Tal Ben Haim is still drawing a wage out of them too I think.
Surely it isn’t that hard to find out what age he is with medicals and the like
Tal Ben Haim is still drawing a wage out of them too I think.
Surely it isn’t that hard to find out what age he is with medicals and the like
According to sources in Drumcondra, St Luke’s has been “stripped bare” in recent weeks, a process which also saw the removal of a safe in the building in which Mr Ahern kept cash when he had no bank accounts following his marriage breakdown.
Local sources last week told the Sunday Independent that the safe was seen to “twist in the wind” as it was removed by use of a small crane in daylight hours, although this claim could not be verified yesterday.
Baz needs a job. Time for a fluff piece.
Fair play to him though. And what a revelation that he’ll always be there for his kids. If there was a nobel prize for fatherhood, he’d walk away with it.
Pulitzer standard stuff again from Niamh Horan.
Following from their discovery of the CRO during the week, the Indo did a trawl through the Vision net seeing who the directors of various companies were and managed to get 7 articles out of it today.
Kathryn Thomas has a company sitting on hefty cash reserves of 42k no less.
They refer to these people sitting on millions between. It’s ridiculous to think that this is news, these are highly paid people FFS sake. A combination of any 10 people in Bandage’s affluent suburb of Wexford would most likely accumulate to millions of euros.
Terrible, low life shit journalism.
In another thought, I was wondering how this fits in with Charlie McCreevy’s tax break for sports people. If the companies are signing the contracts then surely the player is not entitled to the tax refund as he’s a different person to the company and is earning the money from the company rather than the sporting body?
Or possibly they only put the revenue generated from endorsements and the like through the companies and sign the playing contracts as individuals. I’d imagine someone has thought of that before me though.
What are the benefits of forming a company for these dudes? Any tax consultant to enlighten me?
The corporation tax rate is lower than the income tax rate. You tit.
Aren’t you supposed to be an accountant? They can accumulate their earnings in the company and pay it out over a longer period of time to reduce tax exposure. They can also claim travel costs etc as an expense and deduct it from income before tax. Are you sure your an accountant?
That’s a ridicuous answer. The sort of shit I’d expect from you. So if Paul O’Connell’s company earns 100k he can take out 87.5k then? And not suffer any further tax on it. FFS sake.
As I understand it, if they get RTE to pay their company rather than pay them individually then they pay corporation tax and not PAYE.
You see this a lot with contract IT staff.
[quote=“Appendage, post: 451568”]
That’s a ridicuous answer. The sort of shit I’d expect from you. So if Paul O’Connell’s company earns 100k he can take out 87.5k then? And not suffer any further tax on it. FFS sake.[/quote]
Success. Nice.
An accountant is not a tax consultant. A common mistake made by most people.
Would they not be taking out profits that have already been subject to CT so in effect suffer double taxation on them? And it’s not like they’d be reinvesting after CT tax money in the business. And limited liability is hardly much benefit to them.
Would have to imagine that the expenses would be minimal for a player getting endorsements and the like.
On the assumption that most of them don’t have a business other than playing or performing.
But they have to pay PAYE when the company pays them. The company pays the corporation tax after the employee of the company (i.e. Pat Kenny or whoever) gets paid out of the company.
Hard to believe Bandage has any kind of a professional qualification making a comment like that.
It is a long time since I have worked on low level accounting but wouldn’t the director’s fees be tax deductable and then the fees are PAYE liable? Maybe they are living off directors loans? Who cares, a few RTE no marks.
It must be a long time alright.
You’re bang on though, who gives a fuck.
So brave, so brave.
And Georgia say she’s a hottie. OMG
So brave.
This new Irish Times editor has no idea how to run a letters page. The shite he prints.
A black day?
A chara, – It is not just the sight of thousands of amateur drinkers turning the whole of Dublin into a vast Temple Bladder that makes Arthur’s Day repugnant. Leaving aside all the ephemeral geographical features, the rivers of gold, the reeking pools of lime, that pop up each year on this day, making a swollen sewer of our streets, it is the corporatisation of our city and culture that is most disturbing.
Dublin once had a football stadium, now it has an insurance field, a music venue got turned into a huge phone booth and a rather fine theatre is run on gas. Now a drinks company has a day and name all of its own. Our national drug of choice has been elevated to a quasi-national holiday.
Can you imagine Afghanistan having a Chasing the Dragon Day? Great craic altogether . . . Whatever about venues, it is very depressing if companies get their hands on “Days”.
What next? Lever Brothers Day, on which we all gargle Fairy Liquid and burp bubbles for a laughs? Make mine a home brew today. – Is mise,
BILLY O hANLUAIN,
Cashel Road,
Kimmage, Dublin 12.
that’s terrible in fairness
is there still a fella called Robert O Sullivan from Glengarriff or somewhere who used to write those one line letters into the Examiner?
cunts that see some issue in naming a stadium after a company that invests in Dublin,invests in sports and employs people here ahead of some prick landlord from a few hundred years ago are awful tards