Year-End Cut Off

Now, there’s a designated marriage thread so I think it only right and proper that we also dedicate one to the single folk amongst us. One of the key things about being single is getting your calculations around year-end cut off correct. By this, I mean that time around Christmas when it’s imperative to strike the correct balance between getting your last ride of the calendar year and not wasting too much time chasing skirt and depriving yourself of the pre-Christmas banter on nights out with the lads.

You see, these are the things we need to think about. Unlike our married brothers, we don’t have that special someone who’s always there for us; instead we need to be scouring domestic bars and the continent too on occasion for potential signings/targets at all times. But, as I say, the last thing you need is to be annoying yourself on the Friday night before Christmas trying to end a (goal) scoring drought in some dingy nightclub - it’s just putting too much pressure on yourself. As the old saying goes, you can try too hard sometimes.

As a result, I think it’s key to get yourself a late November/early December ride. This takes the pressure off coming into the Christmas season and it’s what I regard as the ideal cut-off time. In some respects, it can really work a treat - you’ve had what you consider to be your last dalliance of the year and you’re relaxed and on easy street when BANG…you go and get another unexpected ride on the 23rd of December or something. That’s what’s known as late cut-off amendment. It’s like the striker getting one goal after a barren spell and then a barrage of them follow.

Of course, that’s cut-off in an ideal world and it doesn’t always work so smoothly. For example, who will ever forget the year when Jugs inadvertently had his year-end cut-off in late March?

I wouldn’t buy into that logic bandage, can you not just have your cake and eat it…i.e have the craic with the lads and then get up on some haunty one around 2.20 a.m when you are full to the neck with drink ?

Puke

The innocence of youth
The hauty one invariably turns out to be a humped back fat burd who stalks you forever. They only put out in November and December in the hope of landing a man who then has to buy them a Christmas present. Of course in your inebriated state you can’t see this and anyway you think you’re scoring the good looking friend for a while until you realise its really the hump backed one.
Drink isn’t your friend

WBY

more like your only ride of the year Bandage…

:slight_smile:

[quote=“Bandage”]Now, there’s a designated marriage thread so I think it only right and proper that we also dedicate one to the single folk amongst us. One of the key things about being single is getting your calculations around year-end cut off correct. By this, I mean that time around Christmas when it’s imperative to strike the correct balance between getting your last ride of the calendar year and not wasting too much time chasing skirt and depriving yourself of the pre-Christmas banter on nights out with the lads.

You see, these are the things we need to think about. Unlike our married brothers, we don’t have that special someone who’s always there for us; instead we need to be scouring domestic bars and the continent too on occasion for potential signings/targets at all times. But, as I say, the last thing you need is to be annoying yourself on the Friday night before Christmas trying to end a (goal) scoring drought in some dingy nightclub - it’s just putting too much pressure on yourself. As the old saying goes, you can try too hard sometimes.

As a result, I think it’s key to get yourself a late November/early December ride. This takes the pressure off coming into the Christmas season and it’s what I regard as the ideal cut-off time. In some respects, it can really work a treat - you’ve had what you consider to be your last dalliance of the year and you’re relaxed and on easy street when BANG…you go and get another unexpected ride on the 23rd of December or something. That’s what’s known as late cut-off amendment. It’s like the striker getting one goal after a barren spell and then a barrage of them follow.

Of course, that’s cut-off in an ideal world and it doesn’t always work so smoothly. For example, who will ever forget the year when Jugs inadvertently had his year-end cut-off in late March?[/quote]

I’m confused.

Is it the case that you get too much sex in the party season or in true GAA style you’ve the excuse for none at all?

Bandage, that first post is a wonderful meditation on the vagaries of single life.

A recent drinking topic of choice has been whether the recession will increase or decrease the scoring average? Obviously the potential ramifications for the Year-end cut off are huge, since us single blokes are now in unchartered romantic waters.

Lest we forget, there’ll always be nurses/teachers/guards in dublin, a core support of females if you will. but there’s no denying attendances are down this year in pubs & nightclubs across the city.
On the other hand, the recession-induced lack of ill-fitting suit-wearing auctioneer/bank clerk/mortgage broker/solicitor types means the playing field is thinned somewhat, making eligible bachelors (such as yourself, presumably) more sought after.

perhaps we could keep this thread alive, record conquests, and use it as a a barometer of sorts? sociologists will write theses on the results in later years, how the brave trendsetters of TFK swam against the tide of national despair and whored around Dublin in the dark days of the early 21st century.
The TFK Bedpost Notchers?
“Sex on Fire”, previously thought to have been inspired when one of the Followills picked up an STI, can be the mantra.

