The Official TFK Father's Issues Thread. I don't know how they do it

Anseo

Yet

Had those two injections done in school. We got them done, no parents around then back to class. Different times I suppose

Back to class and a few pucks into the sore spot from the bullies.

Your mother was bullying you. They were laughing their holes off at the good of it in the other room

so have I, it was fucking savage what they did to Children in Ireland in the 70ā€™s and 80ā€™s

we had a teacher in primary school who would adminsistrate ā€œa good shakingā€
youā€™d act the clown and sheā€™d get you up the front and shake the fuck our of you , it would put the fear of god in a child, but did everyone no harm
christian brothers were some men for educating, theyā€™ d beat the shit out of fellas no problem if they had good reason to, one day in history in second year i saw a fella pinned to a wall by br. benildus, heā€™d of ended yer man, thru him out the fucking door , no problem- got on with the class

there used to be war in school, we;d a lad whose da killed himself, girls were vicous at bullying timid young fellas back in the day,
anyway two them down the back laughing at yer man who was getting roared at because he didnt know what an ox bow lake was or somethingā€¦
next thing you hear ā€œSirrr- Tommy O"Sullivanā€™s (sic) ma is an alcho because his dad threw himself into the tideā€ā€¦ whole class in raptures, teacher threw yer one literally out the door and accross the hall,
madness

A query for TFK fathers.

A pal has a 21-month old child who was born 8 weeks premature and the young chap still doesnā€™t talk or react to his own name being called and basically seems in a permanent trance watching Baby TV. The latter seems to be a legacy of his mother returning to work early and him being looked after by an elderly grandmother who minds him and his older brother and probably puts them in front of the TV all day for as quiet a life as possible.

Heā€™s now taken to sitting on his arse on the ground and spinning himself around or standing up straight and then leaning back as far as he can in a ā€œnā€ shape until he falls over.

A cursory google throws up all sorts of shit with autism being worse case scenario. They mentioned it to a nurse on some standard development hospital
appointment and she said it was too early to draw any conclusions and to wait 6 months.

Whatā€™s the diagnosis here? Would you guys be looking to make an appointment privately with some specialist or is this youngster just a bit of a late developer?

Possibly a stupid question but has his hearing been tested

Yes, immediately.

There should have been Public Health Nurse appointments to assess a lot of that. Is that who advised them to wait?

Is the child crawling or doing any movement?

Premature children should be really closely monitored in terms of development. Especially around things like hearing. They are generally a lot slower to develop as they grow but the lack of reaction to sound would be worrying.

Iā€™d be concerned definitely, youā€™ve outlined a few traits associated with ASD there, but heā€™s still very young
Private assessment yes.

Not entirely sure but it was told to me as one of the standard nurse appointments so probably public health nurse alright.

I wouldnā€™t be putting too much faith in a ā€œwait and seeā€ piece of advice from one nurse myself.

I was confided in as a neutral for an unemotive / non-father / logical view. I said thereā€™s surely some private specialist they could see if theyā€™re that concerned.

Iā€™d rather follow up to be sure and hear thereā€™s nothing wrong preferably or, if not, at least know what theyā€™re dealing with and start to put in place whatever needs to be done. Better that than sit on it for another 6 months imo opinion.

I left it at that but then realised I had a very valuable resource here I could utilise.

I wouldnt take much notice of this bit personally.

Generally if the parents are solid citizens and they are concerned it is probably justified.

Child that age that should at least be acknowledging their own name

Most Public Health Nurses are generally very good, the lady who visited us initially spotted that our little one was tongue tied and that was a big help as feeding was torture.
I think she visited once more thereafter so Iā€™d be surprised if a Public Health Nurse was still calling.

This couple must be having appointments in the Hospital regularly due to this child being Premature??

Boys tend to be lazy about chatting or walking but at 21 months the hearing is a serious worry.

Get them to drop the details to Alf Nicholson who operates in Temple Street & Blackrock if they want a private paediatrician. Consultation is about 120 or 150 quid which is standard for private consultants but heā€™s probably one of the best in Ireland and he can either guide them on the right path or reassure them that all is ok.

I have a kids development book in front of me here and it says a child that age should have 12 to 15 words and understand a multiple of that many. Boys def a bit lazier alright. As are 2nd kids