The Official TFK Father's Issues Thread. I don't know how they do it

Well done @TreatyStones

Not my fault your kid is a landlubber, kp. Maybe you should stop giving her the bulletproof coffees for breakfast!

[QUOTE=ā€œChocolateMice, post: 998973, member: 168ā€]Aboy the kid!!

Hamper of olives on the wayā€¦[/QUOTE]

Will you know where to find him?

it took us a few months to settle down, but by the time id say he was 10 weeks we were grand, you gotta make an effort to keep things as normal with compromises, we started going out to a restaurant / bar say on a weeknight around 8ish and weā€™d take him with us in the stroller, if he got hungry weā€™d give him his bottle, weā€™d have a bite to eat and a drink or two, i find you will really begin to enjoy each otherā€™s company as wellā€¦ and you look forward to it, similarly with going out for breakfast at the weekends, that kind of thing
say for the gym there, all 3 of us would go, id sit with him in the cafe area activating my glutes or reading the paper whilst taking compliments from the hot single , desperate bitches who are gym addicts, sheā€™d work out and then when done id go in, women love seeing an attractive young man with a baby, they go crazy for it, itll help pass the hour anyway, bottom line, even in your sleep deprived state, stay caffeine free, cleanse the sinuses daily and be proud of yourself and herself at how amazingly you react to the change in yere livesā€¦ go with it

[QUOTE=ā€œmickee321, post: 999172, member: 367ā€]it took us a few months to settle down, but by the time id say he was 10 weeks we were grand, you gotta make an effort to keep things as normal with compromises, we started going out to a restaurant / bar say on a weeknight around 8ish and weā€™d take him with us in the stroller, if he got hungry weā€™d give him his bottle, weā€™d have a bite to eat and a drink or two, i find you will really begin to enjoy each otherā€™s company as wellā€¦ and you look forward to it, similarly with going out for breakfast at the weekends, that kind of thing
say for the gym there, all 3 of us would go, id sit with him in the cafe area activating my glutes or reading the paper whilst taking compliments from the hot single , desperate bitches who are gym addicts, sheā€™d work out and then when done id go in, women love seeing an attractive young man with a baby, they go crazy for it, itll help pass the hour anyway, bottom line, even in your sleep deprived state, stay caffeine free, cleanse the sinuses daily and be proud of yourself and herself at how amazingly you react to the change in yere livesā€¦ go with it[/QUOTE]

Thatā€™s a belter from a top Dad.

You cannot underestimate the 3 mins it takes to rince the nasal passages each morning. Getting that green toxic waste away from the brain wall is a key to a clear head for top performing executives.

Congrats @TreatyStones hope all is well.

[QUOTE=ā€œmickee321, post: 999172, member: 367ā€]it took us a few months to settle down, but by the time id say he was 10 weeks we were grand, you gotta make an effort to keep things as normal with compromises, we started going out to a restaurant / bar say on a weeknight around 8ish and weā€™d take him with us in the stroller, if he got hungry weā€™d give him his bottle, weā€™d have a bite to eat and a drink or two, i find you will really begin to enjoy each otherā€™s company as wellā€¦ and you look forward to it, similarly with going out for breakfast at the weekends, that kind of thing
say for the gym there, all 3 of us would go, id sit with him in the cafe area activating my glutes or reading the paper whilst taking compliments from the hot single , desperate bitches who are gym addicts, sheā€™d work out and then when done id go in, women love seeing an attractive young man with a baby, they go crazy for it, itll help pass the hour anyway, bottom line, even in your sleep deprived state, stay caffeine free, cleanse the sinuses daily and be proud of yourself and herself at how amazingly you react to the change in yere livesā€¦ go with it[/QUOTE]

and can i say one more thing, our fella is healthy thank god, when they are sick you switch off and you do all you can, i am amazed by my wifeā€™s devotion to him, when he is sick she wont sleep , its pure instinct.
I know there are a few lads here who have kids who are sick, it is quite possibly the worst thing i can imagine, the respect i have for these lads and they way they deal with is is sonmething else, they should be an inspiration to us allā€¦ they know who they are.

as an aisde, ive said it before but i have no idea how lads play sport at a high level with young kids, id love to ask eoghan o gara how he has a job, plays senior football and i think has 2 young girlsā€¦

iā€™m still playing junior c mickee, but admittedly I may have to drop another level or 2 due to the pressure of parenting

yeah, im trying help out training an u-13 team and im playing 4th divsion soccer here as well, the training is really on sat morning only 9am-11am and is grand, we train sun, tues, wed and game on friday afternoon, its becoming very very difficult nowā€¦

belter of a post

you need to cut out the stamina shit, concentrate on sharpness (shuttle runs), some strength work and the skills. explain that you learned to run @ 8 years of age and donā€™t need anymore training for that, get a nice central position for yourself and concentrate more on encouraging (fucking them out of it) the young pups around you

There arenā€™t many Limerick men willing to live in Tippā€¦Iā€™ll track him down.