After some early, regrettable incidents (involving Jugs, some female members of An Grda Sochna, and misuse of government property) the movement will catch on, becoming a lightning rod for frustrated young ladies everywhere. It could branch out to the regions, notably Limerick and Wexford.
TFK social events will become the talk of gossip columns everywhere. Gayle Killilea (sideboob optional) will make regular appearances, after all things aren’t looking too good for Seanie, but that complete and utter cunt PJ Gibbons will not be left within 100 yards of the place.
A range of casual evening wear (bearing the TFK logo, naturally) could be launched.
Farmer can do security at the door.
Shannonsider, naturally, will be Master of Ceremonies.
Bandage, like a young Hefner, mingles, converses, mentally undresses the crowd and continues his good work as the rock’s emissary here on Earth.
MGG causes a slight ripple when she turns up to the party and reveals herself to be none other than Aine Chambers.

Puke is invited, but turns down the invitation on the grounds that the admins refused to ban the alliance when details emerge (from Ben) of their plot to see that the county of Clare and it’s entire population be returned to Connacht.

The result of all this social upheaval will be the that the last event of the TFK social calendar becomes the de facto year-end cut off, replacing the Guards’ christmas party as the annual highlight in Coppers.

[quote=“treaty_exile”]Bandage, that first post is a wonderful meditation on the vagaries of single life.

A recent drinking topic of choice has been whether the recession will increase or decrease the scoring average? Obviously the potential ramifications for the Year-end cut off are huge, since us single blokes are now in unchartered romantic waters.

Lest we forget, there’ll always be nurses/teachers/guards in dublin, a core support of females if you will. but there’s no denying attendances are down this year in pubs & nightclubs across the city.
On the other hand, the recession-induced lack of ill-fitting suit-wearing auctioneer/bank clerk/mortgage broker/solicitor types means the playing field is thinned somewhat, making eligible bachelors (such as yourself, presumably) more sought after.

perhaps we could keep this thread alive, record conquests, and use it as a a barometer of sorts? sociologists will write theses on the results in later years, how the brave trendsetters of TFK swam against the tide of national despair and whored around Dublin in the dark days of the early 21st century.
The TFK Bedpost Notchers?
“Sex on Fire”, previously thought to have been inspired when one of the Followills picked up an STI, can be the mantra.

After some early, regrettable incidents (involving Jugs, some female members of An Grda Sochna, and misuse of government property) the movement will catch on, becoming a lightning rod for frustrated young ladies everywhere. It could branch out to the regions, notably Limerick and Wexford.
TFK social events will become the talk of gossip columns everywhere. Gayle Killilea (sideboob optional) will make regular appearances, after all things aren’t looking too good for Seanie, but that complete and utter cunt PJ Gibbons will not be left within 100 yards of the place.
A range of casual evening wear (bearing the TFK logo, naturally) could be launched.
Farmer can do security at the door.
Shannonsider, naturally, will be Master of Ceremonies.
Bandage, like a young Hefner, mingles, converses, mentally undresses the crowd and continues his good work as the rock’s emissary here on Earth.
MGG causes a slight ripple when she turns up to the party and reveals herself to be none other than Aine Chambers.

Puke is invited, but turns down the invitation on the grounds that the admins refused to ban the alliance when details emerge (from Ben) of their plot to see that the county of Clare and it’s entire population be returned to Connacht.

The result of all this social upheaval will be the that the last event of the TFK social calendar becomes the de facto year-end cut off, replacing the Guards’ christmas party as the annual highlight in Coppers.[/quote]

you ended up going home alone again didn’t ya TE.

BTW in your line up you neglected the Vigilance Committee duties of LimerickModeratorsDOT.Org.

:slight_smile:

I don’t know what to make of the Dublin social scene in the opening quarter of 2009. I have been given more phone numbers etc and then birds have refused follow-ups. The recession should IMO see the hard-core town-goers take centre stage again, and the lightweights who only go out on NYE and Paddy’s Day will be taken out of the equation. I would think this would be great for scoring but so far the jury is out. Maybe the process started in 2008 though, as it was by some distance my best ever year, in so many ways.