The Smashing Tunes Thread (Part 1)

[quote=ā€œFagan ODowd, post: 777144, member: 706ā€]Del Shannon Runaway

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ziLagAgoPCE
This song always puts me in mind of the homeless girl under Ed Cases bed on ch.com

Bronski Beat - Smalltown Boy

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xuz94ZIPfJk

[quote=ā€œfarmerinthecity, post: 777166, member: 24ā€]Bronski Beat - Smalltown Boy

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xuz94ZIPfJk

I hope this has been posted beforeā€¦ Iā€™d be disgusted if it hasnā€™t.

But what a tune!

[quote=ā€œSidney, post: 776758, member: 183ā€]Work It Out - Jurassic 5 and the Dave Matthews Band:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kUw9Ej5VLnM
Good track, great video.

I was in Ennis last saturday having a quiet coffee and I thought of old Ed and the girl.

Last centurys government trial broadband scheme in Ennis had a lot to answer for.

[quote=ā€œChocolateMice, post: 777167, member: 168ā€]I hope this has been posted beforeā€¦ Iā€™d be disgusted if it hasnā€™t.

But what a tune![/quote]
In those days doubts about your sexuality were matters of life and death. The only openly gay man in Waterford in the 1970s never left home without his Alsatian.

[quote=ā€œChocolateMice, post: 777167, member: 168ā€]I hope this has been posted beforeā€¦ Iā€™d be disgusted if it hasnā€™t.

But what a tune![/quote]

The video is superb as well.

JJ72 - Snow

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_QNYj61wMRI

The best thing Ash ever did in my view and also in Tim Wheelerā€™s as well.

Goldfinger

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=35hDrzcHnIA

JJ72. FFS.

A classic song and a classic story in the one post.

Ed Case and the Runaway. 10 years ago this month.

posted 01 May 2003 01:56 PM
For about 2 years my days have mostly consisted of sitting around doing nothing. Most days of the week Iā€™m wondering if thereā€™s a reason to get up, sometimes I try to trick myself into believing there is. On rare occasions Iā€™ve been known to lay in bed, drifting in and out of sub and semi-conciousness. Eventually, come 3 or 4 oā€™clock the pains in my back and neck become too great to bear and Iā€™m forced to get up. So I go down stairs, I might have a brief confrontation with whatever family member has the misfortune to cross my path. I go in to watch the televion, breakfast (or dinner) is too much hassle. I may be incredibly lazy but Iā€™m not fat, because Iā€™m too lazy to cook. I donā€™t eat with the family, we try to avoid eachother as much as possible and living in a big house helps, but they always make sure theres enough left.
The highlight of my week is Thursday, when I get my dole. I get up early to go in town. You might see me in falling asleep in front of fire in the local, or maybe Iā€™m waiting outside for the some other pub to open, donā€™t want to give too much away. In any case come 6 oā€™clock Iā€™ve just finished up in Paddy Powers, hopefully I havenā€™t lost too much of my hard earned cash, perhaps Iā€™ve even come out the better, but thatā€™s rarely the case. Then itā€™s back in for a few more scoops to wash down whatever ****e Iā€™ve just eaten, usually a enzoā€™s, and to converse with slurred speech about some totally irrelevent crap with some poor old ******* who also has the misfortune of still being alive. Half the time Iā€™ve nothing to say, and Iā€™m not even listening to them. I donā€™t mean to be rude but I canā€™t help my thoughts from drifting. My attention returns just in time to be able to give the appropriate response, usually a nod in agreement or fake laugh, sometimes even a grunt. I rarely get it wrong, and when I do, I really donā€™t care.

When itā€™s time to go home or Iā€™m fairly well cut. I live at least 20 minutes walk from the town or 30 minutes drunk walk ( or 30 minute wank as I call it, and Iā€™ve had a few). So that means half an hour of giving out to myself under my breath for being the worthless failure that I am, and when thereā€™s no-one around I give myself a few quick hard clatters to get the point accross. I arrive in the door hoping nobody is awake. Sometimes my mother is still up and when she sees me the way I am a tear is drawn to her eye. It is a very solemn moment with a hint sadness felt by both of us. I say goodnight as I walk up the stairs, searching my pockets as I go, hopefully Iā€™ll have enough for a pint the next day at least.

Obviously, I donā€™t have a girlfriend. The last proper relationship I had was with a homeless girl, I put her up in my bedroom and we got on grand. She was a runaway and when her parents found her I was lucky not to be locked away for underage sex, she told me she was 17 and that her parents were dead. I was 18 at the time she was 15. She explained to them how I had looked after her and they didnā€™t take any legal action. Sometimes I wonder if a spell in prison would have sorted me out, probably not. Iā€™d like to see her again though, but not like this.
The only female contact Iā€™ve had recently has been the kind you pay for, and in my case you go hungry and thirsty (drinkwise) for too. I usually satisfy my carnal desires by hand.

