Chance to make it 9 in a row tomorrow against Inter Borgia.
The Borgians beat us i nthe first game of the season and we won the return fixture 5-3 in a game that was memorable for my sad injury.
That game kicked off our winning run so hopefully we can get another 3 points tomorrow and use that as a springboard for another four victories.
The squad has already been announced and the big news really is that Farmerinthecity has been left out. The big man has been struggling with alititude sickness since he turned 12 and things have finally caught up with him. He will be travelling as a non-playing squad member to support the team but won’t be asked to take part.
Less controversially the misfiring youngster Stevie G has been dropped out of the squad also after missing training last week.
Very low key build up tonight.
I was worried that ye were getting carried away with the hype. Good to see a more sedate and measured apprach this week.
The Connacht Tribune is reporting that Farmer has reacted badly to being dropped tonight.
Non-playing squad members are required to attend all club games but Farmer’s apparently boycotting tonight’s crucial clash.
However, it’s believed he’s going to stand in his front garden and keep an eye on proceedings in Booterstown from there.[/QUOTE]
:guns:
I shall be attending tonight, cheering the lads on. The gaffer put his arm around me earlier in the week and told me that I am needed for the six pointer next week and I am not to be risked this week.
cesc4 will deservedly get the plaudits for his double hat trick but I was immensely proud of Jugs tonight. He created that chance for himself and finished it magnificently. I wasn’t sure how he’d react after inexplicably failing to hit the target in Galway on Saturday night but he confounded the critics with his quality individual goal tonight. Pretty disappointed not to keep the clean sheet tonight but Rocko held up his hands and apologised for the own goal and I’m happy to leave it at that.
This HAS to be made into a film (provided ye push on and win the league). The big fella from Lost can play Bandage and the lad from the Butcher Boy can play Jugs.
I can’t access the table here in work but the remaining fixtures are:
28th July versus Murexico
4th August versus Jackson Revolvers
11th August versus Quality FC
18th August versus Sophis
Our game next week is worth 6 points as an earlier game between the teams was postponed. Win all the games and we win the league. Draw a game and it’s out of our hands. Draw next week and we’re doomed.
We are currently four points behind with a game in hand. Our goal difference is brutal though so if we win our game in hand and then drop two points we won’t win the league just by beating Sophis.
I’m aghast to hear reports of a cabal of players organising a drinking session in Galway behind the manager’s back only a couple of weeks before the end of the season.