The Official Cork GAA 2017 Thread

@Bandage you can get a train from Fota.

@Bandage - I have you sorted now — drive onto Cobh from Fota and get the short Ferry trip across to passage and avoiding the tunnel - and then make the short journey to Rochestown and onto the motorway where you will be driving carefree against the traffic to Mahon - Or you could continue to Douglas, park in Tesco for free and walk to PUC up the Well road (about 30-35) mins - Or drive on to Cork Con up the Well road from Douglas.

cc @gilgamboa @backinatracksuit

All you need is to get a chopper ride in there for a full house pal

Or drive down on Friday and go home Monday.

Pack of timewasters. Genuine replies only please.

cc @Beautiful_City, @downyourthroats.

Right @Bandage and with apologies to the sensibilities of @ChocolateMice who has decided that today is a amiable day on TFK. :slightly_smiling_face:

There can be nothing certain here as it’s the first weekend out, Saturday will tell a lot. This is what I would do if I was going down, I would like to have my pre match pint in Blackrock Village as it’s a nice spot and should suit a largish congregation for a match, nice pub there called the Pier Head Inn and another two a short hop up the hill, sunday market will be on to provide further options for coffees, burritos, gourmet sausage rolls etc.
If this is what you choose then you have a few options which have been outlined, all the streets around the village are very narrow so parking here will be a no no, up past Blackrock castle where mouse suggests should be OK but the roads are narrow so cars coming in the opposite direction could make a balls of getting out.
I would come off at Mahon Point and set the sat nav for Meadowgrove estate, it’s a couple of minutes normally from Mahon point, and a couple of minutes walk from the village, the road is fine and wide and residents park on the street so you won’t be out of place, it didn’t usually attract a lot of match cars in the past.
When you leave it will probably save time to avoid the massive bottleneck by the CSO on Skehard road, I would drive down the Ringmahon Road leaving Ringmahon Rangers on my right hand side and follow that road until you join the traffic heading for the tunnel, if this is what you plan to do I can give better instructions on Saturday or sunday.

Interesting idea about the ferry Mouse.

I gave you my view and it has remained unchanged regardless what direction you are coming from. Park in train station and walk down.

The lads plans about parking in blackrock are lovely and it would make for a smashing day if it worked out. I personally wouldn’t be chancing it as I think it will be utter carnage parking there, unless you are early, and leaving there regardless

Btw…fota is top notch. Book sage in Middleton for grub on Saturday evening or night if you could and get a taxi out.

Edit again. If 4 of ye travelling you could taxi into city and out again and avoid all the bolloxology of parking and traffic getting out

I’m serious there by the way - the ferry runs all day across to Passage and you can avoid the main road/tunnel and all that traffic.

All advice you got here is legit - depends on what time of day you are setting off — you could easily head early and do the Blackrock option and have breakfast/ Brunch at the little market there …

That place is hardly five stars is it? Sweet fuck.

Stop you bollocks.

Can you confirm

" gourmet sausage rolls " ?

Same applies

Indeed I can, I’m aware that the term sausage roll is confusing.
It is not the petrol station deli counter sausage roll favoured by inter county GAA stars in the offf season, 5 for a Euro.
There’s a stall there that sells jumbo O’Flynn sausages on crusty white rolls with fried onions and various other toppings (I recommend chilli), you can get the same at a few outlets in Cork city as well,
If that doesn’t float your boat you can get @ChocolateMice favourite vegetarian breakfast burrito from Brendan, also excellent.
You can eat them and drink your pint from a plastic glass while sitting in the lovely new
Promenade by Cork boat club before you stroll up the Marina, Blackrock and that area by the village specifically is a historical hurling hotspot, there’s a row of 7 or 8houses on Rope walk around the corner that were home to about 30 all Ireland medals

Let me guess…it wouldn’t be a patch on the places you frequent out foreign?

Just taking a flyer here

I ain’t living by the sound of it .

Was in Sage a few weeks ago. Great setting and nuce food, just a bit light for a growing boy like me.

Starters and main course i would advise.

And make sure someone else is driving.

The place screams “a few pints and laughs”

It would never be warm enough for him either, and they might balk at sending up raw chicken feet for room service.

Just saw a Wexford GAA tweet saying that people with GAA issued disability passes can park closer to ground. Might be worth checking details out for your father.

That’s a hot dog of sort or a sausage in a bread roll. I had one recently one the Milk Market in Limerick and it was grand .

The Beer garden is nice … Think it’s 30 notes for three courses before 6 - perfect for Sunday dinner.