People donāt take public transport because itās underfunded, poorly designed and not frequent enough.
People will take pubic transport if itās well designed and frequent.
People donāt take public transport because itās underfunded, poorly designed and not frequent enough.
People will take pubic transport if itās well designed and frequent.
whatās well designed and frequent? one that runs passed your house every 20 minutes. Go away and shite.
Galway already has a ring road. The morons designed it in two separate sections that donāt link up.
If they want a proper ring road, link those two sections and upgrade the junctions and Seamus Quirke Road.
Every 10 minutes at peak times.
Why is there no radial bus route linking the west side of the city and Parkmore?
a load of empty busses stuck up each others holes without the relief road that has been proposed by road traffic consultants and experts.
You want dinky trains and more busses.
Iāll go with the experts
Which āexpertsā are these? Oil industry funded experts?
You know you can widen a lot of roads to include bus lanes, yes?
There is more than enough room to widen Bothar na Treabh.
Youāve no problem accepting the advice of medical experts working with big pharma. Hypocrite
Cars, cars and more cars.
Some people are terminally ossified in their thinking.
The actual experts say we urgently need to reduce our carbon emissions. Using public transport instead of private cars is a significant part of that.
You reject the advice of the experts.
Weāre talking about traffic management here. People still need to live and work and get about in as stress free a way as possible.
You donāt give a fuck about that though.
You think you know more than everyone about everything. Its pointless even talking to you
As the pub bore was once described to me āHeās a man who knows fuck all about everythingā
And some are realistic.
Public transport across the city should improve significantly. Ribbon development, as Iāve stated above, is enforced by the utterly bizarre road frontage rule.
There should be a tram from moycullen into town, and out to the east, but Iām still not sure it will hugely reduce car numbers, and the problem will remain that pretty much every car arriving into Galway from everywhere in the country winds up at a single junction which also has two large shopping centres, cinemas, and multiple hotels adjacent.
An upstream bridge is needed for westbound traffic.
A light rail or, probably more efficiently a rapid electric bus system needs implementing also.
Public transport is a major part of traffic management.
You reject public transport.
Therefore you are rejecting peopleās desire to live and work in livable cities.
Public transport is one strategy but canāt work on itās own. You pick one line of reasoning and reject everything else, like a toddler
You can fuck off now. Iām done with you
I love tfk . I just love it
Any thread anywhere, anytime.
Iām the only person here being realistic. Galwayās public transport is shit. That is the first thing you address in order to make it a livable city.
The framework for a ring road with bus lanes is already there. You need to link Bothar na Treabh and the Quincentennial Bridge road sections. That would require CPOs on that newish estate near Eamon Deacy Park. Bulldoze it. Same difference because the planned ring road will bulldoze a load of houses anyway. Link onto Seamus Quirke Road and Western Distributor Road.
Build a Luas. Use the old railway bridge to cross the Corrib, the pillars are still there. Link Parkmore/Roscam with Knocknacarra and Barna. The line would take in the two colleges and the hospital.
Ribbon development will 100% happen if this road is built and Galway will become even more of unplanned mess. Sure fuck it, letās plonk an Ikea on the top of Circular Road. Grand job. A new hilltop landmark for the city to go with its other most visible landmark, the multi-story car park.
Wasnāt that bridge plan rejected because it destroyed a natural habitat? @flattythehurdler
Or any of the real galway lads, which is why they had to replan
Roundabouts lads. Job is oxo
Iāve proposed bus, road and rail solutions.
Youāve proposed nothing.
I suppose I do have the advantage of actually knowing what Iām talking about in terms of the area given that I live about seven or eight minutes walk from Quincentennial Bridge.
Do get onto me if thereās ever a discussion here about the transport infrastructure in Midleton. I donāt know the place at all but give me 10 minutes to google it and Iām sure Iāll be an expert on it in the same way youāve been about Galway here.