Tyrone 2020

Word on the street is that it will be Logie along with Dooher, Holmes and Ryan Daly.

Arles beats all though. At least the Tyrone lads copped on and got their shit together. Rural pride over land is a horrible thing.

Aye. Dont think there was ever any butchery on the field between the 2 of them though. It was a bizarre thing though, and still lingers on. Chris Conway was on a podcast recently about it. Beano as well. Both sides of the same coin. Conway would be more entrenched mind you.

Yeah it was Conways father that was a main factor wasnt it? Really fucking stupid stuff though. Wanting a name of their townsland to be the club name and the whole club split in two as a result. What do they do at underage now? And where does Ballylinan fit into the equation? Do the three of them amalgamate for underage and split at adult? If so, its the stupidest fucking thing ever.

The Arles’ now combine with Barrowhouse to form Na Fianna at underage, Ballylinan are out on their own now. Barrowhouse lost the two Kingstons to Killeen, you couldn’t make it up really. The bad blood there must be unreal.

St Michaels was the Club, and it was bolstered at underage by Ballylinan. They wanted to bring Michaels and Ballylinan under the same adult set up, and instead of 2 becoming 1, they instead had 1 becoming 3. Ballylinan kept well out of it, St Michaels continued for a bit at underage, but Arles split out, what was to become Killeen continued as Michaels for a wee bit.

Ah its epic stuff really.

mental. You’d wonder how members of the club let two pigheaded families ruin a club. And was there a story of Brennans spreading slurry beside the house or church on the day of a Conways wedding? Gobshites.

I couldnt tell you the truth in such rumors, or the one about cutting down the nets in the pitch or setting fire to flags. I never heard them fully confirmed. I will say, there has never been out and out violence on the fields between them, which they deserve some modicum of credit for.

And to say its simply down to two families is true in a way, but they are all interconnected and you could nearly draw a throughline on either side of the divide by one of the families at the very least.

But they could all pull together outside of the two Arles’, with both Laois and indeed Knockbeg.

Ah its always defied explanation. Maybe they needed an Armagh priest too.

on one hand, as Chris Conway has said, maybe having the rivalry is what pushed them on to both do well. 3 clubs in senior from one parish is great, considering the way a lot of rural clubs are going with dwindling numbers and amalgamations. But surely the common sense thing is to pool all the resources. As you say, defies explanation.

You listend to the podcast so. Chris is a serious man, an unreal competitor. He wouldnt be one for turning too easily.

no, didnt hear it, but I know he has said it before.

What podcast is this?

You’d think after the tragedies that befalled people in and around the Tyrone senior panel they’d be above sledging underage opponents over bereavements and family members

You would, and above lots of other things, but, like the Catholic church, enslaving women and selling their children is grand as long as you say the rosary.

They didn’t as accepted by the alleged victim and Donegal County Board.

Declan Bonner ran off to the press and made scurrilous and unfounded accusations against a pair of minor footballers.

And the Tipp footballers?

So after posting one made up allegation you are moving on to another.

Well done.

On balance of probabilities and following a review of the evidence, it was likely that some Tyrone players made unwelcome verbal comments towards the Donegal player during the game.

Both county committees and the investigation committee accept that the comments were not about the death of the player’s father.

Jaysus that’s a headshot.

This thread needs locking now.

No danger of the Laois thread attracting any outsiders in anyway.

Go and contrive a few more rivalries for yourself like a good lad.