Wexford GAA 2010

who won that game bandage and do you know who played well

I don’t know anything other than the crushing news about Greg Jacob.

May as well pack it all up and go home for the year.

The Sarsfields have announced their senior football management team for the season ahead. My, how incredibly strong it is:

Billy Dodd (legendary Wexford attacker)
John Harrington (legendary Wexford midfielder)
Ger Halligan (legendary Wexford defender and former manager)
Billy Walsh (legendary Wexford Olympian)

:clap: x4.

so theyve added billy walsh since last year?

any truth int the rumour billy walsh bit a young fellas leg in a game a few years ago?

Billy Walsh was involved last year.

Ladies and Gentlemen, Mr Billy Walsh. :clap:

any truth in the rumour billy walsh bit a young fellas leg in a game a few years ago?

I can neither verify or refute that rumour.

Who cares who is fit, who is playing well, what our chances are. The main thing is that either the footballers or the hurlers give us a few days out in Croke Park to do the Saturday/Sunday night double in Coppers. Thanks to the Co. Board’s greed in fixing the footballers match for Croke Park we’re guaranteed at least one day out this year anyway, here’s hoping for a few more.

Great point Tinnion and Ger Doyle deserves immense credit for ensuring the Dublin game will be in Croke Park. However, I fear that will be our only senior action there this season - we’ll lose that game and then get dumped out of the qualifiers in some provincial backwater. Galway will beat us in hurling and then we’ll lose our next game. Cherish that Copper’s weekend for the Dublin clash.

hurlers out in kk the first game, few pints me thinks.

Indeed. Sampled night life in Carlow and Galway last season as part of the championship roadshow. Wouldn’t mind a game in Cork next season.

i can verify my prior statement also bando

My heart is telling me we’re gonna have a repeat of 2008 when we were living at HQ but my head tells me to to give it socks on 13 June 2010.

It will almost certainly be the only day in Croker for the footballers but the hurlers might get one more day there. We’ll defintely lose to Galway but we might get lucky in the qualifiers and get back for one more game.

Sometimes you just get the feeling the players don’t know how much these games mean to the fans.

Ye have a big weekend in Ennis to come before all this craic.

I suggest sampling the local cuisine in Enzo’s eatery. Bring a stab vest.

Fuck the Vols. The Sars have done some decent business in this transfer window. We’ll be disappointed to lose Donnacha Doyle but we’re getting in a superstar in Kyle Dempsey and Simba Berry will provide options too. I’m not sure what the attraction for Richie Kehoe and those lads is with the Mary’s Maudlintown.

From the Wexford People:

Joe fears for future of Volunteers club

By BRENDAN FURLONG

Wednesday March 03 2010

THE FUTURE of Volunteers given the number of transfers from the club was questioned by Leinster Council delegate Joe O’Shaughnessy at last Wednesday night’s meeting of the County Board.

The Castletown clubman wondered if they were closing the Vols down given the number of transfers going through. ‘Volunteers are a club with a great tradition and it’s the County Board’s responsibility to protect clubs,’ he said.

However, County Chairman, Ger Doyle, said when they met with Volunteers officers regarding the single club issue they did not express any concern.

However, the amount of transfers between Wexford town clubs was questioned by Clonard delegate Joe Sheehan.

‘Tonight 80% of the transfers passed involved Wexford town clubs. Now the time has arrived to try to do something about it,’ he added.

County Chairman, Ger Doyle, said that in 2006 a committee was set up to look into Wexford town and transfers but they could not get an agreement with the clubs.

‘We wanted a three-year moratorium on transfers but the clubs would not agree. It is a problem. In the last two to three years 80% of the transfers involve Wexford town. There is a problem. We can look into it,’ he said.

Seamus Whelan, a member of the Transfers committee, warned that given the trend of the transfers a club in Wexford town could be decimated overnight, while Paddy Wickham, Chairman of the committee, said there should be a limit on where a player transfers in Wexford town to three years.

Irish Officer, Tony Dempsey, said the county Management committee has a responsibility to all clubs, and Wexford town should be put down for discussion at their next meeting.

