Wexford GAA 2010

we are going to hammer ye at the weekend

From Wexford GAA site

Wexford are boosted with the inclusion of Darren Stamp and Paul Roche who are both returning from injury for the League Final on Sunday.
Stamp comes in to centre back with CiarƔn Kenny moving to corner back. Paul Roche resumes his customary position. Harry Kehoe starts at mid-field where he will be assisted by Colm Farrell.
Noel Carton, the young Cloughbawn man, retains the No. 1 jersey following a good league run between the posts.

Colm Bonnar and his selectors will be hoping to go one better than last year and gain promotion to Div. 1 but Clare will be a stern challenge as they also will be hoping to make a quick return to Div. 1.

Everyone in Wexford is encouraged to travel to Thurles for this important game to cheer on the Wexford men. The throw-in is at 5pm. in Semple Stadium. Following this game supporters will get the opportunity to see the Div. 1 Final Galway v Cork so a great evening of hurling lies ahead of us.

Wexford (SH v Clare): 1. Noel Carton, 2. Paul Roche, 3. Keith Rossiter, 4. CiarƔn Kenny, 5. Richie Kehoe, 6. Darren Stamp, 7. Malachy Travers, 8. Harry Kehoe, 9. Colm Farrell, 10. Andrew Shore, 11. Eoin Quigley, 12. Diarmuid Lyng, Capt.13. Rory Jacob, 14. Stephen Banville, 15. Peter Atkinson.

Iā€™m not sure about CiarĆ”n Kenny corner back but if Travers is playing then it simply must be in the half back line or in midfield - heā€™s way too loose to be in the corner and I hope we donā€™t change Kenny and Travers at the start. Molloy can probably count himself quite unlucky not to get the start. Otherwise, itā€™s along expected lines and itā€™s important that Roche and Stamp are fit. Iā€™m not sure about Rossiter - he came off injured in Cork at the weekend, initial reports suggested he was out for Sunday but heā€™s named anyway. Farrell apparently tweaked his hamstring playing club football last Friday night but heā€™s selected too.

Minor hurlers are starting their campaign away to Offaly in Tullamore on Saturday too. Theyā€™ve a good chunk of last yearā€™s team, including some of the better lads, so they should be competitive anyway. Whether it will be enough to end our ridiculously long 25-year drought and win a Leinster championship remains to be seen. Iā€™m not actually sure if this is straight knock-out or if the losers just get a harder next game or whatever - does anyone know? Our first game last year against Dublin was definitely a quarter final anyway.

No Molloy - shocking bias against a developing smaller club.

Bonnar out! :guns: :guns: :guns: :guns:

He shouldnā€™t be let near a microphone anyway - the thick bogger. What is it with recent Wexford managers making absolute dickheads out of themselves every time a national journalist approaches?

Winner goes into the semi final and the loser plays the winner of westmeath/laois.

The first player from Duncannon to play hurling for Wexford?

:clap: :clap: :clap:

Absolutely damn straight bang on there Bandage. I couldnā€™t believe the shit Bonner was coming out with during the week, noting that the challenge games had done more for the team than the league. So losing to Carlow wasnā€™t in any way significant? It smacked of an arrogance that Wexford hurling has no right to have, an assumption that we deserve to be in the top flight based on who we are. Its bollox and I know no Wexford supprter who thinks the same way. Your post would pretty much sum up the attitude among Wexford supportters Bandage.

If we canā€™t get out of Div 2, then how can we claim to be a top flight hurling county? Learning from challenge games against good hurling counties means nothing if you canā€™t handle Div 2. Whats next? We lose in Leinster and Bonner reckons we should be moved to Ulster? For fucks sake.

I saw Bonner in action when I was at WRTC and trained under him (for a very short time) and he seemed a good operator. But heā€™s making an utter balls of the Wexford job. Iā€™ve always advocated bringing a foreign manager into Wexford as I thought it wouold broaden our horizons. But now the decision to rid us of John Meyler seems more and more stupid.

Because Iā€™ve just posted that, Wexford will now naturally go to Thurles and hockey seven shades of shit out of Clare and we will triumphantly return to the top flight, where apparently we belong.

No need for thanks lads, Iā€™ll be posting my predictions for Wexfordā€™s run in the championship soon.

Well Mark is about two miles from Duncannon.

He uncle, Andy Doyle, also lined out for Wexford in the 1970s, a fact that was not recorded in the Wexford GAA bible as far as I can see.

Familiar with duncannon KIB?

They get a 2nd chance alright, possibly a 3rd.

I believe in the situation is for Cork that to win the All-Ireland and Munster they could quite concieveably have to beat Tipp 3 times. Iā€™m open to correction, but i think Tipp get 2nd chance in Munster, should still get to final, could lose (or win in fact) and meet Cork again in All-Ireland as both finalists go through.

I think. And presume its same in Leinster.

It isnā€™t a Bonner type ā€œgood hurling coachā€ ye need, which iā€™ve heard as you say he very much is Fitzy. Ye need an overall thinker, ala Donal Oā€™ Grady, Cody type guy. A county manager in the overall sense that John Evans is to Tipp football.

As a Wexford man Iā€™d presume he is.

Bandage and the rest of the Wexford mafia here would know better Kev, but I think you might have a point. Someone to tell the county boad what he wants and expecting to get it.

Kev, I agree with you on Bonnar - heā€™s meant to be a decent coach but heā€™s not a good organiser at all. Heā€™s a bit scattered and stuff. We need somebody with a long term plan and vision and who commands respect and who is a hard bastard.

didnt realise KIB was wexican

Ya, John Evans is the standard for everything you asked for there, and an incredibly hard worker to boot. Iā€™ve a mate involved with Tipp development football and he said Evans is absolutely unreal for detail and for going to games, heā€™s gone to Junior B games if a clubs first team is B, just in case.

Ladies and gentlemen, I give you, Ger Loughnaneā€¦