Will you give money to Charity this Christmas?

Unbelieveable reading here.

I put 1.62 in a bucket marked “Bombay Houses Appeal” which was being comandeered by schoolkids helping to pack bags in Tesco earlier. Sampat is probably down the local bazaar tucking into a lobster dinner on it already thanks to Western Union. :mad:

Woody’s post about the ESB was a funny one, who the fook do they take us for:rolleyes:!! I love the way they use conventional bulbs in their arguement, I thought they were banned/in the process of being banned.

Benshermin I can understand because he’s a right wing loonball but are the rest of ye really taking Ian O’Doherty’s word at face value. He’s nothing but a bigoted, closed-minded cunt.

St VdeP don’t do cash. They do vouchers. They change to Smyths vouchers near Christmas if there’s kids and they do food in vouchers and in actual foodstuffs.

[quote=“Rocko”]Benshermin I can understand because he’s a right wing loonball but are the rest of ye really taking Ian O’Doherty’s word at face value. He’s nothing but a bigoted, closed-minded cunt.

St VdeP don’t do cash. They do vouchers. They change to Smyths vouchers near Christmas if there’s kids and they do food in vouchers and in actual foodstuffs.[/quote]

Rocko knows the score

O’Doherty is nothing but a fat self serving cunt

I smell a rat with that ODoherty cunt
I was in the VDeP in my younger days. Was in the NOrth Inner City and there was no money given out. Helped families pay heating bills, food hampers at christmas, painted and decorated flats, coal, clothes, uniforms and books for kids.
I put my money where my mouth is and I made a donation to them yesterday despite having read that article by the tosser.

MGG- why shouldn’t the VDeP invest money to safeguard a minimum cashflow level in the future? I’d call that prudent management of the charity

A right wing fool who gives money to charities that actually help people in need!!

My spare coins actually help people, lives get saved at sea, blind people get best friends/seeing eyes in the form of dogs, and the REAL homeless get warm soup on freezing cold nights like tonight. RNLI, Guide Dogs and Simon respectively.

Maybe one day you too can get a seeing eye dog, because you’re obviously blind to any fraud that goes on in working class areas. A hell of a lot of those Smyths vouchers will just go towards the half price selling of Smyths toys down Sheriff Street or the like so that a single mother can inject herself with Heroin over the Christmas even though we are paying for her to have Methadone treatment in our taxes.

The Majority of people who actually need help off the SVdeP this Christmas will be too humble to ask for it. Fact!

[quote=“BenShermin”]A right wing fool who gives money to charities that actually help people in need!!

My spare coins actually help people, lives get saved at sea, blind people get best friends/seeing eyes in the form of dogs, and the REAL homeless get warm soup on freezing cold nights like tonight. RNLI, Guide Dogs and Simon respectively.

Maybe one day you too can get a seeing eye dog, because you’re obviously blind to any fraud that goes on in working class areas. A hell of a lot of those Smyths vouchers will just go towards the half price selling of Smyths toys down Sheriff Street or the like so that a single mother can inject herself with Heroin over the Christmas even though we are paying for her to have Methadone treatment in our taxes.

The Majority of people who actually need help off the SVdeP this Christmas will be too humble to ask for it. Fact![/quote]

What a load of cock Ben
I was in the VDeP and that is not what goes on

[quote=“W.B. Yeats”]What a load of cock Ben
I was in the VDeP and that is not what goes on[/quote]

The credibily of VDeP is shot now, WBY, and, by extension, yours too.

[quote=“W.B. Yeats”]What a load of cock Ben
I was in the VDeP and that is not what goes on[/quote]
Well than you have to say that Rocko is talking a load of cock aswell, there’s a big difference between actual books/toys etc. than vouchers. Nobody seems to have a fooking clue what they actually do to be honest by the opinions on this thread.

[quote=“W.B. Yeats”]

MGG- why shouldn’t the VDeP invest money to safeguard a minimum cashflow level in the future? I’d call that prudent management of the charity[/quote]

Did I say they shouldn’t?

I repeated my own direct personal experience of the VdeP, I’m happy to provide the address and the mm/yy if any internal auditors for the VdeP want to test.

And like you I support the local D12 VdeP conference, I merely changed the method of the transaction.

And I’m glad I did, and I’m only sorry I didn’t do it earlier.

I’d have thought any attack by O’Doherty would be almost an endorsement at this stage
Any reasonable person would view it as such

[quote=“W.B. Yeats”]I’d have thought any attack by O’Doherty would be almost an endorsement at this stage
Any reasonable person would view it as such[/quote]
IoD is a cunt, but I don’t see why he’d blatantly lie about a company and leave himself open to libel.

i thought I read this article ages ago…sounds very familiar…:confused:

especially from a crowd with deep pockets and the need for continued inflows

He speaks de’truth

[quote=“BenShermin”]A right wing fool who gives money to charities that actually help people in need!!

