The Official TFK Ireland 1912-1923 Thread

Yeah but if you actually look into it there’s no comprehensive history of the time and all the day to day incidents on the ground. It’s all about the big political issues and the big figures or else specific books about people or places. I hope I’m wrong though and I’ll definitely read it!

no hadnt read that. I have a few books from the time that I read over the years and picked up some more recently with re releases or a bit of publicity over the centenary of events. As @arthur says, specific incidents like the ones in that Wexford website dont get much airing, moreso the overall situation of the country.

Parle and Keegan from Wexford were among 5 dead in a similar explosion in Edentubber overlooking the Armagh border in November '57

Its because to give any meaningful detail on the incidents it would need to be done on a county by county basis. There’s just too much material otherwise. There would potentially be a great book in publishing a selection of the witness statements with some context around them.

The Atlas of Irish Revolution is probably the most comprehensive of whats out there on the period. It does have a section recording all the various attacks & incidents.

Did you ever hear of the weeping statue in Templemore? That was one of the more bizzare stories I came across.

Good point ref too much countrywide to have it all published, but surely local historical societies etc should have all their local stuff indexed etc and online for future generations, main problem is a lot of this stuff is lost at it’s not available to all

There’s some great ones on the northern Ireland troubles though which has far more to it

You’ll be relying on local historians putting the material together and getting a publisher, Cork has reams written about it partly because you have a few supportive publishing houses in the city and the university press as well.

I used to love going through the old newspapers on microfilm as @Thomas_Brady and @Joe_Player would attest to, a lovely peaceful activity until Joe turned up and wrecked the place :grinning:

Wexford would have a decent bit published about the 1798 uprising, but I wouldnt have seen much about the 1912-23 period. In saying that, I’ve never actively sought out to find as much as I can either. But I would have been on the look out for material around that period and didnt notice anything locally based. I’ll make a point of it next time I’m out in a bookshop in Wexford to source it and see. I know its a bit forgotten the involvement of Wexford in 1916 and 1920-23, but there is a big history there too and a lot of involvement during those times. 1798 seems to have taken the majority of the attention for Wexford with regards to rebellion issues.

Understandable as 1798 was immense, European history and Wexford played such a pivotal role

The history show about Kevin Barry now

Just saw this tnx

Might get a podcast of it after

My smallie is called after him,and BS , F Hughes, so their names live in in my circle anyway

Thanks for the heads up , my own Kevin Barry just took control of the tv the :imp:
FIFA( a curse with only one tv in the gaff)
If I fit him one fir his room I’d never see the whure bar studying time and grub

Thats an “oooft”.

This is true, I also watched that TV show. Then the Brits and Rovers fans started rioting in a chipper, it was pathetic. And the Brits couldn’t believe it when the gardai turned up on Dorset St and started batonning the shite out all the scummy Rovers fans.

Crazy situation Tank we’re loi fans ) son and I)and no place for that’ behaviour be they cork city rovers or whomever,we were at a pats match 2/3 years back and morons from cork city ( ultras they call themselves ffs) hit a girl and a couple , follow up to that was an elderly man with us getting chips got attacked and but for some st Pats fans stepping in he was goosed, sane happened in Derry when yobbos from Derry started to attack innocent city fans, grown men ( republican) stopped the gurriers , we don’t need this rubbish, I don’t bevy but alwaygo to thhe pub when to away matches to have a banter with the opposition fans never any grief, think they’re watching too much you tube trying to emulate english hooligans

Fair dues to the gardai

Interesting program on the civil war in Limerick on TG4

A very interesting piece on the aftermath