Wexford GAA 2010

Youā€™re just jealous because Peterā€™s students were better looking and fondled more often.

no, no im not.

2 Oylegate lads on the team-3 altogether on the panel!!!
Ah here, is politics and nepotism gone from Wexford hurling or what.

only 2 oulart and no rathnure ā€¦ the times they are a changinā€¦

Half time score:

Wexford 2-13 Carlow 0-3.

Goals by James Gahan and Jamie Reck.

:clap: :clap: :clap:

Gaffer Dempsey may have sabotaged the late Jimmy Rocheā€™s GAA Presidency campaign back in the day but his service to Wexford GAA should not be underestimated.

Wexford win by 2-17 to 2-13.

Not sure what the fook happened in the second half.

Fuck me thats some come back

Iā€™m not worried. The final is in Parnell Park I believe.

Fuck me Dublin won :clap: :clap:

Appendage, I see youā€™re online - any thoughts on the Wexford GAA scene? I know you know somebody close to the U21 hurling panel and I know you know somebody close to the senior hurling and football panels too.

This will be a 50/50 game after last yearā€™s nip and tuck, end to end game where all the action was at the Wexford end.

Is it definitely on in Parnell Park? The game last year was on there and we played you there in 2007 too, if I recall correctly. I donā€™t think thereā€™s a home and away agreement in that case so it may simply be Dublin jamming the draw all the time.

big wind, but the ref was diabolical, 2 players clearly fouled for carlows second goal.

we hit the crossbar twice in ten seconds int eh second half.

ill do a full report later.

Nice one. :clap:

Ah sure itā€™s great. Sure arenā€™t the lads all enjoying themselves. A comprehensive victory over Carlow tonight, sets it up nicely for a run at the Dubs. In this instance I think the home advantage is indeed an advantage as it is a mid week fixture and as such the travelling players will have to take a half and then travel up. It should be in Kilkenny or at the weekend. Very unfair on Wexford lads to be expected to plan a drinking session for a Wednesday night when a Sat night would be far more suitable. Not much craic rockin into the stores at midnight on a Wednesday night. These are the important things. Winning or losing is irrelevant.

You know I know these people? Thatā€™s gas. Luckily there are a few other posters on here with similar and probably more relevant contacts so Iā€™d rather sit back and enjoy their musings.

Whoā€™s Cleary? He wasnā€™t listed was he?

good enough crowd in the park tonight id hazard a guess at about 800 to 1000.

anyway the game, took a while for both teams to get into it with carlow drawing first blood, from some fine free taking by their centre abck into teeth of a strong enough wind coming from the cloanrd end.

One of the failings of the wexford team tonight was the inability to garner primary possession in the half forward line, whilst they did some good work they were quite ineffective in the air.

tHe midfield were far superior harry kehoe showing his class with some fine scores from play in the first half. His partner in midfield eoin moore of oulart was excellent also, some great free taking and an assured touch, i would have him as motm.

The defence was stong enough, the half back line fared better than the full back line. Donnelly the full back fomr barntown didnt seem comfortable all game and was called ashore after being moved wing back.

Personally i thought the ref had a poor game from a wexford point of view, the carlow centre forward clearly stamping on a wexford player at one stage. The first goal they scored was sloppy work from the keeper, and then the ball was bundled over the line.

the scoreline clouds how much more superior wexford were in the game tonight, gahan was good in the FF line, liam og didnt see much ball. like i said half forward line werent great.

Andrew shore dropped from the panel for discipline reasons, anyone know whats going on?

Poor dicipline*

Iā€™ll get my coat (heā€™s been boozin)

apologies my typing is far from fantastic.

Thanks for that, count. I think Harry Kehoeā€™s found his feet at senior level this season so itā€™s good to see him dominating in U21. Iā€™m waiting on Moore to really break through - heā€™s the best Wexford youngster Iā€™ve seen coming through in a while. It doesnā€™t look like an overly impressive team on paper but the win tonight is very welcome all the same.

I agree with Appendage on the midweek and travel points. This team suffered the debacle of not being let into Thurles for the League Finals so the least the county board could do is take the long match day journey out of the equation and put them up in a Dublin city hotel for a few nights in advance. The Jackson Court Hotel would be ideal for this purpose.

Thatā€™s a cracking suggestion Bandage, Wexford have a number of players from the Dublin institutions on board so Iā€™m sure they will be very familiar with the venue. Tremendous value to be had there on mid-week accomodation. I propose you forward your suggestion to CLG at Wexford Park. Iā€™m sure there will be one or two takers down there.