The Majority of people who actually need help off the SVdeP this Christmas will be too humble to ask for it. Fact![/quote]

So you give money to Simon but you won’t give vouchers for Smyths toys to the VdeP because you’re worried they’ll be sold on for herion? Did it occur to you that the odd homeless lad might have a drug or alcohol problem?

One of the things about Simon is that they don’t discriminate or require clean policies etc for their users. That separates them from other homeless charities. You can argue for or against it, I personally think it’s a good idea because you won’t solve homelessness if you ignore those with drug/alcohol problems etc.

But please don’t preach ignorantly on here about VdeP money ending up with drug users and Simon money being untarnished.

Well done on mentioning the words “single mother” for no apparent reason too… you don’t have to pretend to be a Daily Mail journalist just to share their opinions.

[quote=“Rocko”]So you give money to Simon but you won’t give vouchers for Smyths toys to the VdeP because you’re worried they’ll be sold on for herion? Did it occur to you that the odd homeless lad might have a drug or alcohol problem?
One of the things about Simon is that they don’t discriminate or require clean policies etc for their users. That separates them from other homeless charities. You can argue for or against it, I personally think it’s a good idea because you won’t solve homelessness if you ignore those with drug/alcohol problems etc.

But please don’t preach ignorantly on here about VdeP money ending up with drug users and Simon money being untarnished.[/quote]
I don’t understand what you’re getting at here. Of course there are homeless with drug problems, but I don’t see how Simon are fueling the problem by giving them food or shelter. They can’t spend a bowl of soup, a second hand book and a chat on drugs.

I don’t see why any vouchers/cash should be given out by charities in Ireland tbh. We have generous social welfare in this country that people can live off, after bills, mortgages and the like, little money is left for food, people don’t need vouchers, people need food hampers, actual toys etc. Giving vouchers/cash leaves the door open for fraud.

The single mother arguement I admit just slipped out, of course they are not all drug users, and of course there are other drug users. It was just an example more than anything else, in the future I will not use examples in any of my posts as to not offend anybody.

[quote=“BenShermin”]I don’t understand what you’re getting at here. Of course there are homeless with drug problems, but I don’t see how Simon are fueling the problem by giving them food or shelter. They can’t spend a bowl of soup, a second hand book and a chat on drugs.

I don’t see why any vouchers/cash should be given out by charities in Ireland tbh. We have generous social welfare in this country that people can live off, after bills, mortgages and the like, little money is left for food, people don’t need vouchers, people need food hampers, actual toys etc. Giving vouchers/cash leaves the door open for fraud.

The single mother arguement I admit just slipped out, of course they are not all drug users, and of course there are other drug users. It was just an example more than anything else, in the future I will not use examples in any of my posts as to not offend anybody.[/quote]

Homeless persons Ben, or people suffering from homelessness. Not just homeless. :smiley:

Anyway the article was about cash, it was either wildly out of date, incorrect or invented I’d say. That’s what passes for “opinion journalism” these days.

Simon of course are not fuelling drug problems by giving food or shelter but if you think Smyths toys vouchers can facilitate drug use then you can bet that free food and accommodation is too. The real problems causing the drug abuse are outside of these sideshows anyway but it seems really bizarre to single out the Simon Community as benefactors for your donations if your goal is to keep them drug free. If you want to go to percentages you’ll find an awful lot more drug addicts among the people helped by the Simon Community than you would in the VdeP. But that doesn’t really suit your argument does it.

None of which I believe is particularly relevant anyway, I’m just addressing your points. If you’re going to give money to charity then do it. Adding strings like you don’t want single mothers or drug abusers getting it is nonsense. You’re penalising people for the symptoms of their problems, you’re not solving anything for anyone that way.

Finally a very high percentage of VdeP recipients this Christmas will be people in employment, can’t remember the exact figure. It’s not about social welfare, it’s about people finding themselves in circumstances that mean they can’t afford food, toys etc. If you think they don’t deserve help then fair enough but that’s a fairly narrow minded view of charity.

[quote=“W.B. Yeats”]I’d have thought any attack by O’Doherty would be almost an endorsement at this stage
Any reasonable person would view it as such[/quote]

I never liked him until a couple of months ago when he was recommending some superb album that I love. Can’t remember what it was but it was something that surprised and delighted me.

Ian’s alright.