[QUOTE=“Bandage, post: 1129280, member: 9”]McIlroy, Harrington, McDowell, Clarke and McCoy aren’t sportsmen.
Golf and horse racing. :D[/QUOTE]
in fairness you wont hear of any of the hardest bastards in golf getting beaten by ladies.
[QUOTE=“Bandage, post: 1129280, member: 9”]McIlroy, Harrington, McDowell, Clarke and McCoy aren’t sportsmen.
Golf and horse racing. :D[/QUOTE]
in fairness you wont hear of any of the hardest bastards in golf getting beaten by ladies.
I’d say that drunken mess of a cunt @Mac has passed out now so you won’t get an answer to your question until the morning.
he will no doubt spend the night going through the life and times of tony mccoy on wickepedia before responding in a fit of rage again about the shit in his kids nappy.
horsey set wanker.
Fyp
[QUOTE=“Brimmer Bradley, post: 1129271, member: 2839”]Ruby Walsh ( whom I wouldn’t be a fan of )
rides 2, maybe 3 days per week. Mycoy, travels the length and breath of the British isles 7 days per week to rack up winners to make the title, if Ruby, R Johnson, D Russell or any other half decent jockey rode 5 days a week they would knock Mcnutter right off of his false perch fairly lively.
Forgot to add. I put down a score today on R Johnson’s mount, brother tedd @ 10/1.
It was the sweetest €220 I ever picked up.
Mycoy sickened, Johnson in the winners enclosure. Lovely stuff.
Johnson’s 2nd winner of the day too. His first, Menorah @ 3/1.[/QUOTE]
For the day that was in it, I actually went and read an article on horse racing and more specifically McCoy - Donald McRae in the Guardian - to see what all the fuss was about. Seems an odd sort of a fellow. Here’s an extract from it.
It seems telling that, considering McCoy’s domination of jump racing for 20 years, we spend more time talking about his pursuit of an unprecedented 300 winners this season than anything else. Until devastating injuries cut him down in October it had seemed as if McCoy was racing towards a sporting miracle.
“That broke my heart, really,” he says of the realisation he would not be able to reach his holy grail of 300 winners in a season. “It was the first time ever as a jockey that I felt broken. Yeah, I’ve broken every fucking bone in my body but bones heal. This was feeling broken inside. It absolutely broke my heart because, until then, I really thought it was on.
“I was riding out of my skin because I felt the hunger. I felt the need. I felt the obsession. It was always in my head but when I rode my fastest 100th winner in August the 300 became real. I always need that huge challenge. And when I got injured the goal was gone.”
Trouble started with a bad fall at Worcester in early October. “I punctured my lung, broke a couple of ribs and dislocated my collarbone,” McCoy says as he recites a bleak summary of damage. His fellow jockey Dougie Costello remembers McCoy walking back into the weighing room, talking about riding on while he had a drip in his hand. McCoy’s pale face looked ghostly as he asked for a cup of tea – with 10 sugars.
“Yeah, that was because I punctured my lung and couldn’t breathe. I obviously know the symptoms of a punctured lung. You know what it’s like not to be able to get a breath. I wouldn’t go to hospital because I knew a doctor would tell me I had punctured my lung and dislocated my collarbone and broke my ribs.
“I took a few days off and I kept saying to Chanelle: ‘I am getting better. I am.’ But Doc Pritchard made me go to the hospital because my lung was not great but when I got it inflated again I went back racing three or four days later at Huntingdon. I rode three winners that day. The pain was unbelievable but I went to Wetherby the next day and properly dislocated my collar bone. I had a week off but I went back riding way too early – at Exeter.”
McCoy shakes his head at his folly in driving himself too hard, too soon, before falling again amid the destruction of his last great racing dream. “I didn’t believe I could miss another day while chasing that record. I had it in my head that I could not afford to have one more hour off, let alone one more day. Chanelle knew I was absolutely fucked in the head. She knew no one could talk to me.
“The shoulder swelled up massively at Exeter. So did the front of my chest where my ribs and collarbone had been broken. I still went out and rode the next race – purely out of temper. I even went racing the next day and had a couple of rides but my head was gone. I had a ride in the first race and one in the last race and I rang the doctor in between and said: ‘I’m going to have to come see you.’ He told me that I had not only dislocated my collarbone but broken it as well. He basically said: ‘You’re fucked.’”
It marked the start of a long depression for McCoy. “The 300 target was over but it didn’t help that I was already 70 ahead in the jockeys’ championship. I had ridden 150 winners in October and no disrespect to the lads but Tom Scudamore and Richard Johnson [his closest rivals] are on 145 and 146 now, in the last week of April. So my biggest problem mentally when the 300 went was I already knew I was going to be champion jockey again. Where’s the drive there?”
McCoy sinks back in his chair. The house seems painfully hushed before he continues. “That was the moment of failure. It felt as if everything had been taken away.”
