US Masters Golf

I see Paddy Power have a bet for the US Masters : 11/8 Tiger Woods vs 8/15 The Field.

Think I’ll have a piece of that 8/15

I’m going Mickelson at 8/1 (Ladbrokes) - placed in 5 of last 7 Masters and won 2 of those.

Yeah Mickelson should definitely be there come Sunday. are you not tempted by 8/15 Rock - you have Mickelson, Els, Singh, Garcia, Harrington (ok maybe stretching it there !!) all playing for you.

Knowing my luck, Tiger will be 5 shots clear after 3 rounds !!!

A small bit but if they’re offering 11/8 on Woods and somebody has to win then 8/15 is just the converse of Woods winning, with a nice margin built in.

If 2 people bet - 8 euro each.

Paddy takes 16.

Scenario 1 Tiger wins he gives back 8 and another 11 so he’s down 3 euro.

Scenario 2 Anyone else wins and he gives back 8 plus another 3.75 or something and he’s keeping 4.25 for himself.

I just think Paddy doesn’t want to lose, I reckon he knows people are tired of betting on Harrington, so this is his way of getting more money on scenario 2 because presumably the bulk of his book is on Scenario 1. When Paddy wants me to do this then I think it can’t be good for me.

If your wanting a good bet:Henrik Stenson…wont let you down,what a player,followed him at the Ryder Cup…brilliant.Tiger will be in close chase aswell though and I have a feeling Harrington will be in the hunt.

Anyone who has backed Harrington let me know and if he wins I’ll match what the bookies owe you. Stenson is a good call and the only other European I would consider is Casey. Fancy Charles Howell to be in the shake up myself but can’t look past Woods.

Another good bet would be Geoff Oglivy,won a few touranments in the US recently and is in good shape this year.Phil Mickelson isnt doing the business at all this year,Expect Vijay Singh up on that leaderboard come Sunday night.

Brilliant! couldnt agree with you more. He’s a total bottler. I agree with the geoff oglivy e/w, but my e/w nap for the masters is Adam Scott. Think he’s 30/1 with ppower and 40/1 with betfair.

Rocko, is that not how the bookie makes money. They do that with all bets. For example, any 50/50 bet, like betting on the stock exchange, you get 5/6 each. Same with milan and munich to progress to semi’s. They were both 5/6.

That is how they make money but in this example I think they’re just conscious of the fact that they have a big exposure on Tiger so in order to balance up their books they’re encouraging people to back the rest of the field. It’s just a way of them making sure that they get a spread of Tiger and non-Tiger money so their margin comes up for them.

Bookies don’t like when favourites win because that’s where their exposure is. So the more money they divert elsewhere the better. Creating a 2 horse race in this instance creates a “false favourite” for them so that Tiger money gets matched by other punters and Paddy’s laughing.

i understand that they lose most when favourites win, but in this case the favourite is now the rest of the field. So if they start gettin a lot of money on the rest of the field(ie the 8/15 bet), will those odds further decrease and therefore increase tiger woods odds?

I doubt they’ll move Tiger out. I’m guessing that all their exposure is on Tiger so in order to divert money away from him they’ve created a “false favourite.” All they’re trying to do is guarantee themselves a margin by creating a 2 horse race.

Adam Scott will be up there aswell having a good year thsi year,I hope Sergio will win though…love him! Stopped for a picture with me and a autograph at the Ryder Cup…hes not as ignorant as the media make him out to be.Retief Goosen is another player who will be up there in the masters.

I have gone full circle and have decided to lump on Tiger !!!

7/4 on betfair - that will do for me

Best of luck to the rest of ye having a wager on it

Just did my 7eur e/w bet on Charles Howell. That’s all I had left in my account.

On the advice of gerrardno1 i backed the field versus woods and mickelson at 5/6

just read there today that woods and michelson have won 5 out of the last 6 masters! oops!

thats a damning stastic.

i know i apologise in advance. still think its worth a punt but i hope ye didnt stake too much on it

mickelson wont win the masters no way hes not playing well at all,Im telling you lads Henrik Stenson will win.

Justin Rose-Leading…mmm hes player pretty well dont know if he’ll be up there come Sunday though,Stenson is level par and not far behind,I backed him at 25/1 good bet…hes gonna win.Zach Johnson is one under…another dark horse keep a eye on him creeping up the leaderboard…good player.

Henrik Stenson to win!! ;D