Valentine's Day

Something from the bucket inside the front door in Spar perhaps. Anything you recommend?

Aldi are doing a mixed lily/rose bouquet. You can reuse the lilys for Easter Sunday too.

A single red rose now and a large delivery to the hotel in Limerick

I think they were planning to eat out in No1 Pery Square.

thats a lovely thought

He couldnā€™t afford itā€¦Donkey Fords.

careful man,
i hope ure armed with the ring sheā€™s expecting Sunday night

Isnā€™t it a leap year? :frowning:

Got my bits and pieces in aldi, flowers chocolates, Teddy and card 29.98. The panic tomorrow, avoid, be nothing left, lads might aswell head to the pub.

Fair play for admitting that.

Iā€™ll bet most of you are going to celebrate Valentineā€™s Day with a big bunch of roses and flowers and chocolates.
Did you know that the surname Guinness is derived from the Irish God of Love! Indeed Guinness has probably done more for love than St. Valentine as without the courage supplied by the black stuff, many poor folk would not have been able to find love!

The surname Guinness is derived from Mag Aongus; meaning son of Aongus who in mythology was a member of the Tuatha DĆ© Danann who in turn was a god of love, youth and poetic inspiration. In translation Aon = one and gus = choice thus translating as ā€œone choiceā€ but more accurately translated as ā€˜chosen oneā€™. In Irish orthography ā€œMacā€ meaning ā€œson ofā€ changes to ā€œMagā€ when the following name begins with a vowel. When the name is vocalised in speech it sounds like Maā€™gaon-gus or maā€™gan-gus which in turn is phonetically rendered to English as MacGuinness. During the 17th century under pressure from the English authorities many Irish families dropped the prefix ā€œMacā€ to make their name sound more English;. In the case of ā€œMagā€ the ā€œMaā€ part was dropped erroneously leaving the ā€˜gā€™ attached to the original surname. Other examples include Geraghty, Garrity, Getty, Geoghegan, Gawley and many more. Variant spellings of Aongus include Ɠengus Aonghus, Angus and Aengus.

The proprietor of the Guinness brewery Benjamin Lee Guinness chose the harp motif in 1862 and registered it as a trademark shortly after the passing of the Trade Marks Registration Act of 1875. Could Benjaminā€™s choice of logo have been influenced by the Aongus stories? Aongus had a harp which made irresistible music and his kisses turned into birds that carried messages of love.

So if you really love her - forget the sentimental stuff and bring her out for a skip load of pints of the black stuff.

cc @farmerinthecity

Steak, chips, beer and ice cream served on a pair of tits.

The biggest cod in the year,
What are you doing @mikehunt?

You actually went to Aldi and left with only the items you intended to purchase :open_mouth: Sensational

Checking the viability of the Valentines card Rascal made in creche.

He only went in for a card and a chocolate bar

You soft cocks. :grin:

Small bunch of flowers for the love of my life ā€¦ will give her a card with a heart felt message inside ā€¦ probably go for a very casual bite to eat then tomorrow evening. Pizza most likely ā€¦ No need to get carried away - thatā€™s for teenagers - but itā€™s nice to let your other half know that sheā€™s (or heā€™s) appreciated ā€¦

Mugs going for grand gestures are doing it for themselves and not their loved one.

A teddy?

https://southendnewsnetwork.net/news/school-bans-valentines-day-after-six-year-old-tells-teacher-he-would-plough-her-into-next-week/