Tom Humphries thread

Ya its worse.

The GAA is worse

You blamed the GAA and not Cusack himself

After hearing of Cusack’s intervention this was your response, to blame the GAA and not Cusack

Yes the culture of the GAA encourages this.

2 lads from Valley Rovers got away with beating up an off duty cop, badly, due to this fucking nonsense

Another guy from same club has managed to get away with knocking out a 16 year old.

And on and on and on.

Its culture thing.

Of course Cusack is personally responsible as well. But thats the environment created for him

Your issue is with the Irish legal system , not the gaa

Do you have child protection policies in place for when you work with kids in the gym. What kind of steps do you have to take? Anyone know if it’s a requirement for gaa mentors to be garda vetted and undergo any training?

The gaa is no more responsible for Cusack writing that letter than his employer is,his family is, the boy scouts he was in , the gym he attends etc etc
He wrote it because he is a dirty creep with a very very very high opinion of himself

If character references are an accepted part of the legal system, and they are, you can hardly blame people for availing of them.

You can criticise people for giving them for sure, but even then, they are only partaking in what is an accepted part of the legal system, and they themselves are not guilty of any crime.

But it’s difficult to know what you’re criticising unless you know the full content of the character reference and what’s out in the public at the moment doesn’t appear to be anywhere near a complete picture.

However if Humphries’ volunteer work was cited as something that should be considered in his favour, that would be a very weird reference indeed, and I can’t imagine why somebody would cite it given the nature of the crime.

A few weeks ago those who defended George Hook over his disgraceful victim-blaming comments were branding those who either objected to his comments or thought he should sacked “a mob”. They were also bogusly invoking the concept of “free speech”. Hook’s comments attempted to mitigate blame on the perpetrator of a serious crime. Yet here there were many people who, separate from the concept of Hook having a right to make such comments (he does - he is not free from facing consequences for making them), actually defended those comments and claimed they were correct.

This to me appears to be a situation where there actually does seem to be a real element of the lynch mob about those who are vilifying Walsh and the former GAA player for giving character references. They have a right to free speech and to use it to participate in an accepted part of the legal process. I’m not sure that given the nature of the crime it was appropriate in this instance, but they were entirely within their rights to do as they saw fit.

Wasn’t he a grand uncle of Colin Healy of Celtic and Cork City fame ?

I train under age teams and had to get garda vetting and under go child protection training. Assume it’s the same everywhere.

Yes, you have to have Garda vetting to be involved with any team and it must be renewed every few years.

No its not entirely. But oartky of course. The cops and judges who facilitate this are central to it but what do they all have in common?

The GAA.

I do not have an issue with character references.
Unless they are for admitted paedos.

What about a child murderer?

Character witnesses should either be allowed for the perpetrators of all crimes or for none.

Yes i agree. What i am saying i have a problem with the person who gives the reference

Galwey danced on the grave of a dead teenage boy who was killed by one of his mates up drinking all night. It’s every bit as bad as anything Walsh or Cusack have done. Humphries pled guilty and refused bail. Halvey never even said sorry to that poor family from Bruff.

The vetting thing is the bare minimum really. The rules for adult-minor interaction are much more important. I’m sure the thing where a mentor can’t be alone with a kid was fairly standard while Humphries was grooming this girl. Then again if he did it outside of a gaa setting then there isn’t much a club could have done to stop it.

I’m not sure what the guidelines are now for access to phone numbers? I would have thought that for U16s it’s the parents’ details that should be on file rather than the kids’.

Yes but they should, and I assume do count for less the more severe the case. If a lad is caught with a bit of cannabis in his car then a character reference is fine but they should be basically discounted for stuff like this

Had the relationship stopped when Humphries’ daughter found the messages or was it ongoing?

Yes that is the case.
You can’t contact a child directly by phone, email, etc, you have to go through the parents.