You'd want your head examined or have daughters like Hopper McGrath, to manage a Ladies team thread

Definitely not. He was well got and a very good coach. I’d say he will be back next year. The seasons don’t really overlap

She had a lucky escape…

I would hope he will pay it back. I’m not defending what he has done but he served his time, lost his job and his marriage. All this through his own fault but in my opinion he should now be allowed get on with his life.

What would you do with this lad

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/education/teacher-who-stole-over-100k-36160239

I dunno really. He possibly deserves a suspension but a year in prison is fair punishment to a man like him.

Its obviously gambling addiction too. I think we will look back in 20 years time and be flabbergasted that we allowed our gambling laws to be so relaxed. They are causing pain and heartbreak all over the country. This doesn’t excuse lads stealing money but it is a factor in most of there cases.

A special needs school that fella was robbing from, a fucking special needs school. Held up their delivery of a new school that was desperately needed. It was galling stuff. I’m not sure the right course of action, and you’re right about the gambling thing in this country, its one of the worst things going, and a root cause of a whole lot more problems.

It’s scandalous what that sector gets away with and the destruction left in its wake.

Its tightened up massively in the last decade to be fair.

My recollection of the Meagher case was that he didn’t show too much remorse for what he had done at the time of the court case and appealed his prison sentence.

I’m all for giving lads a second chance but they have to own up and take responsibility too.

Jimmy Meagher getting Kilkenny job gaining a bit of traction - As I believe it should

They’re not flat out calling him manager for some reason.

While I understand the sentiment of ‘he had paid his dues’ - I still feel it’s fair for people to know about it.

Premium article - So pasting here:

‘I want to move on with my life,’ says ‘Sliotar Swindler’ who is now part of Kilkenny camogie’s management team

James Meagher was convicted in 2022 of defrauding a friend of €41,000 and served one month in jail

Mark Tighe

November 16 2025 5:30 AM

A convicted fraudster who was appointed to the management set-up of the Kilkenny camogie team last week has said he just wants to move on with his life.

There was surprise among many in local GAA circles that Kilkenny Camogie would appoint a man with a recent conviction for fraud to help manage the county team in the aftermath of the DJ Carey case.

James ‘Jimmy’ Meagher was named as part of a five-man team to replace Tommy Shefflin – brother of former Kilkenny star Henry Shefflin – who stood down earlier this year after one season in charge. He had been a selector with Tommy Shefflin since 2024.

There has also been some online criticism of the appointment of an all-male team.

Meagher, dubbed the ‘Sliotar Swindler’, was convicted in 2022 of defrauding a friend of €41,000 after he falsely claimed the money was to be used to finance the production and transport of sliotars for GAA Cúl Camps.

Image Gallery 5|100%x67%

James Meagher, pictured in 2022

Meagher told the Sunday Independent: “It’s in the past and I’d prefer to leave it behind me. I’m incredibly sorry for what happened. I’d prefer to leave it in the past. It was a tough time and I hurt a lot of people.”

Meagher said he “absolutely” owned what he did. “I want to move on with my life,” he said. “I am genuinely sorry for what happened.

ADVERTISEMENT

“I have learnt my lessons and I can assure anyone I would never behave like that again, honest to God. I’m incredibly sorry. That is in the past and I just want to move forward with my life.”

Meagher’s lawyer claimed he needed the money to support his then wife’s ‘lavish’ lifestyle and maintenance for their child

Meagher, who previously held county development jobs with Antrim and Clare GAA, had told his childhood friend who lived in Australia that he had secured contracts with “Croke Park” to supply sliotars. He told the man that he could expect to double his investment.

When his friend returned from Australia he learned there was no such business. Despite repeated efforts, Meagher would not repay the money.

St Lachtain’s club man Meagher is a highly regarded hurling coach and was on the backroom team of All-Ireland club-winning side Ballyhale Shamrocks shortly before his sentencing in 2023.

Image Gallery 12|100%x64%

James Meagher is a highly-regarded hurling coach. Photo: Sportsfile

Judge Elva Duffy sentenced Meagher to two years in jail with 18 months suspended after he had pleaded guilty to nine counts of fraud. The judge convicted him of one count of fraud and took the other eight counts into consideration. The victim has since been repaid €41,000.

​In court, Meagher’s lawyer claimed he needed the money to support his then wife’s “lavish” lifestyle and maintenance for their child.

ADVERTISEMENT

Meagher served just over one month in jail from June 2023. He was released early due to overcrowding and the fact that his offence was non-violent and it was his first conviction.

Speaking to the Sunday Independent in 2023, Meagher’s victim, who asked that his name not be used, said he had faced a backlash from some members of the community where he lives in Kilkenny for making a garda complaint against Meagher, because of his standing in hurling.

It required me to leave my job, my friends, my parents and, most significantly, my daughter behind

The man emigrated to Australia in 2016 to work as a pipe-layer. In his victim impact statement he said that was one of the most difficult decisions of his life. “It required me to leave my job, my friends, my parents and, most significantly, my daughter behind,” he said.

“I knew I could never make the money required to provide for myself and my family here in Ireland. I worked tirelessly throughout my time in Australia. I will never forget it, sometimes working 24-hour shifts.”

He said instead of having a deposit for a house saved, he was back living with his parents and having to work long hours as a landscaper after losing €47,000 to Meagher, who, he said, was only charged in relation to €41,000 of that amount.

The victim declined to comment on Meagher’s appointment as a coach last week.

ADVERTISEMENT

Kilkenny Camogie PRO Aoife Lanigan said: “James has been part of the Kilkenny Senior Camogie Management team since 2024. All members of the management team hold the appropriate garda vetting and coaching qualifications in line with the Camogie Association requirements

“There will be female involvement with the team in 2026, as there was in 2025 and previous seasons, appointments pending.”

A spokesperson for the Camogie Association, which operates independently of the GAA, said: “In line with garda vetting and coaching qualification requirements which are set out at national level, the appointment of team personnel is a matter for individual county boards.”

Who comes up with this shite? :sweat_smile:

This practice came to prominence in the era of “The Well-fed Ned”….

Kilkenny
The T’rone of hurling.

We’re here at Central Coast stadium to watch the Matildas versing New Zealand. I am sitting beside the Jumior Matildas, who are a lovely bunch of young women, they just drew 1-1.

It really is a fantastic stadium, looking out onto Brisbane Water and the scene of my last ever match as a player.
The Matildas won 4-0. Local girl Elle Carpenter the stand out, she was excellent.

Martina would be a formidable lady to be managing a Camogie team if she could find the time for it in her busy schedule.

What an epic between finbarrs and loughgieil in the all ireland semi. Level after normal and extra time. 2nd period of extra time finbarrs edge it with 2 late late points.
Not sure where the ref got 5 added minutes in a 5 minute half though :thinking:
Athenry beat dicksboro by 2 in the other semi final. So it will be the cahalanes v the rabbittes!

Barrs have players from all over. Youd think players from Ballincollig and Kilbrittain would play with their own clubs.

Sure you had a player from Cloyne playing for The Glen back in the day, to play at a higher level and win things.