Was that also the moment when McCoy decided to retire? “No – even though I had thought about it at the start of the season. There were times when I was just flying and I also thought: ‘You know what, it would be an amazing way to retire – riding 300 winners.’ But when it fell apart I wasn’t thinking about retiring. My mind was on other things which were just not good.
“After two and a half weeks I was thinking: ‘What’s the point? What can I achieve now? Nothing.’ I was very bitter. I had no goals. I had nothing to motivate myself. I was mad at myself for falling and getting injured. I was thinking: ‘Why didn’t it happen last year or the year before?’ It seemed such a waste.”
Did anything help him comes to terms with such disappointment? “No. I never came to terms with it. I still haven’t. I’m still very bitter.”
http://www.theguardian.com/sport/2015/apr/24/tony-mccoy-broke-bones-heart-sandown-retires
Poor Chanelle … I believe she dreads him coming home after riding a losing favourite or a race he should have won …
Worcester, Huntingdon, Wetherby and Exeter. Travelling up and down the country riding in meaningless races with a broken collar bone and punctured lung. What a mug.
He had 150 winners in the season by October. I’ll hold my hands up and say I know I little or nothing about horse racing, but I thought the National Hunt season was only starting around October? If he had 150 winners up by October, notwithstanding a few weeks out with injury it was a diminishing rate of returns for the six months from October up to yesterday’s season end at Sandown.
Chanelle won’t be able to walk soon. Something will have to take the place of all those nags AP used to flog around Newton Abbot and the likes.
Nail on the head there Bandage.
I actually think the jockeys championship is a bit of a farce. Maybe an option to make it more realistic would be to base it on prize money won, the same as the trainers championship.
Or maybe don’t include novice, maiden and bumper races or something like that.
Years ago Lanfranco Detori pulled a kind of a stroke in the flat jockeys championship, he did a McCoy on it and rode the all-weather during the winter and had an unassailable lead built up before the turf flat season even started.
The rules were changed the following year.
The one thing I would say in his defence is if he’s made £18 million out of this most odd of pursuits, fair play to him. Maybe we’re all the mugs.
Here’s the breakdown of his his 10 most productive courses.
Worcester 298 wins
Newton Abbott 297 wins
Uttoxeter 198 wins
Cheltenham 196 wins
Fontwell Park 182 wins
Market Rason 180 wins
Stratford on Avon 165 wins
Plumpton 145 wins
Hereford 141 wins
Exeter 134 wins
Cheltenham is the only one of those racecourses I’ve ever heard of.
[QUOTE=“HBV*, post: 1129286, member: 234”]he will no doubt spend the night going through the life and times of tony mccoy on wickepedia before responding in a fit of rage again about the shit in his kids nappy.
horsey set wanker.[/QUOTE]
Incorrect on both counts
[QUOTE=“Manuel Zelaya, post: 1129313, member: 377”]For the day that was in it, I actually went and read an article on horse racing and more specifically McCoy - Donald McRae in the Guardian - to see what all the fuss was about. Seems an odd sort of a fellow. Here’s an extract from it.
It seems telling that, considering McCoy’s domination of jump racing for 20 years, we spend more time talking about his pursuit of an unprecedented 300 winners this season than anything else. Until devastating injuries cut him down in October it had seemed as if McCoy was racing towards a sporting miracle.
“That broke my heart, really,” he says of the realisation he would not be able to reach his holy grail of 300 winners in a season. “It was the first time ever as a jockey that I felt broken. Yeah, I’ve broken every fucking bone in my body but bones heal. This was feeling broken inside. It absolutely broke my heart because, until then, I really thought it was on.
“I was riding out of my skin because I felt the hunger. I felt the need. I felt the obsession. It was always in my head but when I rode my fastest 100th winner in August the 300 became real. I always need that huge challenge. And when I got injured the goal was gone.”
Trouble started with a bad fall at Worcester in early October. “I punctured my lung, broke a couple of ribs and dislocated my collarbone,” McCoy says as he recites a bleak summary of damage. His fellow jockey Dougie Costello remembers McCoy walking back into the weighing room, talking about riding on while he had a drip in his hand. McCoy’s pale face looked ghostly as he asked for a cup of tea – with 10 sugars.
“Yeah, that was because I punctured my lung and couldn’t breathe. I obviously know the symptoms of a punctured lung. You know what it’s like not to be able to get a breath. I wouldn’t go to hospital because I knew a doctor would tell me I had punctured my lung and dislocated my collarbone and broke my ribs.
“I took a few days off and I kept saying to Chanelle: ‘I am getting better. I am.’ But Doc Pritchard made me go to the hospital because my lung was not great but when I got it inflated again I went back racing three or four days later at Huntingdon. I rode three winners that day. The pain was unbelievable but I went to Wetherby the next day and properly dislocated my collar bone. I had a week off but I went back riding way too early – at Exeter.”
