Wexford GAA 2010

Dubs up by 1

Dublin 1-16 Wexford 1-15 FT

Yet another great day for stick stick in the capital.

:lol: :lol: :lol:
:clap: :clap: :clap:

Conceded 1-1 in injury time to lose by a point. What a disaster.

You could see it coming really. Even the young fellows in Wexford have no backbone.

Some dose for Wexford. Iā€™d have liked to see them win it. Iā€™ve had my fill of this ā€˜Dublin revolutionā€™ shit at this stage.

fuckety fuck fuck.

is there a minor qualifier system?

In the provincials only. Wexford are gone now. 25 years since they won a Leinster championship.

So the all conquering team that won the Tony Forrestal in 2006, the U15 the following year and the Arrabawn thing after that have gone out to Dublin.

For fuck sake.

Where do we go from here?

I repeat, for fuck sake.

WELL FUCK.

Absolutely shocking that Kilkenny have won 18 of the last 22 Leinster minor championships. But for Dublin thereā€™d be no opposition to them at all.

That was the greatest dose of shite I have ever seen. Our half forwards barely won a single puck out. Our 2 corner forwards were worse than shite. Byrne and Kenny in midfield carried the team for most of the match. Byrne was injured with 10 mins left and could barely walk and was left on. His man proceeded to gather ball and run at our backs and set up scores at will. Iā€™ve never been as disgusted coming out of a game and Iā€™m never one to point the finger at the management but this game was lost on the line. We brought Jack Guiney on at half time and when he was doing ok at wing forward he was moved into full forward where he didnā€™t touch the ball. Diarmuid Oā€™Keefe barely got a sniff. The Dublin centre back won every ball that came within 20 yards of him - the Wexford lad marking him, Conor Hughes, was one of the greatest shapers Iā€™ve ever seen.

We had them there for the taking but some very strange switches were made in the last 20 mins. We disrupted the backs by taking off Gareth Foley who was doing well to bring on Cathal Clince. Denis Jones was moved from wing back to corner back to allow Clince play wing back. Iā€™ve no idea why they bothered?

Lee Chin, Ian Byrne and Aaron Kenny were the pick of our lads and showed some promise. Conor Oā€™Leary in goal and Gareth Foley were both fairly solid as well. Apart from Gary Moore, the other 5 forwards are barely worth mentioning.

Bit harsh to call the young lad a shaper, I reckon. I mentioned our inability to win ball in the half forward line when I posted at half time too and that didnā€™t really improve much despite the half time change. I was actually wondering beforehand if that forward lineup would have enough scoring power to trouble better teams as I didnā€™t see too much real class outside of Oā€™Keeffe and Moore but I was encouraged by them putting up 3-20 or whatever it was against Offaly. However, we did struggle to make a great impression in a fair few of the forward positions. Oā€™Keeffe got two nice points, one in each half, but was held well for the most part, and it was effectively Moore and Ian Byrne in midfield who carried nearly all the scoring threat.

I thought our backs were pretty good overall. Conor Goff was excellent at full back and didnā€™t deserve to be on the losing side - the guy he snuffed out of the game is apparently the next big thing in Dublin hurling. Lee Chin was firmly in charge at centre back and the two corner backs were sticky enough too. Byrne and Aaron Kenny had the better of midfield also but it was our failure to win primary possession upfront that cost us. We really should have seen that game out in truth.

It is an embarrassment that we havenā€™t won a Leinster Minor since 1985. And today was particularly disappointing given this teamā€™s victories as they progressed up through the age ranks. Itā€™s also pretty demoralising that the likes of Oā€™Connor, Dempsey, Byrne, Dunne and Storey havenā€™t been able to oversee a title winning campaign over the past number of years - if they canā€™t, then who can? The bigger picture is that we need to be bringing a few of these lads through to the senior team in the next few years - the likes of Ian Byrne, Diarmuid Oā€™Keeffe, Conor Goff and Lee Chin are capable of making the step up.

Wexford Scorers: Gary Moore 1-5 (0-4F), Ian Byrne 0-6 (0-3F, 0-1 65), Diarmuid Oā€™Keeffe 0-2, Conor Hughes 0-1, Syl Barron 0-1.

Finally, Dublin had a chap called ā€˜Naoiseā€™ playing midfield.

Heard London won this by a pointā€¦anyone see it, how did the Clare lads hurl???

I only arrived in time for the Wexford/Dublin game but there were very violent scenes outside the ground - the London and Roscommon supporters were involving in running battles up and down the Malahide Road. London have a particularly violent firm of hooligans but the Roscommon casuals were more than holding their own.

No doubt Frankie Dolan was in the middle of it

Not harsh at all - he was pulling across the Dublin centre back long before the ball was even thrown in. He then proceeded to mess up the majority of the ball that came to him. He set up the goal but it was a horrible handpass. The Dublin centre back was their best back by a mile and a lot of that was down to the lad he was marking. Harsh to be criticizing young lads but if heā€™s going to act the bollix then he has to be called up on it.

How did Sutcliffe and Kilkenny play for the Dubs? Both are supposed to be the big new things in Dublin hurling.

Sutcliffe is the centre back I referred to a couple of times - cleaned everything up that came within 10 yards of him. The Wexford management told Ian Byrne to hit a free out wide late on to avoid Sutcliffe catching another high ball in his own square. Kilkenny was shite enough but the Wexford full back hurled well on him. Presume heā€™s a lot better than he showed today.

Sutcliffe ripped Wexford apart.

I didnā€™t think our centre forward was acting the bollix given the centre back drove the hurl into him before throw in first. I donā€™t think that Sutcliffe lad will be a stand out beyond this level. Heā€™s big, strong and powerful but has a very slow striking motion and doesnā€™t have much pace either. Heā€™s also a bit of a mouthpiece, like he was when we played them last year, but heā€™ll hopefully grow out of that.