St. John’s Volunteers will now be one club for both hurling and football.

Last year the club was separate for both codes but, following a meeting between the County Board officers and club officers, it was decided that for 2010 they would be affiliated as a single club.

TRANSFERS GRANTED

Neil Howlin (St. Joseph’s to Sarsfields). Cormac Power (St. Martin’s to Kilmore). Michael O’Brien (St. Martin’s to St. Fintan’s). Tim McGrath (Kilmore to Clonard). Mark Maloney (Kilmore to St. Martin’s). Gary O’Connor (Blackwater to St. Mary’s, Rosslare). Paul Reddy (St. Anne’s to Our Lady’s Island). Nicholas Whitty (Glynn-Barntown to St. John’s Volunteers). John Coady (Faythe Harriers to St. John’s). Patrick Murphy (Faythe Harriers to St. John’s Volunteers). P.J. Mooney (St. John’s to Faythe Harriers). Seán Murphy and Wayne Mallon (Volunteers to St. Mary’s, Maudlintown).

Richie Kehoe, Billy Doran and Paul Hillis (St. John’s Volunteers to St Mary’s, Maudlintown).

Philip Berry and Damien Robinson (St. John’s Volunteers to St. Joseph’s). Kyle Dempsey (Volunteers to Sarsfields). Keith Kearney (Volunteers St. John’s to Clongeen). Patrick Harnett, Jonathan Browne, Ian Doyle and Leigh Smith (Clonard to Faythe Harriers).

Michael Nolan, Richard O’Brien and Mick Murphy (Clonard to St. Joseph’s).

David Lyttleton and Robert O’Connor (Clonard to St. Mary’s, Maudlintown). Leigh Smith (Clonard to Sarsfields). Jim Berry (St. Mary’s, Maudlintown to Sarsfields). Seamus King (St. Mary’s, Maudlintown to St. Joseph’s). Martin Dunne, Jamie McMahon, Mark Browne, Keith Rossiter, John Walsh and Paul O’Dowd (Sarsfields to St. Joseph’s). Danny O’Reilly (St. Mary’s, Rosslare to St. Joseph’s). Paul Hayes (St. Mary’s, Rosslare to Glynn-Barntown). Donnacha Doyle (Sarsfields to Glynn-Barntown). Donnacha Doyle (Faythe Harriers to Glynn-Barntown). Bill Goucher (St. Mary’s, Maudlintown to Shelmaliers). Michael McInerney (Adamstown to St. Mary’s, Rosslare). Andrew Kelly (Rapparees-Starlights to Davidstown-Courtnacuddy). Gary Murphy (Rapparees-Starlights to Oulart-The Ballagh). Richard Murphy (Rapparees-Starlights to Shamrocks). James Byrne (Naomh Éanna to Tara Rocks). Stephen Byrne (Tara Rocks to Naomh Éanna). Chris Sheridan (Craanford to Naomh Éanna). Gary Morton (Oulart-The Ballagh to Bannow-Ballymitty). Thomas Redmond (Crossabeg-Ballymurn to Réalt na Mara). Lorcan Leacy (Ferns St. Aidan’s to Oulart-The Ballagh). Liam Doran (Buffers Alley to Clonee). James Browne (St. Patrick’s to Clonee). Pat Foley (HWH-Bunclody to Clonard). Mark White (Fethard to St. James’). Gearóid English (St. Anne’s to Horeswood).

TRANSFERS REFUSED

Thomas Kent (Glynn-Barntown to St. John’s Volunteers). Shane Sinnott (Our Lady’s Island to St. Fintan’s).

I’ve made tentative plans to go to our football game in Cavan on the Saturday night and don’t intend to return to Dublin via Ennis. John Meyler masterminded a Wexford league victory in Ennis a few years back - bring him back.

Good man bandage, I’ll keep an eye out for you

That’s right. Was that the year ye were relegated?

Jim Berry is going well i see,scored 1-4 against Down,should we expecting an avalanche of Hiaces,big Jeeps and Flashy looking VW Passats at Wexfords championship games this Year?,the clampers wont like it id say,the travellers always carry a con saw in case of emergancy.