So now the routine to my existance is quite basic and monotinous. Sometimes I wonder if I should end it all, but I know I never will. Iā€™m only 25 and feel there may be light at the end of the tunnel. I sometimes jokingly think to myself that I should crawl into a grave and have some **** give us a few flakes of a shovel across the head to knock me out so I can then be buried alive. Sorry if I sound a touch morbid, but that is why I am writing this. I hope maybe someone can give me a few words of advice or if thatā€™s too much to ask maybe a small donation would be more convienient for yeā€¦

Nirvana - All apologies

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aWmkuH1k7uA

Donā€™t know if this has been posted here before but it is fucking class.

The Kinks - Waterloo Sunset

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5J3gX47rHGg

[quote=ā€œfarmerinthecity, post: 777540, member: 24ā€]Donā€™t know if this has been posted here before but it is fucking class.

It is farmer. It is class. And it is probably one of my favourite 5 songs. Thanks for posting it up.

I saw Limerickā€™s finest new band Moscow Metro in the Workmanā€™s Club on the quays on Friday night. I think they are really really excellent. They seem incapable of writing anything that isnā€™t an absolute anthem of a tune.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L9OplGQFesw

[quote=ā€œfarmerinthecity, post: 777540, member: 24ā€]Donā€™t know if this has been posted here before but it is fucking class.

Fabulous. Did you know that Ray Davies is married to one of the Cork Examiner Crosbies?

[quote=ā€œFagan ODowd, post: 777248, member: 706ā€]Ed Case and the Runaway. 10 years ago this month.

posted 01 May 2003 01:56 PM
For about 2 years my days have mostly consisted of sitting around doing nothing. Most days of the week Iā€™m wondering if thereā€™s a reason to get up, sometimes I try to trick myself into believing there is. On rare occasions Iā€™ve been known to lay in bed, drifting in and out of sub and semi-conciousness. Eventually, come 3 or 4 oā€™clock the pains in my back and neck become too great to bear and Iā€™m forced to get up. So I go down stairs, I might have a brief confrontation with whatever family member has the misfortune to cross my path. I go in to watch the televion, breakfast (or dinner) is too much hassle. I may be incredibly lazy but Iā€™m not fat, because Iā€™m too lazy to cook. I donā€™t eat with the family, we try to avoid eachother as much as possible and living in a big house helps, but they always make sure theres enough left.
The highlight of my week is Thursday, when I get my dole. I get up early to go in town. You might see me in falling asleep in front of fire in the local, or maybe Iā€™m waiting outside for the some other pub to open, donā€™t want to give too much away. In any case come 6 oā€™clock Iā€™ve just finished up in Paddy Powers, hopefully I havenā€™t lost too much of my hard earned cash, perhaps Iā€™ve even come out the better, but thatā€™s rarely the case. Then itā€™s back in for a few more scoops to wash down whatever ****e Iā€™ve just eaten, usually a enzoā€™s, and to converse with slurred speech about some totally irrelevent crap with some poor old ******* who also has the misfortune of still being alive. Half the time Iā€™ve nothing to say, and Iā€™m not even listening to them. I donā€™t mean to be rude but I canā€™t help my thoughts from drifting. My attention returns just in time to be able to give the appropriate response, usually a nod in agreement or fake laugh, sometimes even a grunt. I rarely get it wrong, and when I do, I really donā€™t care.

When itā€™s time to go home or Iā€™m fairly well cut. I live at least 20 minutes walk from the town or 30 minutes drunk walk ( or 30 minute wank as I call it, and Iā€™ve had a few). So that means half an hour of giving out to myself under my breath for being the worthless failure that I am, and when thereā€™s no-one around I give myself a few quick hard clatters to get the point accross. I arrive in the door hoping nobody is awake. Sometimes my mother is still up and when she sees me the way I am a tear is drawn to her eye. It is a very solemn moment with a hint sadness felt by both of us. I say goodnight as I walk up the stairs, searching my pockets as I go, hopefully Iā€™ll have enough for a pint the next day at least.

Obviously, I donā€™t have a girlfriend. The last proper relationship I had was with a homeless girl, I put her up in my bedroom and we got on grand. She was a runaway and when her parents found her I was lucky not to be locked away for underage sex, she told me she was 17 and that her parents were dead. I was 18 at the time she was 15. She explained to them how I had looked after her and they didnā€™t take any legal action. Sometimes I wonder if a spell in prison would have sorted me out, probably not. Iā€™d like to see her again though, but not like this.
The only female contact Iā€™ve had recently has been the kind you pay for, and in my case you go hungry and thirsty (drinkwise) for too. I usually satisfy my carnal desires by hand.

So now the routine to my existance is quite basic and monotinous. Sometimes I wonder if I should end it all, but I know I never will. Iā€™m only 25 and feel there may be light at the end of the tunnel. I sometimes jokingly think to myself that I should crawl into a grave and have some **** give us a few flakes of a shovel across the head to knock me out so I can then be buried alive. Sorry if I sound a touch morbid, but that is why I am writing this. I hope maybe someone can give me a few words of advice or if thatā€™s too much to ask maybe a small donation would be more convienient for yeā€¦[/quote]

Excellent. Great piece of writing.

A cheesy but catchy one from the 80ā€™s.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n4pWcVPUybE

I knew he had some connection to Cork but didnā€™t know that. He was banging Chrissie Hynde back in the day.