A great drinking town. We used often stop there on the way back from matches in the 00s. Wild cunts.
Played many gigs in Rearcross, in the Congo bar. A sound enough bunch up there from what I recall.
It’s hard to get a boot that’s good for the dance floor and drawing silage.
The Blundstone’s would be too trendy for them. More “Riggers” (remember that brand).
When I was there, the Subaru 555 jacket and the likes was the IN thing.
The congo is a grand spot. A great name for a pub too
The other bar there is called The Rising Sun; both easy to remember names
John McGahern wrote a book about it
There was/is Kennedys as well?
Yeah he (Rody) passed away a few years ago; think the bar closed with him.
Could be wrong on that though
Ye are bringing back a few memories of matches in Thurles there lads.
Our bus organiser loved to stop in out of the way pubs like them.
Mick would be roaring up the stairs to Mary to ‘come down quick’ when he’d see the bus load coming in.
Kennedys has been taken over my new proprietors last year and they are making a right go of it.
They’ve food, music weekly and nearly sure they organise lifts home.
Doing well the last time I heard.
There was a youngfella up there, around 17 at the time. We let him up to play a few tunes, and he did the solo etc for Sweet Child of Mine note for note. He also had a good bash at the Paradise City solo. He was a talented fella, wherever he is now!