You'd want your head examined or have daughters like Hopper McGrath, to manage a Ladies team thread

I’m not from Dublin mate.

The Countess is a thinly veiled anti-trans hate group. They don’t give a fuck about either sport or about women’s rights. They only care about drumming up support for a nakedly far right agenda. Ultimately they are allies of the likes of Graham Carey, Philip Dwyer, Andy Heasman and other far right thugs who are trying to make our streets no go areas for normal people.

It was entirely predictable that Colm Parkinson, who has openly hitched his wagon to Johnny Arse and Grift, would link up with them. Parkinson doesn’t give one fuck about women’s sport or women’s rights. Parkinson cares about one thing - €€€€€€€. These fuckers are all on the Graham Linehan grift train.

Graham Linehan openly refers to doctors and psychiatrists who treat young trans people as “Nazis”. That’s the insane ideology at play here.

Some of youse lads here might want to have a closer look at type of people yis are backing.

Anyway, Parkinson never saw a problem with mixed gender sport when him and his Laois team were getting bitch slapped all around Croke Park by Dublin.

That’s pretty much the conclusion I got from minimal research conducted last night.

Classic Sid. Nobody is backing any group. People are expressing an opinion on ladies segregated sport. To my mind, there are two options, either segregate genetic males and females in sporting contests and changing rooms, or simply drop segregation completely, and just let it all off. I know which I support tbh.

I think its fair to say you’re going to extremists on both sides of this. The issue truly is down to the LGFA and their membership, which it would appear they have grossly misrepresented and misjudged. Making the IRFU look good takes doing, but they only went and managed it.

Those aren’t the only options, they are the extreme and stupid options, and you also use leading language which is inherently anti-trans. Sport does not exist alone from society, it is part of it, so what happens in sport has serious implications for trans people in society.

Other more sensible options than sledgehammer approaches involve nuance and thinking, which is increasingly beyond most people on this issue, because the extremely well funded and vicious anti-trans lobby has deliberately manipulated public debate into a situation where nuance can’t survive. They use the exact same online tactics as the fascists targeting refugees do.

Look who’s back to his old self! :smile:

Giving you a proper response here, but I wouldnt consider myself anti trans at all. It doesnt bother me at all and there are plenty of people who wish to transition and thats on them and what they want to do. I’m not going to pretend to know loads on the matter, nor shout and roar one way or another, but if someone wishes to transition for reasons that should be thoroughly explored before making the change, then so be it and let them do what they feel is right for them.

But in the issue of sport, I cant see how a female transitioned person could play in female sports. The genetic physical attributes of the male body makes them so much physically stronger and able. We laugh at the stories of boys U14 teams beating top club teams or international teams. So if boys of 14 are competing with fully developed females, then putting an adult male born person in is totally wrong.

Its a tough situation and there is no easy answer, but I just cant see how allowing a transitioned person compete is either fair, right or safe to do. It just doesnt sit right. I completely disagree with the over top reaction on it though and the fear mongering over it all. The LGFA have announced their guidelines, but I’d be interested to see how many trans players are actually registered or wanting to play. I doubt there is a big number of them. Its being blown up out of all proportion by certain groups who have their own anti trans agendas.

Given how rare these cases are I think it should be possible to take things on a case by case basis and/or have rules based on medical transitioning and a certain time period elapsing or whatever, ie. to treat the issue in a serious and de-dramatised fashion.

Look it, genetic differences are part of sport. You have 5 foot 5 inch Lionel Messi playing against 6 foot 6 inch Wout Weghorst.

In GAA at club level you can have basically full time professional athletes playing against lads who’d have a smoke behind the bike sheds before a match.

agree with your first paragraph. a simple case of reviewing cases, as they would be so few, would make more sense. It probably wouldn’t appease the trans community, but it makes sense. A blanket regulation wont work.

Dont agree with the second bit though. Genetic differences between men within their sport is one thing, but its a different situation crossing genders. There is a far, far bigger gap there.

It is quite fashionable tbf

I have daughters who play lgfa. They and their teammates have decided that in the event of one of these individuals taking the field they’re walking off. It’s health and safety as far as they’re concerned and they’re not taking that risk.

How would they know if the brosd has decent get up? Could go undetected.

Can happen to anyone

Ah right, so reckoning genetic men shouldn’t be allowed to change with women, shower with women, and compete against women is now “anti-trans”. Good lad. There’s one bit of far right mental gymnastic there, and it ain’t me.

Those are two completely contrary.

You’re more than entitled to have that view but it is an anti-trans view.

Not all anti-trans people are far right but all of the far right are anti-trans.

I don’t see how it’s in any way controversial to call anti-trans views anti-trans?

Is saying genetic male sex offenders who self declare as women shouldn’t be in female prisons anti-trans?

Is saying Self declared women who retain their cock and balls shouldn’t be in girls changing rooms anti trans?

All the so called anti trans behaviour is always somehow aimed at genetic men. I wonder what might be the reason.

You’ll be cancsidelled

Its not controversial at all. Its wrong and ill judged but not controversial.

RTAs want trans treatment to be patient led, not patient cemtric. If you say it should be patient centric, its anti trans

The science on gender reassignment is far from settled but if you say that, its anti trans.

This is an incredibly complex situation with competing rights that camt be distilled easily down to left and right or whatever particular random partisanship or linkages you wish to ascribe to it.

Well it is controversial because those who are anti-trans and voice obviously anti-trans viewpoints are very annoyed when they’re called anti-trans.

This is a complex situation but I don’t think it’s particularly complex to understand what is an anti-trans viewpoint and what isn’t.