This is it, so what’s his rush? Sorry he was filing a column. Anybody working on their day off like that is either Rupert Murdoch or doing nothing all week.
Dan probably considers himself some sort of The Athletic style in the know hack
Don’t think he writes match reports on foreign club games really. His articles are almost solely concentrating on the LOI and Republic of Ireland activities. Hence he spent months speculating Lee Carsley’s intentions when the LOI was on a break in the winter of 2023/24. @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy opinion on him would be decisive here but I sense it would be quite negative. Dan is the epitome of a fella who backed Spock but had the knives out for HH.
Yeah he really made a holy show of himself during the whole impasse between Spock and The Dentist, trying to force the narrative by just making things up as he went along.
Ah, A jock sniffer
Tbh any desk jockey worth his/her salt is pretending to be under serious pressure to get stuff completed ahead of deadlines but in reality is working around 2-3 months in advance. Key is not to save any of this completed work on the shared drive where others can see it - just on your local drive until you’re ready to produce it. I’d say Dan was formulating some thoughts on the Ireland-Israel situation.
I think he is meant to be spikey
My little lass loves Dancing with the Stars and all that stuff.
I’d an encounter recently with one of the judges, Brian. A thoroughly alright sort who did a shout out video for herself ![]()
I never heard of New Wapping Street until 10 minutes ago when I was looking at the route for @Mac Street race,now there it is again.
Live spot. John Bowman St Andrew St. Lovely tan wool topcoat.
Live spot. Mary Lou McDonald, Salamanca Restaurant, St Andrew St Dublin 2. Mary Lou was indulging in tapas with two other people. She was looking well.
Legend.
He’s 83. I would have thought he was older,
He’s looking well on it.
Fento and his Doris and his dog looking very unassuming while ordering their breakfast at the counter of Volumes, the new hipster bagel spot on George’s Quay this morning. They both ordered coffees and Fento ordered the candied bacon with jalapeños bagel which was a saucy €13. They sat at a window on Tara St station side to see the junkies scutter down the lane towards Townsend St and Pearse St for their daily fix.
Fento was wearing black oversized hooded zippy top and black tracksuit bottoms with white runners. His Doris had a bandana on and shades on her head. The boat race definitely looks better on insta. They received their coffees but, as I left, no food had arrived and Fento looked a bit agitated at having to turn around several times to see where his food was. He wouldn’t get that in Gourmet Food Parlour.
For my sins I went for the BEC (Bacon, Egg, Cheese in a ‘roll’) takeaway. It was cooked fresh (hence the 10-15 min wait). There were four ‘chefs’ in the back looking extremely busy. That was a cheeky €10 and while nice I don’t think it’s a place you’d be going back to several times a month. Again another concept of a US influenced fast food / grab n go made complicated here and charged an arm and a leg for. In saying that there was a massive queue of next gen dorises as I left while the usual foodie/dublin reviewers on social media will get round to visiting it for a paid review.
you are the best fed man on TFK no doubt
can you start a thread where you rate spots, grant bibs, stars?
pin the best ofs at the top
Very worrying developments re Fento. I’d mentally noted recently that I hadn’t seen him in my locality for quite a while. An early morning sighting in town raises no immediate alarm but the mention of his canine companion causes some concern. This suggests that Fento, fiancée & dog might have made the move into a home in the city. You wouldn’t be in town with your dog on a random Friday morning unless you live nearby surely. Although maybe Fento is taking part in a “bring your pet to work” day or something.
Maybe Fento got pissed off with having a stalker…
They never mean it when they say that.
Spotted Bernard “Berno” Brogan in TU Dublin’s Broombridge Astro pitch this morning for Go Games U8 hurling. It was a mesh of Raheny, St Oliver Plunketts & Castleknock & I think Berno had kids playing. Someone on TFK might have mentioned his youngsters were involved with Castleknock at one stage but I sensed he was with Plunketts (might be wrong). Berno was wearing trainers, navy (cotton) tracksuit bottoms & a grey hoodie, & he’s embracing the grey hair too. He seemed in good form & was chatting convivially (is this a word?) to all & sundry.
Berno is a Plunketts alumni through went to Brigids to film his Supervalu ad