Ye have hurlers comeing so no panic i say
āLook, we win together and we lose together,ā he sighed. āItās been four years there of a lot of hard work. I got huge commitment from the players to be fair. Where it goes from here, I donāt know.ā
Does he want to continue?
āLook sure hurling is my life,ā he said. "Last year, I was given two years if I wanted it. Iāve another year left. Diarmuid Devereaux (county chairman) is the boss. If he wants Liam Dunne to stay 'til the end of 2016, Iāll be more than willing to do that. Look JJ Doyle is doing really well with the U-21s, theyāre in another Leinster final next Wednesday night and hopefully those boys will pick it up as well.
āWeāll have our best U-21 team next year. If they donāt want me to stay on, Iāll go out to grass like the restā¦ā
His voice tails off. It seems inconceivable that Wexford would countenance parting company with Dunne but he knows better than anyone that this has been a lost year. After the 24-points hammering by Kilkenny in Nowlan Park, they needed to rediscover the best of themselves on Saturday evening. And that simply did not happen.
Wexford do have talent, but need someone more effective as manager.
Martin Storey is managing a team in Kildare this year. Would he be a good manager of the Wexford county team?
Christ no! would be an utter disaster if he got it. He was a disaster with minor county teams after Dunne, although its not as if Dunne was anything spectacular with them either.
If a managers job is to care about their own image and not how his team performs then heād be the outstanding candidate. He used manage minor teams and spend more time talking to lads in the crowd than watching the game.
Who wrote this piece?
Why would it seem inconceivable Wexford would countenance parting with Dunne?
We havenāt progressed we have simply had better players.
Thereās a huge clamor for JJ but this man also lost an U21 Semi final to Antrim, i imagine there will be the usual bullshit committee set up.
I am currently a maybe for Owenbeg as club commitments are currently intruding.
It was an extract from Vincent Hoganās match report in the Irish Indepedent yesterday.
Brendan Furlong has called for a new team coach to be appointed in todayās Wexford People.
Meanwhile, Big Dave Power has confirmed he wonāt be adding any hurlers to his football panel in the local paper today too:
āIt has been mentioned to me over the weekend regarding some hurlers coming into the squad. At this stage of the championship that is just not feasibleā¦We have a very good squad, players who want to play football for Wexford. To change anything at this stage, we would be in a no-win situation. No, we are sticking with the squad that has been available to us all season.ā
Wexford have no injury concerns, according to BDP. Shane Roche should be fit after retiring injured against Down.
David Power is really starting to grow on me (not literally mind). Heās clearly an accountant with his measured and intelligent approach to issues.
Heās a bloody great guy.
Why would the Orangies be having a go at Wexford? Sure arenāt there more members of the Chutney Making Community in Wexford than anywhere else in the 26?
If any of my wexfordian pals get into hassle or drive their 96 wx jettas down the wrong road I hope they have the cop on to say they know Mac/yatesy, he might even be kind enough to put up a few instructions on how to give the secret handshake. Why is this game being played in a centre of excellence in a place Iāve never heard of?
Because itās in South Derry and access from the South is predominantly via nationalist heartlands bar the odd loyalist hellhole. Derry City is a further 45 minutes north and it could be tasty there and in some other loyalist hellholes on that route on the day before the 12th.
I should have known that having bought a car from an ardent nationalist garage in maghera before. See will Mac give you the lend of a Rangers/sevco Jersey just in case pal.
Do they have barbeques on the 11th or something
These nasty boys could abduct me.
Vtot?
The only Rangers jersey I have is Moyne Rangers and that wonāt be much use to him
Moyne Rangers, another shower of cunts.
Village Team on Tour.
It could get propah nawty on Saturday. Iāll be watching some Danny Dyer films on Friday night.
Make sure to bring Stanley with you down to there manorā¦