Yeah I’m really looking after my diet, no alcohol in 3 months, cut out bread, dairy etc and feel good, I suppose it’ll all take time. Cheers for the advice
You’re 3/4s of the way there mate with that diet, fairplay.[quote=“anon70480284, post:7494, topic:2481, full:true”]
Yeah I’m really looking after my diet, no alcohol in 3 months, cut out bread, dairy etc and feel good, I suppose it’ll all take time. Cheers for the advice
The leading s&c coach in Ireland does an interview with the42.ie
All good i.e. gga players dont train hard etc.then he gives out about the Oirish diet. Then it says he is a brand ambassador for red bull
Ooft
Who is this?
Link?
Www.the42.ie
Mcgurn or something
Link not website
On phone so not sure how to link. Its about 15 articles down under firness
‘We have athletes but they can’t play, we’ve produced robots’
That’s gas. A load of pontificating about diet and nutrition and criticising Irish people for being obese before the paragraph beginning with “As brand ambassador for Red Bull…”
Jesus that is outstanding stuff. What a gom.
Just leave this here …
Outside of the obvious contradiction with health i see both bits of good and bad.
Disagree
- absolutes 》 40 min rules and anything longer being flawed? Nonsense. Yes a Gah player mid season can do 15-25 min sessions. But context is needed. I could get an awful lot of athletic attributes built in 1 hr 20 in gym in winter. Its all about your end goal. Marathon runners can do very long muscular endurance sessions for instance.
- absolutes on sleep. The science suggests many people work superbly on 5/6 hours sleep. Some need 10. People who live to 100 only slept 5 hours a night. Healthy living is far more nuanxed than the training. They need sleep
- i believe socializing and being around family and friends is more critical than most things for balance. Thats why i like GAA/Soccer/Rugby amatuers in particular to do as much gym work on the same day as field training as possible. Essentially a biopsychosicial model.
- I also think he is way off on S&C becoming too central. Thats a dated view. It was no doubt. But Tipp, KK, Mayo and Dublin have all used it to enhance their abilities and their skills. So thats clearly wrong.
- his nutritional outlook is dated and unsustainable for the masses. Cheat days for the masses leads to binging 1-3 days later. Any clinical dietician would tell you this. He is obviously a very stoic man and can do it. But what works for him may not work for others. He doesn’t really offer any solutiins either.
- some processed foods are completely ok.
- not eating after 5 is total nonsense for most people. Tell that to someone with kids.
- 6 min workouts
Agree
- GAA players doing alot of unecessary training at club kevel and in some counties. No doubt. Alot of strength work could be done on the field or after training.
- not sure about the context or what he means but i also agree with his views on having “outcomes” and also involving the spirt closely to athletic training. You are one organism. Learning is not linear.
This is a very annoying trait but seems to be dying and many people are now in facebook groups where in their own community they are putting up workouts and discussing is totally fine.
I honestly do not see it as much.
And we all have psychological issues. Every one of us.
99% of GAA players are club players, yet 99% of the articles about s&c and the gaa focus on the internet county lads.
Kev makes a great point above about trying to incorporate the gym work with the field sessions where possible. It makes a hell of a difference to a player with other things going on in their lives to only be out 3 nights a week as opposed to 4.
I was laughed out of it 10 years when i suggested having free nights and doing strength work within sessions for time with girlfriends/mates/non gah mates etc would have long term benefits.
One guy in particular sticks out as he ended up missing most a season “to prepare for a wedding”.
Fucking gobshites.
went out for a cycle at 7.30 this morning followed by a swim. fresh and ripe for a day in the pub!