Violent attack in Clondra Longford

When an elderly couple aren’t even safe in their own home what fucking hope is there?

Three questioned over Clondra attack

Friday, 11 December 2009 09:00

Garda in Co Longford will continue to question three men this morning in connection with a violent attack on an elderly couple at their home near the village of Clondra.

The 74-year-old woman and her 65-year-old husband are still recovering in Roscommon County Hospital after they were threatened with a firearm, a knife, and an electric shock taser device during the raid.

It is understood detectives are also pursuing inquiries into claims that the couple were not the intended targets of the gang which carried out the robbery.

Detectives have described the attack on the retired German businessman and his Irish-born wife as ‘horrendous’.

The three men threatened that they would cut off the couple’s fingers and use an electric shock taser device if they did not hand over money.

The pensioners were bleeding heavily and severely traumatised after the incident.

They are now said to be in a stable condition in hospital and three Dublin men arrested near the scene are still being questioned by garda.

Part of this investigation is also focusing on claims that the raiders had originally targeted residents in a different area but mistakenly attacked the house of this retired couple when they arrived in the midlands.

Fucking animals, You’d wonder had Nally the right idea, shoot first, ask questions later.

[quote=“myboyblue”]
Fucking animals, You’d wonder had Nally the right idea, shoot first, ask questions later.[/quote]

Heard them talking about this on the radio, sounded like a truely horrific attack. Them bastards should be strung up.

The occupants managed to dial 999 at one stage but weren’t able to talk, but the Gardai traced the call to that area and were on route to investigate in an unmarked car when one of the attackers flagged them down. I assume with the intent of hijacking the car.

They made bits of the two of them farmer, over a case of mistaken identity. Fucking animals. It could easily have been my own folks, their ages wouldnt have been a million miles away from this couple, and I’m pretty sure while my auld fella is a hardy man, I doubt he could have fought off 3 of them at this stage of his life.

[quote=“The Runt”]Heard them talking about this on the radio, sounded like a truely horrific attack. Them bastards should be strung up.

The occupants managed to dial 999 at one stage but weren’t able to talk, but the Gardai traced the call to that area and were on route to investigate in an unmarked car when one of the attackers flagged them down. I assume with the intent of hijacking the car.[/quote]

Its just impossible for the Garda to police rural areas as well as they’d like to. There’s animals out there now with no respect for human life, none whatsoever.

I am not doubting that the attack was severe and that anyone who would do that are scum but I thought the reference to Nally was completely idiotic.

Its very similar farmer, a rural home, with inhabitants who are hard fit to protect themselves, having their homes trespassed upon by violent animals. The difference was Nally was prepared.

[quote=“myboyblue”]When an elderly couple aren’t even safe in their own home what fucking hope is there?

Fucking animals, You’d wonder had Nally the right idea, shoot first, ask questions later.[/quote]

I think you’ll find Nally’s tactic was to shoot first, then shoot again. A hero for all times :clap::clap:

Idiot. Where is your IOTM crown actually?

I don’t think that any logical person could really think that such a thing makes one a hero so I’ll let you off with that and just assume the statement was in jest.

Who here keeps a weapon near their bed?

I like to have a hurley not too far away from either the door or the bed at all times.

[quote=“The Runt”]Who here keeps a weapon near their bed?

I like to have a hurley not too far away from either the door or the bed at all times.[/quote]

I would have no problem with that. Beat the living shite out of them.

BUT…

After having beaten the living shite out of them and when they are running away, you can’t go and get a gun to shoot them to end their life.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]
I don’t think that any logical person could really think that such a thing makes one a hero so I’ll let you off with that and just assume the statement was in jest.[/quote]

Just because you say its so doesnt make it so farmer. Disappointing to see you condone attacks like this on old people in rural communities.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]I would have no problem with that. Beat the living shite out of them.

BUT…

After having beaten the living shite out of them and when they are running away, you can’t go and get a gun to shoot them to end their life.[/quote]

I think you’ll find you can, and a jury of your peers will rule in favour of your actions.

[quote=“The Runt”]Who here keeps a weapon near their bed?

I like to have a hurley not too far away from either the door or the bed at all times.[/quote]

Same here. Nice rusty band on it too.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]I would have no problem with that. Beat the living shite out of them.

BUT…

After having beaten the living shite out of them and when they are running away, you can’t go and get a gun to shoot them to end their life.[/quote]

Define ‘beat the living shit out of them’.

Describe in words how far exactly would you go and define clearly the level of injury you would inflict and the point at which you would stop the beating, leave out the emotions you would be going through at the time.

BUT…

What if they did that to your parents Farmer? I’d gladly do time for killing the cunts if they attacked me or any member of family. And it wouldn’t just be in the heat of the moment. If needs be I’d pick em off one by one and sleep sound afterwards knowing that maybe I’d prevented them from doing the same to someone else’s family.

Any cunt that attacks me or my family will get his just desserts, either on the spot, or cold pre-meditated revenge.

Any cunt that attacks me or my family will get his just desserts, either on the spot, or cold pre-meditated revenge.[/quote]

As an aside Runty the phrase is just deserts. It is derived from the word deserve and not from after dinner treats.

Back on topic we will lead the rebellion to rid the world of knacks (and along the way correct some common misunderstandings) :guns::guns::guns:

[quote=“HBV*”]Define ‘beat the living shit out of them’.

Describe in words how far exactly would you go and define clearly the level of injury you would inflict and the point at which you would stop the beating, leave out the emotions you would be going through at the time.[/quote]

I would go as far as I had negated the threat to my family.

so youd kill them if needed?

If you batter these scumbags, do you think they skulk off and say to themselves “he got the better of me, fair play to him. I’ll leave them alone now”

If my family were in danger themselves of being killed - yes.

But, with regard to Nally, he had negated the threat. Frog was fleeing.

They may have. The thing is that you can’t say for sure.

Either way, killing someone on the basis of something they might do in future can’t be justified.