US Politics - A Society in Meltdown

Yeah I’d agree with all of that. I was watching something earlier that said if the coroners autopsy revealed "death by asphyxiation " then the charges could be upgraded to first degree murder. That was the case today but it was revealed that this was a private autopsy paid for by his family, Therefore I presume that it can only be upgraded to first degree if the state coroner (for want of a better term) concurs. Otherwise it will stay at 3rd degree/manslaughter?

In a free country like the US everyone has the right to free speech and peacefully protest in the public square and on public property. You do not however have the right to throw rocks through windows or burn down private property. Kap had every right, and I would encourage his right, to protest injustice. That first amendment right does nor extend to the workplace or to private property, this is a simple concept that many fail to understand.

You can try an experiment if you like and go in and tell your employer and their customers they are a bunch of cunts, and argue you are expressing your right to protest. See how you get on.

You’d have to establish premeditation for first degree.

Lads any of ye know if yer man Nostradamus had any foresight about this craic?

OK, character, you keep dancing around his hypocrisy for e-kicks, I’m sure it’s a fulfilling pasttime :laughing:

I k ow that but the argument was that the cop knew what he was doing after the first minute or two of having his knee on his neck. Therefore he knew that the result was inevitable. It was suggested that premeditated murder doesn’t necessarily mean that it needs to be meticulously planned but can also occur in the same sort of scenario that killed George Floyd

But he has to have intended to kill him, not just injure him or be a cunt for first degree

That’s the argument they were trying to make. They were implying that he knew after the first minute or two that if be didn’t take his knee off his neck that it would eventually kill him. According to them that constitutes/justifies an upgrade to first degree, I.e. he knew exactly what he was doing. :man_shrugging:

I’m not talking about Trump, I’m giving you my own opinion. Kap’s actions were offensive to at least 50% of NFL fans, who are the paying customers of the NFL. You don’t get to do that in any private company, why would the NFL be an exception? He has every right to protest and organize protests outside the workplace.

Very hard to convince a jury of that, the prosecutor is always going to go with whatever he thinks can get a conviction.

A yeah. I’m just asking the question

The man dead.
More will die if the states dont take the streets back.
Trump didn’t kill the man .
The lady with her dog didn’t kill the man.
Trump isn’t rioting.
The police aren’t burning out buildings .

Here I would be interested to know your view on this. Do you reckon Trump has made a pure balls of this or has he been left with no choice?

Fair enough, that is your opinion but to throw such a thorough opinion out in such a pithy manner

in response to a post from me pointing out trump’s hypocrisy quickly followed by

is the typical fishing for reaction nonsense you see from all trump wums on teh internets since he got elected.
You’re lost without Sydney really. Sure, there’s one or two biting here and there but it’s just not the same for you since he left, is it.
It’s ok, mate, we’re here for you. We’re not him but we’ll do our best for you.

‘President obama’ still been used on al Jazeera, was his term not over a few years ago .

He has no choice but to act the strong law and order president. The battle lines have been drawn long ago, he can hardly back down now. It’s a great opportunity for Democrats to win big in November if they can stay united.

Not sure how real this is but you can be damn sure there are a fair few out there. A friend of mine lives in Kirkland, Washington and sent a couple of pictures of these sorts waiting for looters - apparently there is a peaceful protest arranged for today/tonight
https://twitter.com/RightWingWatch/status/1267537669086752770

https://twitter.com/jpegjoshua/status/1267599264257015816?s=19

Sorry you don’t understand what the first amendment protects and doesn’t protect in the US, it’s quite simple really. It’s protection against what the government can do to you for speaking your mind or protesting, nothing more, nothing less.