The Overrated Thread

Attending music ā€œfestivalsā€.

ā€œI slept in wet socks and a wet hoodie for the third night in a row. I have developed rheumatoid arthritis and a painful eye infection after not washing my hands for three days and trying to wipe the sleep out of my eyes. I have a banging migraine and I think there’s shit on my legs. But that’s all part of it, you can’t beat the FESTIVAL VIBE. Not going to Slane though, couldn’t stick that.ā€

I never went to a music festival and will never go to a music festival.

Music festivals, and there is only one music festival - Glastonbury - are meant to be enjoyed on the telly.

Each to their own.

Music festivals, and there is only one music festival - Glastonbury - are meant to be enjoyed on the telly.

Festivals are grand in your 20s.

I think live gigs for the most part are overrated… most of them are a disappointment.

Exceptions are gigs that focus on musicianship- like classical, traditional or electronic music.

Why do RTE not show EP live like the BBC do with the English festivals.Its not like it affects ticket sale,theyre sold out every year.

I caught the first fifteen minutes of that fontaines outfit … on the television. My god but they’re utter shite

Certainly on TG4 yesterday evening. Children and U-21’s ploughing about in muck as far as I could see. The Sawdoctors saved it a lad told me….

David Clifford loves them…

Pretty sure they have shown it some years.

Not for a while. I think TG4 were showing bits this year.

He must be a bit thick

I was at EP and could just about handle the first 10 minutes of them, absolute rubbish.

There should be a thread to list lads on tfk who fall for their atonal howling. Fuckers need to be watched

Yer man @TheUlteriorMotive was a self proclaimed big fan but I don’t think that chap really ā€œgotā€ music.

Im sorry to hear that. Seemed a right fella

I guess RTƉ can play the ā€œwe’re absolutely fucking brokeā€ card & point, if they were arsed, to outside broadcasting & production & miscellaneous costs for covering a 3-day festival.

I vaguely recall at least one year where they televised it…must have been around 10 years ago anyway. Think yer man that was in a spot of bother (but was subsequently exonerated) Eoghan McDermott & Lottie Ryan/Doireann Garrihy types were presenting from backstage.

But it was fairly shit because it was mainly these irksome sorts having zany banter with assorted folk interspersed with the odd song from an act that had played hours earlier, & absolutely no live sets.

I think there’s a clatter of people who listen to music who think they have to like certain groups … fontaines are one of those groups that this cohort convince themselves on.

Nobody even knew EP existed 10 years ago.