Fun and Games Serve Meaningful Purpose
by Simon Barnes
The Times of London July 28, 2014

So, whatā€™s sport all about then? What is it for? Why do we do it? What does it mean? Iā€™ve been trying out various answers of the 32 years Iā€™ve been writing for this newspaper, and I think itā€™s only right to leave you with just one more. So letā€™s take two games of father-son cricket.

I always think of Mike Atherton when I play cricket in the garden. His son Josh is, not unexpectedly, a promising cricketer. Athers has talked about the parental questions he must answer: the need to walk the line between indifference and pushiness, always supporting, never forcing.

I have never seen them at their net sessions down at the local cricket club, but I have imagined the scene many times: the action purposeful, direct, skilled, graceful. Glorious to watch because dealing with the moving ball really is the most natural act for them both. Doing something well, aware that you are doing it well and in Joshā€™s case reveling in the joys and frustrations of getting better. Fun, for sure, but not without its serious side. Itā€™s a beautiful thought.

Eddie, my younger son, is a couple of years older than Josh, and he, too, has a taste for cricket. He has Downā€™s Syndrome, as some readers may know. Our games of cricket are not purposeful or graceful. Eddie bowls. He hasnā€™t tried batting: perhaps he suspects the co-ordination required to hit a moving ball is beyond him.

Iā€™m not sure heā€™s got the idea that heā€™s suppose to try and hit the three tall blue plastic stumps, although I explain the idea to him several times a session. The concept doesnā€™t really interest him. He just likes to hurl the ball in my general direction and observe the consequences. He bowls right-handed underarm moon balls, a bit like the Conan Doyle story of Spedegueā€™s Dropper.

And I deal with them as best I can. I was never the most naturally gifted batsmen in me Tewin Irregulars days, so I am not teaching him great cricket by example. Sometimes ā€“ quite often ā€“ he bowls the ball direct to the mid-wicket boundary, which is the house, sometimes out to cover and the garden fence, I try and retrieve these with one-handed tennis strokes. Sometimes heā€™ll field energetically at other times heā€™ll watch the ball settle into a flowerbed and contemplate it for a while.

Our games are faintly surreal. The competitive element has been almost entirely phased out. So has the skill element. Just about everything that you normally find in sport has been refined out of existence, and yet we continue to play and to gain great pleasure from it. And here comes another skier, hurrying down from its apex; itā€™s actually straight this time, so I play a theatrical miss and let it hit the stumps. Well bowled, sir! Well bowled indeed! And now perhaps itā€™s time for your bath.

Cricket, but not as the world knows it. Whatā€™s the point? You might as well ask the point of Eddie. The point is that weā€™re playing, the point is that weā€™re doing it together, and trying, in our way, to do it well.

Sport joins people up. Itā€™s about contact: between people the same age, between generations, between genders. You need other people for sport, you need other people for life. Sport is one of the ways we can fulfill our human, our animal need for others; to do things together, to share things. Itā€™s deeper than mere words but not as committed as an embrace. Sport begins like this: in the need to have some kind of meaningful but largely non-verbal exchange with another.

Sport moves on from this to be many other things, sometimes complex and disturbing, sometimes beautiful, sublime, inspiring, humbling, and joyous. Sport is many things and sometimes feels like all things. But sport starts with sharing. The sporting impulse begins in our dread of isolation, in our soul-deep need for contact.

Iā€™m going to get Eddie to try batting. Iā€™m sure I could bowl hittable balls to him. Must try it. Pushy parent, eh?

Congratulations @Ebeneezer Goode[/USER] and [USER=1786]@TreatyStones

Iā€™m tired.

no worries mate, after the 1st week it gets much easier, you wont be tired for long

whatever you do keep her at the breast feeding, when bottles arrive its akin to unleashing the hounds of hades into your lifeā€¦keep them out of the house

I know youā€™re trying to keep his spirits up but he needs to know the truth

By November 1st youā€™ll be back getting 6 hours sleep a nightā€¦

Whatever you do donā€™t give her the habit of sleeping in the bed with ye.

soz fran, sometimes sugarcoating things is the way the go, treatystones doesnt want to know the reality that he needs to take the tiredest he has ever been & multiply it by 100 & have that for the next 6 months of his life