Tipperary GAA 2018

Was he pushed or go of his own volition, pal?

Surely Brendan’s time has Cummins.

Joint agreement, they all walked together.

Statement from the Tipperary Senior Hurling Management

2nd August, 2018.

A chairde,

On behalf of the Tipperary Senior Hurling Management team we wish to confirm that we are stepping down from our roles with immediate effect. Having carefully considered what is in the best interest of Tipperary hurling and our current crop of players we believe the time is now right for a change of direction at Management level. It is our hope that a change in management will bring fresh new thinking to ensure Tipperary continues to compete for top honours in the coming years.

We wish to sincerely thank the Tipperary County Board and its Officers for giving us the opportunity 3 years ago to take on the Management of the Senior Hurling Team. We enjoyed some fantastic days and endured some equally disappointing defeats which are all part and parcel of sport at every level. It has been a great honour and privilege for each of us to have been entrusted with these roles.

We are extremely fortunate in Tipperary to have such a positive and active Tipperary Supporters Club which has been supporting Tipperary Hurling at all levels since 1987. Tipperary Supporters Club has given us fabulous support and encouragement and we are very grateful to them for the tireless work they do for the benefit of Tipperary Hurling.

Our backroom team have been key to preparing our players over the last 3 years and we have been exceptionally well served by a fully committed team who did everything within their power to help our players:

We would especially like to acknowledge and thank the Tipperary public who have been fantastic supporters through thick and thin during our Management term. We wish we could have delivered more success particularly this year with the new hurling structures and fantastic hurling that has been played in this year’s Championship.

And finally we wish to thank the players who have worked tirelessly with us and given their all for Tipperary. These are extraordinary young men whose passion and commitment for our game has made working with them so enjoyable and rewarding for us every single night we trained or played our game. We wish the players, the new Management and backroom team every success for 2019 and beyond as we re-join the Tipperary supporters in Semple Stadium and around the country encouraging our players to great victories again.
Mick Ryan – Manager
Declan Fanning – Hurling Coach
John Madden – Selector
Conor Stakelum - Selector

Speaking on hearing the announcement, Tipperary Co. Board Chairman John Devane expressed his gratitude and thanks to the departing Management team. “As chairman of Tipperary Co. Board I wish to express our sincere thanks and appreciation and that of all Tipperary supporters to our Senior Hurling Management team who have today confirmed their intention to step down from their roles. Each one, Mick, Declan, John & Conor have given selflessly of their time over the past 3 years for the greater good of Tipperary reaching the pinnacle of success in their first year with All Ireland glory.
In particular manager Mick Ryan has given unparalleled service over many years on the field of play and on the sideline as a selector initially under two seperate managers before stepping up to that level himself in 2016.

As players and management we couldn’t have asked for more of them and I wish them every success now and for the future.”

How does John Devane keep the cows milked when having to deal with all this?

My sources say Liam Sheedy will be back

Cc @Brimmer_Bradley

Good time to go. Major rebuilding project needed. They’ll try and coerce Sheedy back I’d say but doubt he would take it on.

snap

We’ll have feckin months of @carryharry posting pictures of sheedy now.

http://files.hoganstand.com//Common/NewGallery/inph0231359.jpg

Fair play to him for 2016 but there just wasn’t any gameplan there. Some tough lads to deal with in that squad in fairness to him

I’ll raise you one

Agreed, good time to step away as it gives all concerned time to find new management.

2018 will go down negatively against Ryan & Co but as a whole they’ve done okay.
Wish them all the best of luck as it’s a thankless job when the chips are down.

No way Sheedy will want this or be enticed. Needs a fresh face with a good background knowledge of the Underage talent & structures currently in the County.
Liam Cahill will get it, next shout is possibly Willie Maher.

It must be a significant added challenge managing a team when so many of them are criminals.

WE ARE BOX OFFICE

Well out of the championship and they’re all talking Tipp again

We could clean house next year if we have a game plan*

*And somehow find about half a dozen new players :roll_eyes:

Has Willie’s stock dropped in CB circles?
Always thought he’d be in the reckoning post Minors

Looks the obvious candidate anyway.

More like 35 mate.

Lookit, lads.
We have a good run 08-17 tbf. Good aul summers with a few AI’s & Munster Titles.
Great games were witnessed.
Good aul sessions had.
Few bumps & bruises but in general no real heartache.

Let’s all just sit back and watch the others call the shots for another 10 Years.

Nice landing spot for Davy. Paudie Maher would thrive in the sweeper role