McCoy shakes his head at his folly in driving himself too hard, too soon, before falling again amid the destruction of his last great racing dream. “I didn’t believe I could miss another day while chasing that record. I had it in my head that I could not afford to have one more hour off, let alone one more day. Chanelle knew I was absolutely fucked in the head. She knew no one could talk to me.
“The shoulder swelled up massively at Exeter. So did the front of my chest where my ribs and collarbone had been broken. I still went out and rode the next race – purely out of temper. I even went racing the next day and had a couple of rides but my head was gone. I had a ride in the first race and one in the last race and I rang the doctor in between and said: ‘I’m going to have to come see you.’ He told me that I had not only dislocated my collarbone but broken it as well. He basically said: ‘You’re fucked.’”
It marked the start of a long depression for McCoy. “The 300 target was over but it didn’t help that I was already 70 ahead in the jockeys’ championship. I had ridden 150 winners in October and no disrespect to the lads but Tom Scudamore and Richard Johnson [his closest rivals] are on 145 and 146 now, in the last week of April. So my biggest problem mentally when the 300 went was I already knew I was going to be champion jockey again. Where’s the drive there?”
McCoy sinks back in his chair. The house seems painfully hushed before he continues. “That was the moment of failure. It felt as if everything had been taken away.”
Was that also the moment when McCoy decided to retire? “No – even though I had thought about it at the start of the season. There were times when I was just flying and I also thought: ‘You know what, it would be an amazing way to retire – riding 300 winners.’ But when it fell apart I wasn’t thinking about retiring. My mind was on other things which were just not good.
“After two and a half weeks I was thinking: ‘What’s the point? What can I achieve now? Nothing.’ I was very bitter. I had no goals. I had nothing to motivate myself. I was mad at myself for falling and getting injured. I was thinking: ‘Why didn’t it happen last year or the year before?’ It seemed such a waste.”
Did anything help him comes to terms with such disappointment? “No. I never came to terms with it. I still haven’t. I’m still very bitter.”
http://www.theguardian.com/sport/2015/apr/24/tony-mccoy-broke-bones-heart-sandown-retires[/QUOTE]
Sounds like a big child.
I heard him on the news yesterday saying ‘the best days in my life are behind me’. Probably true but he must be in a bad way to say it publicly like that. I doubt he’ll deal too well with retirement.
[QUOTE=“Manuel Zelaya, post: 1129319, member: 377”]The one thing I would say in his defence is if he’s made £18 million out of this most odd of pursuits, fair play to him. Maybe we’re all the mugs.
Here’s the breakdown of his his 10 most productive courses.
Worcester 298 wins
Newton Abbott 297 wins
Uttoxeter 198 wins
Cheltenham 196 wins
Fontwell Park 182 wins
Market Rason 180 wins
Stratford on Avon 165 wins
Plumpton 145 wins
Hereford 141 wins
Exeter 134 wins
Cheltenham is the only one of those racecourses I’ve ever heard of.[/QUOTE]
Very interesting post, Manuel. Don’t suppose you have any details on his overall win percentage versus his win percentage at the main Cheltenham festival event in March? While the above list reveals 196 career Cheltenham wins, I read that he only had 30 odd wins in 22 March Cheltenham festivals. That’s probably 30 victories in over 300 rides at the premier event but I expect his overall win ratio to be far higher. Trying to manically to drive some no mark novice over the line at Fontwell or somewhere against a field of uninterested other jockeys.
Yeah. When he could have been online 10 hours a day here listening to you banging on about your dickie fucking hip which saw you take 6 weeks off work and 3 months off riding. No doubt you will have a bout of repetitive stress from all the typing you did telling us about your rehab and your fab progress.
We agree on another thing anyway pal. AP is clearly the mug!!
[QUOTE=“dancarter, post: 1129339, member: 122”]Yeah. When he could have been online 10 hours a day here listening to you banging on about your dickie fucking hip which saw you take 6 weeks off work and 3 months off riding. No doubt you will have a bout of repetitive stress from all the typing you did telling us about your rehab and your fab progress.
We agree on another thing anyway pal. AP is clearly the mug!![/QUOTE]
Ouch
I also meant to add Bandages original injury was caused by the fact he couldn’t stay away from the trough
The horsey set are weirdly defensive about this odd McCoy character and seem to take valid criticisms of him personally. @dancarter, the junior rugby footballer with the alcohol dependency problem, the latest to chime in. Fuck off, you despicable cunt.
No. I know nothing about horse racing. That list was in the article I read in the Guardian yesterday.
http://www.theguardian.com/sport/2015/apr/24/tony-mccoy-broke-bones-heart-sandown-retires
McCoy is like the boy who never missed a day in school. When they were giving out the awards at the end of the year, they always threw one out to the kid who never missed a day all the way through primary/secondary school.