šŸŒ¬ The Weather Thread part 2

Itā€™s coming on every hour or 2 which is not normally the case as the place is well insulated. Seems to be ticking along grand. Iā€™d have the temp set for 20 upstairs and 21 downstairs. Bill comes in for around ā‚¬100 every 2 months and everything is off electricity. Will be interesting to see the bill after this weekā€™s ā€œsnapā€.

Iā€™d often use the fire to get rid of a hape of plastic shite. Good for those private documents too. And a fire just makes you feel like more of a man really.

Can you elaborate here? Iā€™ve a Samsung one that is a year old or so and thereā€™s no issue with it. It is due a service thoughā€¦

Youā€™ll be fine for the first 5 years.

You some bore all the same :joy:

Youā€™re

Are you done with your obsession with me now this week?

Brilliantly

Christ on an E-Bike

Interesting point well made, a very valid input to the discussion at hand.

Youā€™re a treasure

Jesus lad.

No need for those temps. 17 / 18Ā° is plenty

Might be a bit of overkill alright, upped it a bit last week. Would normally be 19/20. Then down to 14 or something similar 8 or 9 months of the year.

That sound ominous. As in it will cause bother after that, or it doesnā€™t need to be serviced for first 5 years? If you donā€™t get it serviced every year it negates your 7 year warranty or so Iā€™m told. Which is a bit of a swizz.

I would usually agree but the past few days youā€™d notice the house colder at those temperatures. Maybe the ventilation not doing itā€™s job properly. A lad in Galway supplied that system so could be possible

Yeah I got onto Heat Merchants the last two times to get it serviced. ā‚¬200 per pop

Iā€™m aware, what a dose.

Have you bought your tickets to that Rubby game?

Itā€™s a big temp to be maintaining bro

Ah no, it will be fine. I used to manage cooling in a data centre and never saw a unit last more than 10 years. These yokes are the same concept, but built to a residential standard. The jury is still out on how long theyā€™ll last in my book as theyā€™ve only been installed for the past 7-8 years. They will be a bad investment if they start giving trouble around the 10 years mark and have to be replaced. Our climate (damp) isnā€™t perfectly suited for them. Theyā€™re designed for the dryer continental climate, which leads to icing here, and wasted electricity when the unit has to de-ice. The last few mild winters havenā€™t been much of a test for them.

Christ he should change his name to Giant Chad if thatā€™s the case!

Thanks for al that. So the moral is what you gain on the swings you lose on the roundabouts. Savings are great at the moment but youā€™ll end up shelling out for a new one down the line.