Where is cool now or on the way up? Where and why do you think so?
My own conclusions.
Ballsbridge is ancient. It’s full of oldies or the children of oldies. It’s soul is hidden in massive houses instead of bounding down the streets which is what it would be doing if it were cool.
It’s now just an area to drive through on the way to somwehere else.
The IFSC is the capital of social housing with blocks of boring apartments and no soical culture what so ever. The Harbour master is the only decent pub.
Grand Canal Dock is a business area with apartments. Again, no social community spirit here. Just cunts.
So to the new cool areas.
Stoneybatter. Old red brick houses. people out on the streets. Good bars.
Ranelagh. It’s peaking though. IT’s cool at the moment but I think it’s about as cool as it will be.
Rathmines was ruined by the large stores plonked in the middle of it.
Harolds cross may be cool in a few years.
Overall, I think the most potential is for Stoneybatter/Arbour Hill type area, which is very cheap to buy in which shows that ti’s not considered cool but in the future I think it’s go the best potential.
The Law types, Pheonix park and above all Arbour hill cemetary where I go to ask advice from Padraig Pearse and James Connolly on all sorts of matters.
This 10 minute cycle to o’connell street talk only. Talk of Howth or Dalkey is not allowed.
I’m thinking that we may be getting close (maybe another 10-15%) to the bottom of the market and I’m looking to make a quick killing off some poor bugger forced to sell up.
I just want that poor bugger to be living in an area that will leap in price by 2020 and therefore make GSH even more money so I can buy more ridiculous things.
I sat last night in an inner city pub for a pint with some old lads watching the news. They seemed miserable and down on their luck. I wanted to ask them if they may be better off just selling up and moving to some nice home where they can play bridge with people who they won’t remember the next day. I know you may think that it can’t be a cool place if there a re a rake of old lads taking up bar space, but I’m thinking in 10 years. All these old lads will be playing hide’n’seek in the ground in Glasnevin by then.
Was there a summer Jambouree this year or is it still just Bangage, Rocko and Cese meeting up in the 51 for sneaky round robin hand jobs?
I’m thinking that we may be getting close (maybe another 10-15%) to the bottom of the market and I’m looking to make a quick killing off some poor bugger forced to sell up.
I just want that poor bugger to be living in an area that will leap in price by 2020 and therefore make GSH even more money so I can buy more ridiculous things.
I sat last night in an inner city pub for a pint with some old lads watching the news. They seemed miserable and down on their luck. I wanted to ask them if they may be better off just selling up and moving to some nice home where they can play bridge with people who they won’t remember the next day. I know you may think that it can’t be a cool place if there a re a rake of old lads taking up bar space, but I’m thinking in 10 years. All these old lads will be playing hide’n’seek in the ground in Glasnevin by then.
Was there a summer Jambouree this year or is it still just Bangage, Rocko and Cese meeting up in the 51 for sneaky round robin hand jobs?
Yours in Capitalism,
GSH[/quote]
The freak turds on propertypin.ie might offer some advice.
would actually consider up around the stoneybatter area one of the worst places in Dublin city…full of dirtbags and also some serious bogey boozers between there and the park…sandymount or clontarf are where its at…
Nei takk.
I’m not ACTUALLY looking to buy anywhere. I already own a house.
I’ve just been spending a lot of time in Dublin city this summer in various places and noticed the craic in various places against the complete boredom in other places.
Chapelizod. Nice little village. Bit of an out of town feel to it but only 10-15 minutes from the city centre. Decent bus service. Right next to Phoenix park.
Yep. Agreed. I cycled down there a few weeks ago and sat in teh memorial gardens. Nice bike route down by the liffey and you can fire stones at the lads rowing up the river. That Pheonix Park is a great place to spend an afternoon.
More of these artsy, scarf wearing, “we play table fussball in the office on Fridays” cunts will be trying to move into my neighbourhood and therefore pushing rents up in the process.
Dublin mountains is where its at. I recently moved to dublin 18. I can see howth head and killiney from my spacious modern pad, its quiet, clean, and chock full of young professionals like myself while being safely away from knob jockeys in foxrock and the hidden scum element in ballyogan and kilcross. The air is majestic up here.
More of these artsy, scarf wearing, “we play table fussball in the office on Fridays” cunts will be trying to move into my neighbourhood and therefore pushing rents up in the process.[/QUOTE]
Do you not live in the slum of the Southside ringsend?