TV Rights, best avoided

If you want to look it that way then fine. The fact is though that when people are asked what they are looking forward to most next year you don’t see the League of Ireland or Dundalk’s next European campaign. On the other hand the RBS Six Nations is far and away the most looked forward to event.

Overall;

• 43% had a rugby team as their most admired
  • the best ranked achievement was the Irish rugby squad and they are the most looked forward to team to see in Ireland next year

The second most popular sport yes, but that is because of all the British soccer fans. Unlike @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy most Oirish soccer fans won’t get off their arse to support domestic football and even the national team. That’s why rugby is broadening its demographics all the time.

And yet the love of Irish males ages 15-30 Conor McGregor won the sportsman poll.

A prompted survey where people were given 6 answers and asked to rate them.

Again, McGregor won the poll still and is the darling of people who aren’t your landline demo.

Don’t get angry with me just because the GGA performed so poorly in the poll. You’re lucky that they lumped the two field games into one to save your blushes.

Some serious recency bias in that poll

Not all pal. I was in Chicago and attended the All blacks game. Were you the lad in the Munster jersey seething when Olé Olé Olé rang around Soldier Field. After the game the Euro 16 songs got an airing.

Rugby is declining as a sport. It is wallpaper for a day out, a day on the lash. I enjoyed it for that. Was enjoyable to be there.

Irish provinces are going to go to shite as cannot compete financially anymore.

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/international/rugby-s-decline-continuing-apace-in-an-apathetic-australia-1.2898261%3Fmode%3Damp

http://www.theroar.com.au/2016/08/22/blame-football-rugbys-decline/

http://villagemagazine.ie/index.php/2015/08/the-limits-of-aestheticism/

Also very TFK

Even the women of the GAA can’t stop putting “I suppose” at the start of every sentence. Its not exclusive to men, and its not exclusive to certain counties.

“Rugby is declining as a sport” - where? It is the fastest growing sport in the US.

The Irish provinces are all in with a great chance of qualifying for the last 8 in Europe. Ireland are ranked in the top 3 in world rugby. :neutral_face:

Munster jersey? You’ve got to be joking.

Australia.

That’s akin to saying a hurling team did well to get to the All Ireland quarter finals.

And? That’s one country and as a matter of fact, rugby is growing in different ways there. The bogans who enjoy watching the traditional local rivalries in league and AFL may not have any interest in rugby, but the introduction of rugby sevens into the Olympics has seen rapid growth in female participation in the sport there.

http://www.aru.com.au/MediaReleases/Article/tabid/1699/ArticleID/17872/Australian-Rugby’s-Annual-Report-Shows-Encouraging-Growth-with-Womens-Rugby-A-Major-Opportunity-for-the-Future.aspx

And…

No it isn’t. The basis of his suggestion of a decline in rugby in Ireland was on the performances on the provinces - the provinces are all in with a great shout to make the next phase of the European competition.

The decline of the GGA is the most interesting part of the survey. As @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy regularly points out, the ratings are in the toilet for them. Crowds are down by 35% in the last 10 years. The potential winners of the All Ireland in hurling and football are narrower than ever. I’ve said it before but the Irish public just aren’t going to stick around to watch a mediocre product when the world has been opened to them with the proliferation of satellite television and broadband. The desperation by the GGA has seen them sell their souls to Sky Sports.

The GGA will be lucky to have any games in the top 5 in 5 years

Cringe :rollseyes:

The 10 biggest attended sporting events in Ireland every year are GAA games.

GAA club memberships are more than rugby and football and tennis club memberships combined.

Attendance at GAA games is more than attendances in Ireland of rugby and football combined.

The GGA will soon be back to pre qualifier numbers with a stinker of an average.

It’s just an inevitable trend for the GGA. They got away with it for years with Ireland being cut off from the world but gloablisation is killing them. I know plenty of GGA fans who have turned their back on the sport since Sky Sports came on board. It might have been “gas” to do this to watch an All Ireland quarter final once but it won’t be in a couple of years time when it happens again

The amateur sport selling out their grassroots so GGA big wigs could go on trips to London to meet greasy British media executives at swanky London restaurants.

Liverpool Football Club are the nation’s favourite team, mate.

Is that a travellers christening?

What a shower of retards