What's your newspaper of choice?

we have the Sindo are cunts thread and woeful journalism thread, both good and necessary threads that reflect the balance of opinion on here but i cant remember us ever having a thread about what papers we read.

Out here in Israel i have the english version of Ha’aretz delivered to my door wednesday, thursday, friday and sunday, no papers here on saturday. This highbrow affair is a rather anti establishment and critical of the Likud government and their policies with a slightly socialist agenda, that at times can be a little offputting. it contains my favourite Israeli columnist Gideon Levi who takes a very leftfield approach on proceedings, so much so that an article recently appeared in a Haredim paper saying he was descended from the nazis… this is an example however is what makes this country a complete madhouse…

The english print alternatives are few and far between, the english version of the jerusalem post is a pro government rag, of the herbew media i struggle to read ( or get herself to read to me) articles from Yedioth Ahranot, a mass circuation that is esential for catching up on local sports matters. I forgot to add the Ha’aretz also comes with the International Herald that keeps me abreast of important issues like the war in syria and stock markets

In Ireland, id be an examiner man on Monday morning, that is it apart from saturday where i buy the Indo ( tabloid version) and the Racing Post…

The Sporting Press.

thought you’d be a L’equipe man Dunph…

Guardian.

and the Imokilly people, you alays struck me as a fella who’d write the Castlemartyr GAA notes

The Irish Times
The Sydney Morning Herald
The Guardian
The Washington Post

All read online apart from Saturdays Hearld which I actually get to read as a physically printed paper.

How many of you actually buy a newpaper rather than read it online? Do any of you pay for online access? I used to pay for the Irish Times when that was necessary, I’d be happy to pay for it again as well.

you’re fair nosy, ain’tcha? whassit matter whassit is? :guns:

Oh, and the Wexford People of course.

i buy Ha’aretz fitzy, paid subscription for the delivery to the door at 5 am
id read the RP online and sometimes the Indo, TBH i find it very difficullt to read the paper online, i cant focus or relax
in ireland id always buy it, i spend too much time online here and working all day in front of a screen so its a break really

oh, when i was living in the states, i used to read the Oregonian and buy Sports Illustrated.
This with World Soccer is the only magazine i would ever buy, but i dont want to digress here

I keep the Sporting Press in the jacks and would read it in the space of a week just in time for my next edition which is delivered to the door every Saturday.

It is my contention that some of the great decisions in history were made by men sitting on the jacks while reading a newspaper. I can just imagine FDR reading a day old copy of the London Times and saying to himself something along the lines of “we must become the great arsenal of democracy, if only to ensure there is enough bog roll for me as there is none at present” or the Dunph deciding what to lay for tomorrows card at Punchestown.

(apologies if my knowledge of the technical terms of horse racing are deficient there Dunph, but you get the picture).

The Irish times basically had to buy them because if they lost their business from the printing press they were bollixed.

Has this received CCPC approval?

Well they can hardly object after they let INM buy up the whole industry

Mother’s may be good to come out of it. Hopefully they will tell Terry crone and Fergus financial their columns are no longer required.