The lad in the short trousers is a ringer for the Kaiser.
The news that Her Majesty is a Woolwich fan is the one major downer from the day.
The Queen knows more about football than almost any other head of state and is a “secret” Arsenal fan, it emerged during the tributes paid to her on her 90th birthday.
Of all the plaudits received by Britain’s longest-serving monarch as she celebrated another milestone, the most unexpected came from Sepp Blatter and Jeremy Corbyn.
First, it was revealed that Blatter – the disgraced former president of Fifa – had compiled a top 10 of heads of state with the greatest football expertise in his new autobiography, Misson & Passion Fussball.
Elizabeth II was ranked fifth, beating former Italian Prime Minister Silvio Berlusconi, who has owned AC Milan since 1986.
The Queen, who is older even than the World Cup, then found herself all but outed as an Arsenal supporter by Labour leader Corbyn during a speech in the House of Commons.
Staunch Republican Corbyn, himself a Gunners fan and the club’s MP, recalled how a bad back meant she was unable to open their Emirates Stadium back in 2006.
He added: “Now, we know the Queen is absolutely above politics. She may be above football, too, but many locals harbour this quite secret view that she’s actually, privately, a Gooner.”
It is not the first time it has been claimed the Queen supports Arsenal, with the club’s former midfielder Cesc Fabregas disclosing she told him she was “a fan” during a Buckingham Palace reception.
She was later said to have inherited the bug from her mother and has seemingly passed it on to her children, with Prince Harry revealing last year: “Most of the Royal Family are Arsenal fans.”
Blatter, meanwhile, also disclosed in his autobiography that he took part in a failed attempt to persuade an African president to leave office peacefully.
The 80-year-old offered Burundi leader Pierre Nkurunziza an ambassador’s role in world soccer as the nation fell into violent turmoil.
Listen, just because @Julio_Geordio handed you your arse, you don’t have to take your unpleasantness out on me. That upsets me so it does.
Once again, facts stand in the way of your lies. I’m surprised such a supporter of the commonwealth would not be aware that you don’t pledge anything to the english queen when you become an Australian citizen. I’m becoming one because I live here and for the opportunity to vote against the liberal party nazis and for a republic when the referendum comes around when herself carks it.
I don’t have a god and I certainly don’t have a pope, so I have no allegiance to them either. Nor do I have an allegiance to Hillary Clinton and I’d like you to point to where I’ve supported her. I think she’s horrendous.
The way you Catholics can’t accept someone else’s beliefs, or lack of them, is quite pathetic and rather sad. It’s terribly needy, in the same way you hark back to a time when Ireland was under British rule. It must kill you to live in a republic.
Right on cue with the angry little man routine
What does he get up for in the morning?
Like clockwork @fisty insults half of humanity in response to being called an Aussie.
It’s only the internet fisty forfucksake you hate filled one eyed bastard.
He can’t handle that the Queen is the boss of his manor
The Queen is his gaffer. He needs to accept that
I owe a great deal of gratitude to @Fitzy. If it wasn’t for him, I’d still be buying my wine in a petrol station like a thick muldoon.
If be can’t accept that maybe he should pack up his capsicum plants and fuck off out of there.
The Barmy Army sum it up best in song:
The Aussies love the English,
You may think it quite strange,
Cos we sent them off Down Under,
With only balls and chains.
And when they see the English,
They always shout and scream,
But when they had the chance to vote they voted for The Queen!
God save YOUR gracious Queen,
Long live YOUR noble Queen,
God save YOUR Queen,
Send her victorious,
Happy and glorious,
Long to reign over YOU,
God save YOUR Queen
Absolutely brilliant
@Fitzy really needs to deal with the fact that the Queen has generously provided him with a home and is his Head of State. A Lèse majesté law really should be introduced throughout the Commonwealth, along the lines of what they have in Thailand. That would quieten mouthpieces like @Fitzy.
Just had a read there of what they have on the statute book in Thailand:
The Thai constitution provides that “The king shall be enthroned in a position of revered worship and shall not be violated. No person shall expose the king to any sort of accusation or action.”
Section 112 of the Thai Criminal Code - “Whoever defames, insults or threatens the king, queen, heir-apparent, or regent shall be punished with imprisonment of three to fifteen years”.
He should be reported for treason the snake
You hang around the Roman Catholic thread like a bad smell and make snide comments in here about Her Majesty regularly, the only one here who is foisting their beliefs on others is yourself.
There’s a lot to be said for that. They introduced it into Kilkenny there a few years ago and it’s worked wonders for them.
This is Unreal. Wexford lads want to be kilkenny lads the same way you want to be a aussie. Real stockholm syndrome shit