Wexford GAA 2016

Could anyone muster up a team out of all the players who were injured / unavailable for today?

Mossy is not involved.

He was good.

Itā€™s amazing how we allowed ourselves to lose ao many first half puck outs. It was a carbon copy of the first half against offaly. Execpt they are utterly gash. We learned nothing.

Not worth the effort. A couple of starters, the rest would stengthen the squad but not massively better than those starting.

If Iā€™ve learned nothing else from this campaign its that Mark Fanning is maturing into a good keeper with his previous jitterness now gone. However, his puckouts still need a huge amount of work.

I donā€™t agree.

Impact injuries and cruciates can happen regardless.

His puck outs are grand. Travelling 80/90 m into a stiff breeze. The problem is a) we donā€™t contest at all and b) if we do contest we are oblivious to the fact that it may break.

He pucked a short puckout to MOH in the first half that was about 2 yards above his head

Heā€™s always at that. Iā€™m not buying that Fanning is decent until he goes a year without doing such idiotic things.

Left the Clare Galway game at HT yesterday. Managed to pick up south east radio for the Sports Hour. Dunne says heā€™ll go if the county board tells him to go. He said last year everyone werenā€™t wanting him to stay but he managed to stay on anyway.

Lads inside the county like JJ Doyle are not the answer I donā€™t think. Neither is Mullally.

What about Deccie Wall in Good Counsel to take over?

Heā€™s done well at club level I think and would be a good combination of a fitness coach and skills coach.

Iā€™m not sure who is the answer to be honest. JJ should have been the one to come through but he has shown some massive faults with his 21 sides too. Is it a case of taking the positives rather than the negatives? Hope he learned from mistakes? Maybe so. His time was certainly no worse than Dunne when he was over the minors anyway. Tom Mullally is hard to know by. And even Frank Flannery getting his name into the mix, but he was involved with the worst Cork team in living history this year.

Also, will the county board actually get rid of him? Deverouxā€™s time is up this year so whoever does get the gig, their first port of call is to evaluate the senior football and hurling management. Would whoever gets the job have the balls in their first test to get rid of both managers in one fell swoop?

When will the Co. Board see senseā€¦ there is only one man for this job

LUKE Oā€™HANLON

JJ seemed like the answer but if heā€™s involved in the training, along with Mullally, then they should be held accountable for the shocking game plan and skills of the U21 team because they were every bit and bad as the seniors.

JJ, it would appear, won soft enough Leinsters with a talented team.

We are a hard County to fathom i think we need a ā€œplayerā€™s manā€ of a manager and in addition to that a very good coach, there has been too much shite going on re the panel in recent years. The players have to begin to enjoy playing again, heard awful reports about training this year.

Itā€™s not supposed to be a holiday camp but you should be raring to go to training and not openly dreading it.

Heard David Power was offered 2 more years alsoā€¦a FUCKIN JOKE

We all know the county board doesnā€™t give two fucks about football.

Canā€™t see the logic in retaining him. There must be former players, etc that want a shot at it.

Outside of John Nolan, who must be retained by St Jamesā€™ at all costs, would there be anyone else obvious in the county to replace him.

For the hurlers we need what every County needs, someone like Cody who doesnā€™t give a fuck what the players think but just emphasis to them that they have to prove it that they are worth their place on the team, have to win their own ball and sort themselves out.

thatā€™s the last thing we need. There are already at least 3 players not playing because of this very mentality Dunne needs. Yeah we can go on about pandering to players and all that shit, but it doesnt have to be so black and white. There are ways to get players involved and playing hard without being a cunt to lads about it. We dont have the luxury of saying to players ā€œgo win your own ballā€ like Kilkenny did. You are talking about probably the greatest team there ever was, multiple AI winners and all stars. If it was as easy as saying ā€œwin your own ball and fuck up whingingā€ then everyone would be great. Unfortunately itā€™s not and what we need is someone who knows what they want and how to play to our strengths. Realistically, we only have one player good enough to win their own ball in the forwards (or 2 if Chin stays centre forward), so how do we work the other 4 around that?

In saying the U21s were as bad as the seniors, last year there was a huge contrast between the seniors and 21s and how they played. Not every manager comes out and starts with success, you need losses to learn. Has he learned enough to mean those mistakes would be fewer? I dont know. It certainly didnt help Dunne anyway after his fuck ups at minor when he carried them through to senior.

For the purposes of the internet Iā€™m backing Frank Flannery.

Superb track record with the exception of Cork this year - which on the outside at least looked like an absolutely impossible situation.

I also think there needs to be a serious clear out of the top table.

I donā€™t fathom how Power could be offered a two year term after what heā€™s delivered. I donā€™t buy the fact that the top table doesnā€™t care about football. Devereux is a Dub and furthermore there are a load of votes to be won by pandering to the football followers.

And Cody, while he is Cody, has and has had superb lieutenants since he brought Fogarty and Dempsey on board. Now he has Lyng and McGarry. They are far more sophisticated than go and win your own ball, granted they do that too.

I talking about a culture change though. I get you point about the current team but the attitude for the last ten years from the players seems to be to focus on the negatives and pack it in rather than refocus their efforts.

I donā€™t mean someone to disregard them and dictate to them in Hitler-esque fashion but to foster that message to them and get them working a collective squad unit rather than dwell on their own predicaments.

Of the current players that have withdrawn from the squad that would only piss off Guiney.