US Politics II. Trump’s extreme regime

Some of it doesn’t make sense, and some of it does.

Some of the Trump supporting billionaires have absolutely been conned. But they’re on board now, and they won’t be able to get off the ship they helped steer.

As I’ve always said, it’s Trump himself who has the real power here, and nobody else. Except Putin. Not Musk anyway. But Musk is tied to him now, and he can’t back out. He can never back out. If Musk was to turn against Trump, he’s dead, possibly literally.

What we’re seeing is multi-faceted. There’s a fundamental tension between different parts of the Trump coalition.

Trump’s stereotype voters in the rust belt are economically left wing (the little they know about it) but culturally very right wing. They hate immigrants, they don’t like the blacks and they want the blacks and the Latinos and the immigrants gone, they want to live in white picket fence land with neighbours with names like Smith and Campbell and Murfee. They want tariffs and they want a time machine to go back to 1955.

Yet they worship Reagan, who was the US’s Thatcher, who destroyed organised labour and manufacturing. Because oooh didn’t he have a lovely soothing voice and he smiled. They like him because they have Daddy issues basically.

Then you have the economically right wing but sort of culturally liberal pig rich. This group is a fairweather friend of cultural right wingism in that they want to make rape jokes, they want to say the n word, they want power to always be a big boys club. But they’re largely OK with the gays and abortion. This group has recently embraced or in some cases pretended to fully embrace the cultural right wing, mostly because they want to be close to power, in some cases because they’re big swinging dicks who think they’re geniuses (but aren’t), in some cases because the trans issue has served as a wedge to drive them towards cultural right wing neanderthalism.

This group wants immigrants, they want immigrants they can exploit for low wage labour and they want no tariffs. Trump has mainly conned this group but they can’t back out now and they won’t persuade him to abandon what he’s doing. I wouldn’t weep for them though as billionaires always benefit from a crisis, and a crisis always ultimately means a greater share of wealth in the hands of the few.

There’s a sort of shadowy third group in the middle of this made up of assorted, creepy ideologists. Central to this as far as I can see are crypto obsessives, goldbugs, nihilist libertarian fascists and ultra-religious rapture fiends. And Russians and Russian agents.

They want the whole system to burn down. Trump has their ear.

Trump’s whole presidency is a pay to play extortion racket. He believes he can make the Trumps into America’s Royal family, the unquestioned ruling family. He is planning to do and is doing something like what Putin has done in Russia, where Putin gets a cut of everything.

Chaos utterly suits Trump in doing this. He and his cronies are profiting royally off all this market manipulation. This is blatantly obvious, if you weren’t born yesterday. He now has utter impunity and can do whatever he likes. He will never face justice.

Trump is very happy to destroy America in the process, as that suits his Russian paymasters. The journalist Dave Troy who has been one of the most clued commentators on all this for a long time has consistently warned of a debt ceiling crisis as a major step in the burning down of the system including the US dollar as the world’s reserve currency and its replacement with something based largely on cryptocurrency.

By burning down the system and replacing it with something else, Trump plans to inherit the wealth of most what is left of it. As far as I can see he stands a pretty good chance of succeeding.

And it begins

I’m puzzled as to why people think Trump will yield to pressure.

This is not like Truss. He doesn’t have to listen to anybody and he cannot be removed.

I have entertained the thought I could be wrong on this, but I don’t think Trump will yield to anybody on this and I expect the tariffs could even get steeper.

Trump did not put any tariffs on Russia. Just saying.

First they came for Koch and Leo. And i didn’t speak up.

This is an interesting read. Might not work out for trump (in reality his advisors) but it’s a strategy. Michael Lewis on with Mac Williams recently was very slow to get on the short America bandwagon Mac Williams was pining for

But surely not. I thought it was SURGING?

I thought the markets were on the biggest RALLY since Trump’s Nazi one at Madison Square Garden?

It was surging, for an hour. Then it wasn’t.

For all the talk about the Tesla share price collapsing, I see it’s only back to where they were in November. I had expected it to be well down going by all the talk.

New model Y will sell millions
Tesla will be okay

Strap in lads…….This is the big one!!!

US treasuries being sold off at rate of knots. Usually that’s where money goes in times of uncertainty. Foreign money pulling out of america.

Has to affect US interest rates…

Shits going to get even crazier Stateside.

At the risk of sounding a bit selfish, will all this craic make holidaying in the US cheaper? I’ve a hankering to hit Yellowstone

Yes, most likely so.

usd no longer the underpinning global currency, shifting away from it. Interest rates there will have to increase tho Trump will scream for opposite (he’ll blame Fed). Likely huge default rates on mortgages and loans to come.

So you’ll be able to swan about like royalty over

You’ll end up in a prison cell in El Salvador

God I love swanning about

Foreign money stayed at 73% which is about the norm. Its internal.

Those hedge funds are all fucked. They’ll let it go for a few days to find out what happens and if it continues the Fed will step in by Sunday and before markets open next week.

will capitalism save us from Trump?

Capitalism, as an economic system, isn’t inherently aligned with any particular political ideology or individual. It functions based on market dynamics, private ownership, and competition. The idea of capitalism “saving us” from any political figure, like Donald Trump, would depend on how the system is structured and who controls it.

In theory, capitalism could be a force for change if economic power is used to challenge or counteract Trump’s policies. For example, businesses or industries that depend on a stable environment might push back against policies they perceive as harmful to their bottom line. On the other hand, capitalism could also perpetuate or exacerbate the influence of certain figures, depending on the role money plays in politics.

Ultimately, whether capitalism “saves us” from someone like Trump might come down more to how it’s regulated and to what extent democratic processes are empowered within the system—voters, grassroots movements, and civil society play critical roles in that, too.

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: