Has your mate apologised to the Greens yet
He’s always in traffic on the way to work now mate, can’t remember when I last spoke to him. He was pinning all his hope on the Cluas.
There’s a set of red brick houses on your way down to PUC that have cracks all the way down them . They’ll do well to stand up to any type of construction work
Irish Rail to scrap new €50m IT system for trains

Some spoofer on the radio today kind of sighed sadly and mused that the €50m represented .5% of annual expenditure (not even 1%) so all in all it wasn’t that significant… This fucker had an authoritarian air to him but I couldn’t but grimace at the many deserving causes this latest white elephant could have funded.
We’re really like docile oul’ labradors, walk us a couple times a day and leave us sleep.
‘Write-off’ is the term used on the RTE website.
Sure a write-off is grand.
No harm done like…
Is it a Private contractor ripping off the state again ?
first of Eamos plans coming to fruition it seems
Garda crackdown on bus lane rules among plans to tackle Dublin’s congestion crisis – The Irish Times
How is Eamon getting on these day anyway?
They need to crack down on yellow boxes which drivers in Dublin city centre seem to completely ignore.
I don’t understand why traffic cameras at junctions aren’t the answer. Would surely provide a decent revenue stream in fines.
& on buses
he is the EU housing Czar now mate & is doing very well
The strong minority of Irish need strong enforcement unfortunately. It’s odd to me that nobody pushed harder for it, people loved the Covid restrictions.
The Guards gave up on enforcing bus lanes 15 years ago I think. In fairness 80% still follow the rules but there’s always a few who don’t.
There was something on Prime Time a few weeks ago about parking in new build estates. They’ve restricted the amount of new spaces but nobody bothers to enforce the rules so people just steal other spaces and you then have the spillover to neighbouring estates where they are sticking cones outside of houses to stop people parking. They need to simply make it a requirement that if you purchase or rent anywhere that you register your vehicles and prove you have somewhere to park the car. They do this in Japan. There’s just too many people with the attitude that things will work out for them.
Maybe if govt deployed Gardai effectively in enforcing laws and not wasting resources like the detectives driving ministers and state ministers, laws might be actually enforced.
Buses having cameras seem a no brainer
They used to enforce it but don’t anymore. They seem to prefer lazy speed traps.
You didnt address my point Tim. Typical deflection from a govt BOT.
Green Party madness comes home to roost.
This was a FF policy to reduce the cost of appartments and houses mate.
Here’s the timeline for Ireland:
March 2023 — Housing Minister Darragh O’Brien brought proposals to Cabinet to reduce car parking spaces in urban areas with high access to public transport, as part of reforms to the existing Sustainable Residential Development Guidelines. TheJournal.ie
August 2023 — Draft guidelines were published for public consultation. They recommended that parking in major cities near good public transport be limited to one space per household, or eliminated entirely where possible. In other urban areas, a maximum of 1.5 spaces per dwelling was proposed, and in rural locations, a maximum of two spaces per home. The Irish Times
January 2024 — The finalised guidelines were issued to local authorities. In city centre locations and urban neighbourhoods, car parking was to be “minimised, substantially reduced or wholly eliminated.” The guidelines also made it a specific planning policy requirement that all new housing schemes include safe and secure cycle storage. [TheJournal.ie]
However, it has proven controversial. Residents in some new developments say public transport has not kept pace with the reduced parking, with services described as overcrowded and too infrequent. TheJournal.ie