You'd want your head examined or have daughters like Hopper McGrath, to manage a Ladies team thread

If she wants this to become a crusade, she’ll need the feminists in tow. Any and all issues involving women’s sport are sexist in their eyes

The all Ireland colleges men’s championships in hurling and football are not being completed

Fair play to her.

Who do you think makes the sandwiches?

What has the LGFA got to do with what the lads do though glas?
Absolutely nothing.
Might as well have quoted the north east Taiwan tiddlywinks “b division” quarter finals.
It may be utterly stupid (imo), but sexist?🤷

Well they don’t have any connection bar that they should be able to organise games the same as the body for men’s games. This girl sees the equivalent men’s games going ahead and the girls games not. That is clearly a difference in treatment. Is that sexist? She feels it is. She’s not far off. Fair play to her for calling attention to it in my view.

Colleges aren’t going ahead. Is that sexist?

Now THAT is sexist :joy::joy::joy:

I don’t get your contrariness. If was your daughter in this situation I expect you would be proud of her.

Course I would. I’d be angry at the LGFA also. I’d be Loth to brand them a sexist organisation though, though, when you think of it, they are be definition.

Where did she brand them a sexist organisation? She said the difference in treatment is sexist. Seeing as there is a direct contrast to treatment of the male equivalent that is certainly arguable. If you read what she actually wrote instead of scoffing at the teenage girl you might learn something.

The equivalent men’s games are not going ahead

Lad standing on a wet wicket and digging a hole for himself alert.

Its not sexist though. She absolutely has a point, and she has a point that the boys organisation are going ahead (except she would also be wrong seeing as they are also cancelled, so I’m not sure where her point goes then).

But it absolutely is not sexist. It would be if it was the same organisation promoting one over the other, but its not, its two entirely different organisations running the competitions.

Are they not? What were the games she mentioned? Not a direct equivalent. I don’t think it’s that relevant. I admire her for standing up and making the point that she clearly believes in and feels strongly about.

I don’t think she is saying that the organisation made a sexist decision. She sees difference in treatment, which is pretty much based on gender. I think it’s a fair enough call that the situation that has arisen that sees boys games played and girls games not played is unequal. That unequal treatment is based on gender lines. She says that’s sexist. It’s hard to disagree in my opinion.

Funny to see grown men quibbling with the teenage girl standing up for what she feels is right.

Again, fair play to her.

Who is being sexist? The LGFA?

Yeah. The LGFA are discriminating against the boys by barring them from playing ladies football.

That’s my reading of it anyway.

The boys all ireland finals were not played. She said the boys provincial finals were played, as were girls. There is no unequal treatment, no boy or girl at colleges level played an all ireland final.

I’ve already said, I’ve no issue with her standing up for herself. but its not sexist and there was no need for the comment seeing as the “unequal treatemtn” was not based on gender lines, the organisation she plays for is for girls only, so if they do not play, it has nothing to do if boys play. Its fairly straight forward, its a shitty situation for all the kids, not just the girls.

Overall, it is a very fair point that they should be played, its just not sexist at all