I note you still havenāt answered my question
do i like SUVs?
no
Oh dear. You might want to have a chat with the canāt hack itās then.
He defo said 18 something
We went to a one car household over a year ago. Iāve used GoCars four times in this period, the last time maybe 2/3 months ago. I know I live in a city and can walk down to where there is one so donāt come at me country dwelling folk, but I do live in a city and I can walk down to a GoCar so weāve gone to a one car family.
Our new electric car should be with us in March 2023.
Up the Greens!
how were you getting to faldos tfk event?
You were bringing me, remember?
how many times have you needed lifts like that to events or outings since going to one car?
Admins can we have a gofundme for the fww quid extra it cost @estebandaface to bring @Locke to faldos golf day? Heās still bittter about it and we should really smooth this overā¦
Good question. To the Munster v Toulouse game up in the Aviva - I paid for the diesel to and from Bray DART station and paid for the food from the chipper alongside the station. Same chap is driving up to Limerick on Stephens Day for the Munster v Leinster match, Iām arranging the overnight. He drove in for the Munster v SA game but sure we just tipped over from my gaff. Got a lift to Fota and to Muskerry for the 2 (two) games of golf I had this year. Took the bus and public transport to get to Dublin for the DCMā¦
In many respects itās a pain the hoop, asking for lifts etc. but in the main, people are understanding. Thereās public transport on my doorstep so I just use it. For example, had a lunch out in the Elm Tree the other week - got the bus to town, tipped over to Kent and got the train out to Glountaune and walked the mile or so to the gastro bar. Yes it takes way longer than if I had a car but I planned for it, it wasnāt raining on the day and it was grand.
Not unless you made a complete bollix out of installing it. Or itās a pretend air to water system
Iād go out of my way for most people mate, without a hesitation.
Iām trying to determine the feasibility of going to one car in a family household and how much youād need to depend on generosity if you have a lot of engagements or commitments that require travel throughout the year
If only there was a car rental scheme
To be fair esteban, if I was living in the lovely surrounds you are, weād have two cars too. I fully understand your argument. Eamonn Ryan is talking through his hole about folk in the country going to one car households, itās next to impossible. We only do it as we can and it took a lot of convincing for Mrs. Locke to sign up to it. If there is a clash, she gets dibs on the car and I have to plan around it. And donāt think I felt like a fucking twat on the bus to Dublin to the DCM, cursing myself for being a middle-aged man having to get a fucking coach up to Dublin, because I did. But in the main I donāt mind getting public transport. Have 1st class tickets to Dublin on the train tomorrow, really looking forward to that
did all the eco warriors grow up with chandler bing as their hero watching friendsā¦ itās very hard to get anything in the way of a discussion all you get is withering sarcasm
Ah come on pal. It was dying to be saidā¦
we tried it when I was in London part time and even then it didnāt work. I was leaving for Cork Airport at 4am so it meant getting the child up out of bed so the missus could drop me at the airport or spending hundreds a month on transport/taxis. even a car rental scheme wouldnāt work. Then when flights were delayed coming back an arranged taxi would fuck off and Iād have to upset the household at ungodly hours at the weekend. A car pool thing wouldnāt work in that scenario either. Because Iād have no way of getting it back to the depot/central location etc and would be hogging one of the pool.
I had to have a second car to get to the airport and park it there for 4/5 days
That led in to lockdowns then etc and even then the stress of one car was unsustainable really
Ok Chandler
No harm to pelt in a bit of recycling into the stove while your at it. Twould save them big diesel rubbish trucks spewing fumes all over the countryside