Some crackers in this week’s Gorey Guardian
13 years at the indo and I’m struggling to think of a single story she broke.
What about the causes she woke.
She off to join Gemma I wonder ?
Or the loins she stroked.
did she have a case in against Fionan? Think the phoenix mentioned it
Add in the amount of environmental waste produced as a result of that casual spending
Excellent thread here on the practice in traditional media of platforming right wing contrarian “populists” who have no wish to debate and who spew out lies and propaganda, for clicks and reaction. Newstalk are particularly bad for this and the Ivan Yates/Matt Cooper programme on TV3 is another serial offender.
It’s the exact practice which logically leads to things like Christchurch.
Many are up on their high horse, waffling about “freedom of speech” (without having even the most basic grasp of what that actually means) & saying that we need an “honest debate” about immigration etc. Newsflash - Neo-Nazis and fascists have no interest in your “honest debate”.
To be clear - they don’t give a fuck about debate, or facts, or “balance”, or any of the niceties of normal democratic discourse.
What they want is to be legitimised by your platform and access to your audience.
They don’t want to discuss.
They just want to shout their bile.
And even if you were smart enough (you’re usually not) and well-briefed enough (you usually cannot be) to rebut their arguments in real time, it doesn’t make any difference. They have reached their goal of legitimacy and access, and neither they nor their audience care about you.
The politics of neo-Nazism paints itself as being logical and scientific, but in reality they have nothing to do with facts - the way they are communicated is designed to provoke a visceral emotional, rather than an intellectual, response.
And you’re letting them do it, live.
As seen recently, they also love to put on the cloak of victimhood and claim that all they are seeking is a reasoned debate, and that there are “some things we’re not allowed to talk about.”
On closer inspection, we actually talk about virtually nothing else - and it’s always…
… the same people doing the talking.
You think you’re doing democracy a great service by hearing out “both sides”, but you’re not.
Instead, you are being what THEY call a “useful idiot”, unquestioningly providing them with a platform while patting yourself on the back.
So even if you’re tough and smart and make them look like the greatest fuckwit under the sun, they STILL win, because they can paint themselves as the victims of the nasty “MSM” or the “elite” or whatever other bullshit they happen to be peddling that particular day.
Giving them a platform once is one thing - doing it time and time again, as some journalists insist on doing, is more than that.
If you do so, you are complicit in helping them spread their propaganda.
And you are responsible for the consequences.
You need to start owning it.
Piss poor and ffort here in the times on the Bailey trial in Paris
Paul Kimmage had a dreadful piece in Sindo (I was having a coffee and there was papers to peruse)
One of those Roddy Doyle-esque pieces where he is talking to himself.
Scutter.
Agreed, total rubbish.
“Man Goes To Match”
My take on it is, the Clare cunts charging €100 a ticket, and don’t give me that ‘supply and demand’ shite
€300 for 3 tickets. Talk about a fucking mug. There was literally ten lads standing outside the woodfield trying to sell tickets when I was walking in. I’d say you’d have got them below cost if you paid anything at all
Terrace tickets to boot. Mugged off good and proper.
Assumed reading it to begin with they were tickets for the big wig section beside JP in the Gaelic Grounds
he was an awful scut when he was a youngfella
Christ above I missed that bit. I thought at least they were stand tickets. Fucking hell. You couldn’t get rid of a terrace ticket for free on Sunday. You’d have sold a stand alright.
A proper wanker he was.