The Rugby Thread (Part 1)

For someone living in Brazil, Ewan spends an awful lot of time following rugby.

And he doesnt seem to really like it either. Not sure he watched any of the european quarter finals which is odd. He was banging out rugby related articles to beat the band not so long ago.

Leinster rusty 1st half but defended very well, never thought Sarries would score try. Came out n just put it to bed early 2nd half, very impressive. Ryan unbelievable player for 21 yr old 2nd row. Their options ffs Nacewa a superstar. Carberrys flat passing when he came on. SoB one of best Lions last Summer not missed. Leinster schools rugby must be extraordinary standard. Henshaw might be back too. Won’t be beaten 18, maybe start of dynasty

Turned into a very comfortable win for Leinster. Some of the first half refereeing decisions were very odd. Leinster were winning the collisions from the start though and at times were brutal in contact - Saracens couldn’t live with it and looked a bit rattled by it, I wouldn’t say they’re used to being sat down on their holes. This Leinster team will be very very hard to stop.

See ye in Bilbao lads?

Couldnt argue with that. Sexton still of vital importance to them is only caveat. Ross byrne who is 3rd choice 10 would start for Munster tbh such is their depth.

Wouldn’t mind a crack off em in Bilbao if they had no sexton. With him zero chance

@gilgamboa I think both semi-finals are very winnable for the Irish teams. I was looking at the potential upcoming fixture list last night. It could be something like

H-Cup Semi-final weekend
Gap week
Pro14 quarter-final Munster v Edinburgh (Thomond)
H-Cup final Leinster v Munster (Bilbao)
Pro14 semi-final Leinster v Munster (RDS)
Pro14 final ??? (Aviva)

A month of eye-watering games if it works out

With our injury list I wouldnt be confident we will be able for a charge on two fronts. If Leinster dont do the double it will be a failure of a season tbh.

Would you be any bit wary of the Scarlets. Id prefer being away to Racing than play scarlets in Aviva tbh. Munster struggle to handle them

Everyone ignores physical preparation advantages Ireland have created when this cones up.

English teams flog their teams and French teams are largely predictable and are always changing their teams so they find it hard to find balance and flow alot.

Saracens are the wrong club to ve going on about really. Well run, good culture and put huge effort into local area and developing local players even if they go elsewhere

Agreed. Still have a huge budget though. Iv no beef with Saracens at all tbh. Would like to see McCall in the mix for ireland post Schmidt

You’re some man for getting the underdog story out early and making Leinster to be unbeatable :joy::joy:- You know well you’d fancy a crack off Leinster in Spain or Dublin and wouldn’t fear Racing away!

Yeah - Scarlets are very dangerous. Tadgh Beirut was unbelievable the other night so def wouldn’t take them lightly, would far prefer to be in the easier semi!

In fairness Iv been calling leinster pretty unbeatable since this time last year. I doubt they will fill their bags as easily this season tbh was shameful last year.

Id love a crack off them in a final of course. Not without O Donnell, Cloete, taute, farrell, williams, earls, possibly zebo, Bleyendaal etc etc though. Would be similar to leinster ulster final.

Leinster made 14 points favrouites for the scarlets game. That’s nuts. Scarlets a bit like Leinster in 09. A lot of unknowns but very young and very skillful. They’ll take the world of beating. They hammered Leinster in the Rds last year and Munster in the aviva. As for racing there only ok. There focus will be on the top 14 too. I was delighted they won and not clermont. It’ll be like a home game in Bordeaux for Munster. Should hopefully have 1 or 2 back maybe as well.

Williams, earls and Zebo will be back.

Calling them unbeatable is a grand strategy - Leinster win and you shrug and say it was never in doubt, Leinster lose and you get to cackle away about filling togs etc. I see through your craftiness, you’ve been rumbled !

:zipper_mouth_face:

Tbf Leinster have two teams of internationals to pick from.

I know enough Leinster fans to know this false modesty gambit of yours is no more than a ruse

You could argue only earls, Murray, stander and Pom would make the Leinster team.