Wexford GAA 2023 🐐

Jesus lads we’re both absolutely shite.

The run of winning a first round game before coming a cropper against the Dubs grinds to a halt after the 2021 win over Wicklow and last years defeat of Offaly. Wides were killers todays when in the ascendancy in the first half. As were the absentees. Hard to replace players like Liam Coleman, Eoin Porter and of course Martin O’ Connor. Who was marking that Mark Barry fella who scored 2-4?

It’s odd to think you’re better off losing a championship game, but no harm to avoid the inevitable hiding from Dublin for a third Leinster championship in a row. I probably don’t need to keep prefacing comments by saying I’m not following things closely, but we seem to be very much a Timmy Talcum Cup side. Just lack quality & depth & can’t afford to be without key players. Coleman was the big one for me, I thought our promotion chances went when he was injured for the league. Think they rushed him back for one of the early games & he must have aggravated the same injury. Wouldn’t have helped to have the keeper cry off before the game today either, he’s usually deadly accurate from long range frees & presume his restarts are good?

2 players injured in the warm up also.

Pa Doyle is Starlight goalie, but Anto Larkin from same club in goal for us yesterday. What’s that all about?

Goalies aren’t allowed play intercounty football anymore

Was Craig McCabe not in goal yesterday?

No, Larkin was.

McCabe played in goal, I was up at the match. As for Doyle/ Larkin, Doyle has retired or left the panel himself he’s good enough to still be involved, Larkin was on minor/ u20 teams in goal when he was that age and is good keeper too.

Cairde Loch Garman is an awful waste of money.

Pay @Gavin’s salary and fuck off

Few lads got injured in warm up apparently hence the further changes

Furlong & Rossiter were injured in the warm up, but they seem to have gotten the keeper change wrong when Darragh Brooks was ruled out.

Keepers may have had incorrect numbers on.

Makes sense. Cairde Loch Garman shall be kept.

The mother who was from the Nire never tired of that saying. One day we were coming home from the 77 Munster Final, the one where the full back got put off for hitting the umpire. The father, Tommy Galvin, Bob Galvin and myself. We were coming into Carrick and had to stop the car because two lads were bating the shite out of each other in the middle of the road. Bob was a big burly man and got out of the car to break it up. Got back in job done and said Father and son.

Aughrim coldest county ground I was ever in. We’re up on Wicklow minor footballers 0:4-0:1 at half time. Against considerable breeze in second half.

Bet 0:10-0:7

Fortress Aughrim

Is it true Oisin Pepper didn’t play yesterday? I see the Rapps lads on Facebook giving out about it.