The Rugby Thread (Part 1)

You mightnt understand it… But just to be clear in an article when they use quotation marks it means its a direct quote

“People call me ‘United Nations’. I was born in Cardiff. I’m in Ireland. I also went to Plymouth’s University of St Mark & St John for my degree.”

Dodgy has triggered Dan here.

Oooooft that’s a clamping

Lads shouldn’t go reading Wikipedia for info.

Dan has a few drinks on

Standard rubby fare really, lads don’t know what nationality they are.

Rookie error in fairness

Not to mention the rules also.

Fantastic to see Irish man Brian Byrne honour the memory of fellow hooker John Pullin with a try last night for Pullins beloved Bristol

Famously Pullin said “we might be no good but at least we came” when he captained England in Dublin in the early 70s when our fellow Celts Wales and Scotland refused to travel

RIP John Pullin

Had Ireland 3 home matches out of 4 that year?

They refused to travel in 72 and England came in 73

I’ve been involved or invested in rugby all my life and of late, I’d share same opinion as you. I’d barely sit through a full match. It’s fucking cat

Even the announcent of the ire team,.I can’t recall ever being as passive of it. Same old.dogs even under new management. Give youth it’s chance,.build towards world cup, create real competition for starting jerseys. Nah. so it’s all a bit meh

But then I tuned into the French national team today and I’m given a reminder of the joys to be found in the sport. Ball along the line instead of one man out hit ups, play a pass while on contact, low probabilities be damned. Unlike most if not all NH teams, the ability and willingness to catch, run and pass with width doesn’t desert them entirely when in possession inside their own half.

France only a few years back were struggling as foreign players in clubs were stunting the conveyor belt of young native talent. They too were just meh
Today tho, and I know it was only against Italy, they had their swagger back.

They’ve the typical Gaul trait of their 9 being the boss, the general dictating the terms. This kid will get a POTY if can maintain consistency of this standard of performance. He’s simply magic and got it all in spades They’ve two outhalves of real quality who, when ball comes unexpectedly, the first instinct is heads up to decide best option, not fear of unplanned possession and belt boot into ball. Their centres look the real.deal. hard line strike runners, looking to find or create gaps, bosh ball way down the list of preferred weapon of attack. Their outside backs were a joy to watch, primed athletes given licence to back themselves and have a go if they think that its on.

I think Galthie is exactly the guy needed at the helm. Gone are the headbangers and pseudo-philophers of the game given the keys to the engine. He’s moulded in the regional French style of encourage creativty and marry it to teak tough combative defending when you don’t have the ball. he was a right hardy and competitive bsstard and looks like he’s shaping this team in his own mould. Finally they’ve someone with intent to balance grit and competitiveness with creativty and attacking flair.

The game is worlds better when the French team are tuned in.

I’m sozzled after a hape of weird beers and so that waffle can be attributed to fermentation. Likely its also made me a target for the resident anti rugby recedivists but fuck it, have at it. Rugby’s a fucking great game when teams commit to playing it right

Allez Les blues

His younger brother just might be tho. Kept Healy out if national teams first XV on the way up

What’s this?

Those Munster teams didn’t have a choice. With the level of skill engrained in Irish rugby now, it would be a backward step putting brimstone as first choice.

Also, when that Munster team made up the majority of the national pack and employed that doggedness approach, it served to have our arses handed to us by the SH standard bearers.

They should have given Lancaster anything he asked for. He’s the real guy behind the wheel at Leinster and improved further an already first class team

Great post.
Not the Lancaster one, the one above.
The ingerlish rubby team have been shite for decades. Time lads realised this and battered them.

Bridges well and truly carbonised with the IRFU. His name doesn’t even get mentioned when the provincial roles come up

I’m not saying it’s the total answer but I do personally think it’s missing a little bit.