Tipperary GAA 2022

Honestly don’t know. One for @Mullach_Ide

He is.

For sure? Presuming he is righthanded, he is cross lateralized, like a lot of top sportspeople.

Definitely.

Kicks 45s off his left. Also handy off his right boot.

Thanks. A fascinating nugget.

I saw a photo the other day of Colm O’Rourke signing an autograph. So he is likely cross lateralized as well.

No bother.

Just looking back over your teams which were very interesting I’m nearly sure Pat Fox is right handed. Hurls LHOT normal then. Think you said he was left handed.

If so, that trait would be interesting. Would make Pat Fox same as TJ Reid. Could you find out for definite? PF might have been made write with his right hand.

I know of some lefthanders who hurl exactly the same as orthodox righthanders. Meaning, hurl rhot and take frees off their right side. Aisake Ó hAilpín is one.

The finest place in Limerick.

I can find out over the next week for 100% and then let you know although @Fat_Pox may have already copped. I wouldn’t be aware of the primary schools stance on left handed writing now. Fox was also a talented youth boxer.

His style is actually very alike to TJ.

Would have always taught right handers hurling left handed was far more common than the opposite these days.

I do not think pressuring a child to write against their natural inclination happens any longer. Hopefully not. The whole nonsense was based in the idea that sinistral is unholy…

Yes, righthanders hurling lhot is far more common, if only because righthanders are far more numerous. About ten per cent of people are lefthanded.

Paudie O’Brien, former Limerick hurler, is lefthanded but hurls rhot.

Being left handed is seen as being rather “cool” these days. Its a bit different. Even back in the 80s when I was in school there was no pressure put on any left handers

I think that comment is true, Mike. I never had any pressure and have always liked being lefthanded. There are eight of us and two of us, myself and a sister, are lefthanded.

I was always a bit envious of left handers truth be told. Now I dont know whether its an old wives tale or not but someone once told me it was a lot harder to block a left hander getting their shot sway in hurling than a right hander

Lefthanders are supposedly at an advantage in some sports, such as tennis, because of a statistical inevitability: lefthanders meet far more righthanders than righthanders meet lefthanders. This reason is why Rafael Nadal, who is righthanded, plays lefthanded.

Aren’t you statistically more likely to make it as a sports star if you’re a leftie? More elite athletes are lefties than their proportion in the general public I believe.

The little wan is left handed. Left footed as well. Neither of us are.

When I started hurling, I was left handed on top, but striking off right. Changed one summer back to ‘normal’, maybe when I was 11 or 12. Was still shite after the change.

Is there any line of lefthandedness at all on either side? My father and one of his brothers are lefthanded.

A lot of lads would be able to puck around comfortably enough both LHOT and RHOT, but i dont know has anyone really had the balls to do it in match situations similar to Ronnie O’Sullivan in snooker?

I taught myself how to hurl LHOT when i was really young, but was told to switch to RHOT when i was 7 so i still have the remnants of it and can puck around grand , but its a huge regret I wasnt left the way i was.

When we played the Kickhams in 08, our county man hurled the second half LHOT such was the ease of victory.

There actually was a practice in late 19th century hurling where all strokes were played forehand, so to speak. Meaning: the player went lhot when striking off his left and rhot when striking off his right. I interpret this practice as part of space management when the game was 21 a side.

Not everyone approved. Jamesy Kelleher, when called in to hurl with Cork around 1900, was told to give up this practice and just to hurl rhot. I read this snippet in Carbery’s work. There is further evidence of the practice in Tubberadora: The Golden Square Mile (1995).

Timmy Ryan, Limerick’s great midfielder in the 1930s, seemingly was a throwback to this style. Michael Haverty (Galway) hurled in this fashion during the 1980s. Timmy Clifford, current Kilkenny U20, constantly switches grip (although he does not solely make forehand strokes). I seem to remember Mount Leinster Rangers’ Frank Foley switching grip.