Twitter (Part 1)

You seemed like you knew what you were talking about there.

None of the Minors of 95-98 did.

In fairness He was a live wire and gave his allā€¦ he was a gutsy bastard. Remember him playing full forward against armagh once and they were laying into himā€¦ He kept coming back for moreā€¦

Ah a lot of them didā€¦ They just peaked earlyā€¦ It happens.

He was never the most talented, but he had guts to spare and a great engine. He also worked very hard. He didnā€™t suffer fools, and had a bit of a high opinion of himself at times, but he never let you down in a fight, as long as heā€™d hung around for that fight and not fucked off the panel the week before it.

GAA wasnā€™t the be all and end all for him, thereā€™s nothing wrong with that either.

Ah they should and could have done more.

Still turns out in the Masters, no great profit for him in that

A bit of fighting against the dying of the light there. A touch of regret about what might have been. Weā€™ve all been there.

Lads are taking it too seriously if thatā€™s what theyā€™re at

There must be 50 lads on the Dublin panel. All they want is the gear and a pic with the kids.

Those Laois Minor teams are falling into that age group now, itā€™s a bit of craic and meeting up again with old friends.

I find the club players who never kicked with the county in their lives to be the odd ones, taking it far too seriously.

A lot were willing but probably thrown in a bit early and got used to losing ? Croft from Dublin took a dive in 99 I think to get Dublin through when laois looked like beating themā€¦ That was a huge swing for that laois teamā€¦ If they had taken that Dublin scalp it would have been some springboard.

Mad stuff like still having to be playing at intermediate level to get in? Is that true??

Coulda shoulda woulda.

Itā€™s very small margins with young teamsā€¦

No definitely not. Certainly not for the keepers :joy::joy::joy::joy:
Mick o keeffe played a bit and think he only played small bit of club junior last year.

Pretty sure Mick is at the beefier end of the spectrum on that panel

It is, especially counties with losing mentalities. Those lads had won all up along. Losing to Kerry in U21 in 98 and Westmeath U21 in 99 was a sickner but wouldnā€™t have mapped had they beaten Dublin and gotten a crack off Meath in a Leinster Final.

Incidentally Woolie fucked off the panel that year the week of the Westmeath game :grin:

Itā€™s more a group of lads who played on underage Dublin teams and whoever else wants to playā€¦

Still a decent player, or was up to recently anyway.

Some of the other lads are in great nick and still some of the main senior players for their club but good few of Brigids lads are junior 2 (afl 6).