I think the GAA & Soccer is full of them though.