Waterford Hurling (now incorporating intermediate football) 2013 and subsequent years

De La Salle 1-13 Passage 3-6

Two Ballygunner points in injury time to beat Lismore 0-18 to 1-13 under floodlights in Fraher Field.

The pitch was in shit apparently. 3rd game played there that day, madness

Crazy. Itā€™s a bog at the best of times. Final is next Sunday.

Donā€™t know how true this is but:

http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=277392

The reappointment of Waterford manager Derek McGrath and his backroom team is on hold due to a stand off between the county board and the management team over the amount allocated to the playersā€™ holiday fund.

In recent weeks, Waterford selector Dan Shanahan stated that it was only ā€˜50/50ā€™ as to whether or not they would return to the job in 2018.

And the Waterford News & Star has revealed that a row over the amount of funding given to the playersā€™ holiday fund is at the root of the problem.

The holiday fund has received ā‚¬160,000 which is made of a standard allocation of ā‚¬80,000 given by Croke Park to all All-Ireland finalists, while the county board and Club Deise made up the rest.

However, it has been alleged that the management team are not happy with that figure and feel that they should be getting something in the region of ā‚¬300,000 which is reported what the Galway hurlers received for their holiday.

The provincial paper added that the county board is unhappy with the prospect of having to pay for some of the backroom team who are being paid for their services like physios, doctors, nutritionists, etc.

Talks are believed to be on going and all Waterford supporters will be hoping that the issue can be resolved and that the management team stay in place for another year.

Maybe Iā€™m extremely naive but how much would a team holiday usually cost? ā‚¬180k seems like a lot of money?

Curious .

Conservative estimate of 25 players + 15 backroom/alickadoos = 80 people incl partners. 180k wouldnt go far if you were going long haul for a fortnight for that crew and feeding them over there etc

You would think about 3-4k per person.

CB lads are hilarious. They never pay for a yhing and piss and moan about everyone else

It would be ridiculous that they are falling out over a free holiday for people who were paid to give up their time.

McGrath runs a very expensive ship in Waterford during the season and Iā€™d say lashing out ā‚¬250k or more on a holiday for the 3rd or 4th best team in the country is galling for the CB. Bizarrely Mullane made reference to this around the time of the All Ireland so I wonder was it brewing for a long time.

The people of Waterford will have to pay for it.

All of these things should be threshed out at the start of the season anyway.

They barely survived Davy and now this lad wants an an all inclusive to the Bahamas for 80 people ā€¦ fuck meā€¦ Madnessā€¦ Yes the players deserve some reward after a long year, but Derek should be told to cop on or to jog on.

80 wouldnā€™t cover it Iā€™d say.

say 33 players plus their free loaders. Thatā€™s 66.

Selectors, physios, stats, bag carriers, water boys, county board plus partners.

That sounds like a shit holiday.

Itā€™s utterly ridiculous. Iā€™m all for players getting looked after, but they want to give free holidays to full time professionals who were being paid to be part of the backroom. why do they need a free holiday when they were paid to give their time to the team? And why the need for such expensive lavish holiday destinations? Fucking hell, they had the whole shite after Davy, and then the secretary who embezzled ticket money and committed suicide not so long ago, the fiasco over the Jedward concert, ā€œupgradingā€ 2 shithole stadiums that neither will be any use, they have been haemorrhaging money for years in Waterford but still have produced good young players coming through. Wasting hundreds of thousands on a 2 week holiday for players and hangers on will ultimately be felt at lower levels, the underage finances etc. The usual looking over the garden fence and being pissed off at what Galway are getting. Fucking hell, the competition should be in hurling, not who is getting the better holiday.

I canā€™t imagine anything more awful than a team holiday .

A bit harsh.

Ah I wouldnā€™t say that. Iā€™ve heard they can be tremendous fun.

:wink:

This is a wind up?

I doubt it. Reviled and all as they those cunts put some hours in on a voluntary capacity. I wouldnā€™t do it for a few All Ireland tickets anyway. Theyā€™re as entitled to a trip as any of them.

Team holidays are great if youā€™re young and single, a lads holiday in effect.
Not so much fun when youā€™re there with your Mrs though.

Waterford Co Board should tell McGrath to fuck off with himself