Ravenous

tell me

Throw up a recipe for homemade sourdough there, pal.

It’s down to the yeast and the processes you use to prep the bread for the oven. When flour absorbs water the proteins in it form bonds to make elastic chains of gluten (same as in brown bread, only yeast helps the bread rise much more than you’d find in a soda bread). Kneading a standard white bread before baking has the effect of working out the gluten - stretching it, letting it rise, then knocking it back and repeating 2 or 3 times. This makes it less dense and easier to digest. Probably why we have high levels of IBD and gluten intolerance in Ireland with our high intake of brown soda bread.

where can i get this kind of bread?

Farmer’s markets are a great place to get them. Darina Allen almost single-handedly created the great network of weekend farmer’s markets we see across Ireland. Some lovely artisan bakers regularly selling their wares. Supervalu and Dunnes sell a very nice white spelt sourdough by a small bakery in Dublin - “Soul Bread”. Not sure if it’s available outside the pale.

@Horsebox - recipe for starter and bread on it’s way pal.

Sourdough bread recipe

Page 1

Page 2

Page 3

Ah jaysus, bud. A 3 page recipe. I can barely read.

There’s 5+ days in getting your sourdough starter going, but once she’s up and running…

It’s a bit like the folkloric German tale by the Brothers Grimm - the Magic Porridge Pot.

Skip to page 3 and have a look at the bottom-right corner of the page.

ah here, 5 days for a bit of bread?

fuck that

can you make a ham and cheese sandwich with this sour dough shite?
sounds like a total fad

Sourdough me bollix.
It’s a fancy name for grinder. The usual plebs just lap it all up.

Where is your patience? Your staying power? Your desire to invest in you, and your personal well-being? You’re showing a “short-cut” mentality here Tassotti, and I don’t like what I see. Where is the man that’s open to changing his life in ways he never imagined were possible? 5 days to develop a starter that gives you an endless supply of healthy bread. There are bakers with a starter that’s a number of years old, and it’s still giving them their daily bread. Simple foundational work that has stood the test of time - this is a bread that is as at home in the Ravenous thread as it would be in the Self-help thread.

I used to be a vegan

Total fad? It’s been around since the dawn of man FFS. Fair play to you @ironmoth

Fantastic stuff moth. Luckily I can just walk down to the store and buy it.

What are you now?

Bogan pig

Well, you are a queenslander.